Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Brain Injury Association of America (BIAA)

Annotation: Founded in 1980, the Brain Injury Association of America seeks to create a better future through brain injury prevention, research, education and advocacy. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, information packets, and referrals to local resources. Publications include The National Directory of Brain Injury Rehabilitation Services, various brochures, including the eight-part "Road to Rehabilitation" series. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors workshops, conferences, training seminars, and Brain Surgery Awareness Month in March.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Support groups, Education, Injury prevention, Intervention, Long term care, Rehabilitation, Research, Therapeutics, Trauma

Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts (BIA-MA)

Annotation: The Brain Injury Association of Massachusetts (BIAMA), an affiliate of the National Brain Injury Association, works to ensure appropriate services for the care and rehabilitation of Massachusetts residents who have sustained brain injuries and their families. The association develops support systems and promotes public awareness of traumatic brain injury and its consequences. BIAMA publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars and conferences. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries

Center on Brain Injury Research and Training (CBIRT)

Annotation: Established in 1993 at the Teaching Research Institute, a division of Western Oregon University, the Center on Brain Injury Research and Training (CBIRT) conducts research and training to improve the lives of children and adults with traumatic brain injury (TBI). CBIRT’s research focuses on developing interventions to improve outcomes related to education, employability, and quality of life. Training activities promote the use of best practices among educators and other professionals who serve individuals with TBI.

Keywords: Brain damage, Children, Injuries, MCH research, Transition to independent living, Trauma

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

National Resource Center for Traumatic Brain Injury

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Traumatic Brain Injury (NRCTBI) provides practical information for professionals, individuals with brain injury, and family members. It provides an e-mail list; publications for professionals, families and children; free articles, book chapters, and other resources; and an annual conference. It is funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research In the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Educatino and Rehabilitative Services..

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injury, Resource centers, Trauma

Perspectives Network (TPN, Inc.)

Annotation: The Perspectives Network is an online organization that supports persons with acquired brain injury and their families with such things as online material archives, brain maps, and tools, as well as extensive resource listings. The network also provides brain injury survivor identification cards, and public awareness and education brochures. Frequently asked questions are available in Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, Greek, German, Chinese, and Danish.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injury, Trauma

ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation (ThinkFirst)

Annotation: ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation works to prevent brain, spinal cord, and other traumatic injuries through education, research, and advocacy. The foundation offers theory-based, evidence-based injury prevention programs for children, adolescents, and young adults; presentations through a chapter network; injury prevention facts; educational materials and resources; training for physicians and other health professionals; and speaker, volunteer, and support opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Child safety, Educational materials, Injury prevention, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Spinal cord injuries, Traffic safety, Training

Traumatic Brain Injury Technical Assistance Center (TBITAC)

Annotation: The Traumatic Brain Injury Technical Assistance Center (TBITAC) provides support to the federal TBI Program in the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and its grantees. The federal TBI Program was established in 1996 to assist in making TBI services and support readily accessible to all individuals with TBI and their families. Activities include making available information concerning TBI; maintaining searchable databases and an interactive list serve; developing information products and exhibits; and facilitating an annual leadership meeting; identifying experts in the area of TBI. The center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The HRSA website at http://www.hrsa.gov/gethealthcare/conditions/traumaticbraininjury/techassist.html has additional information.

Keywords: Brain injuries, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Technical assistance

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.