Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (25 total).

American Council of the Blind (ACB)

Annotation: The American Council of the Blind (ACB) is a national membership organization established to promote the independence, dignity, and well-being of blind and visually impaired people. Members are blind, visually impaired, or fully sighted people from all walks of life. ACB helps to improve the lives of blind Americans by working to enhance civil rights, employment, rehabilitation services, safe and expanded transportation, travel and recreation, accessibility, and Social Security benefits. Frequently ACB works in coalition with other disability groups in this regard. ACB hosts an annual convention, bringing together blind and visually impaired people for programs, product exhibitions, and social events. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and an open list service. ACB publishes a magazine, "The Braille Forum," which is available in braille, large print, cassette, computer disk, online and e-mail. The magazine is free of charge to individuals living in the United States; schools, organizations, libraries, companies, and those living overseas pay $25 per format per year.

Keywords: Blindness, Listservs, Vision disorders

American Foundation for the Blind (AFB)

Annotation: The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) advocates for blind and visually impaired people by developing and implementing programs and services to help them achieve independence with dignity in all sectors of society. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include the AFB News, and the peer reviewed monthly Journal of Visual Impairment and Blindness. Catalogs of audiovisual materials and books are available. Materials are available in Braille or audio forms. AFB conducts policy research and provides statistical and other nonmedical information about blindness and low vision. AFB also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Blindness, Visually impaired

Association for Macular Diseases

Annotation: The Association for Macular Diseases provides information, referrals, emotional support and counseling, and educational resources for people and their families who are adjusting to the effects of macular disease. The association publishes a quarterly newsletter and maintains a telephone hotline for members. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Blindness, Macular degeneration, Visually impaired

Blind Children's Fund

Annotation: Blind Children's Fund promotes the development of materials and methods regarding how to care for and work with and educate infants and young children. The fund develop articles, handouts and video materials for use by both parents and professionals.

Keywords: Blindness, Children with special health care needs, Vision disorders

Blind Childrens Center

Annotation: The Blind Children's Center publishes booklets for parents of young children who are blind or visually impaired. The booklets are available in Spanish or English and cover a variety of topics. The center maintains a toll-free telephone service and a correspondence program to provide information, resources, referrals, and support. The Center also publishes a newsletter and a catalog.

Keywords: Blindness, Children, Vision disorders

Council of Citizens with Low Vision International (CCLVI)

Annotation: The Council of Citizens with Low Vision International(CCLVI), an affiliate of the American Council of the Blind, is an advocacy membership organization. It offers scholarships to undergraduate and graduate college students, has volunteers who assist those who experience vision loss, and publishes a magazine, Vision Access,which is available free on the council's Web site.

Keywords: Blindness, Vision disorders

DB-LINK: The National Information Clearinghouse on Children Who are Deaf-Blind

Annotation: DB-LINK: The National Information Clearinghouse on Children Who are Deaf-Blind identifies, coordinates, and disseminates information related to children and youth who have combined hearing and vision losses. DB-LINK is a collaborative effort of Helen Keller National Center, Perkins School for the Blind, and Teaching Research. DB-LINK is a co-sponsor of the publication Deaf-Blind Perspectives. Services to consumers include tailored responses to requests, referrals, and reference information. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter. Limited materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Blindness, Deafness, Hearing disorders

Foundation Fighting Blindness (FFB)

Annotation: The Foundation Fighting Blindness, Inc. (FFB) supports research aimed at preventions, treatments, and cures for people affected by retinitis pigmentosa, macular degeneration, Usher syndrome and the entire spectrum of retinal degenerative diseases. FFB offers information and referral services for affected individuals and their families as well as for doctors and eye care professionals. The Foundation also provides comprehensive information kits on retinitis pigmentosa, macular degeneration, and usher syndrome. FFB's newsletter (In Focus) and its e-newsletter (In Sight) present articles on coping, research updates, and Foundation news. In Focus is published 3 times per year; In Sight is sent approximately 6 times per year. A national conference is usually held every other year.

Keywords: Retinitis pigmentosa, Bassen-Kornzweig Syndrome, Best disease, Blindness, Choroideremia, Fundraising, Gyrate atrophy, Information services, Laurence Moon Biedl Syndrome, Leber congenital amaurosis, Refsum disease, Stargardt disease, Usher Syndrome, Visiondisorders

Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults (HKNC)

Annotation: The Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults (HKNC) provides services to youths and adults who are deaf-blind. HKNC's training program provides evaluation, short-term comprehensive vocational rehabilition training, and assistance to consumers in obtaining employment housing and community supports. The Center also conducts professional training seminars and provides professional internships. HKNC is a partner in the National Technical Assistance Consortium and the National Information Clearinghouse of Children who are Deaf-Blind, DB-LINK. HKNC support the National Family Association for Deaf-Blind and maintains a national registry of individuals who are deaf-blind and publishes a tri-annual newsletter, Nat-Cent News.

Keywords: Adolescents, Vocational rehabilitation, Training, , Blindness, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Patient identification

Lighthouse International

Annotation: Lighthouse International works with the families of children who are visually impaired and blind, professionals and the general public. The Lighthouse main purpose is to establish connections among the many people who can enhance the early development of children who are visually impaired and blind. The staff design and offer individualized training programs in parent education, eye/vision care, special education, and resource development for people working with children and adolescents who are blind and visually impaired. The Lighthouse provides referrals and reference information and develops print and audio/visual products about vision and child development for families, professionals and the general public. A catalog and newsletter are published by the organizationr and some materials are available in Spanish. The Lighthouse also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Blindness, Vision disorders

Macular Degeneration Foundation (MDF, Inc.)

National Association for Parents of Children with Visual Impairments (NAPVI)

Annotation: The National Association for Parents of the Visually Impaired (NAPVI) includes parents, parent organizations, agencies, and others who support parents of visually impaired children. The organization provides referrals and publications, including the newsletter Awareness i (published quarterly). A publications catalog is available. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Blindness, Support groups, Vision disorders, Visually impaired

National Association for Visually Handicapped (NAVH)

Annotation: The National Association for Visually Handicapped (NAVH) provides information, referrals, counseling, and guidance for people with partial sight, their families, and concerned professionals and paraprofessionals. Memberships to the association are available for a fee; however, no one is denied services due to inability to pay. The association maintains a large-print lending library with over 9,000 titles and sponsors training seminars. Publications include a quarterly update, catalogs and informational booklets and brochures (most in large print). Some materials are provided in Spanish, Russian, and Chinese.

Keywords: Blindness, Counseling, Information services, Visually impaired

National Braille Press (NBP)

Annotation: The National Braille Press (NBP) is a nonprofit Braille printing and publishing house offering low-cost Braille publications. Offers free catalogs in print or Braille.

Keywords: Blindness, Vision disorders

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Annotation: The National Eye Institute (NEI) supports and conducts research on the prevention, diagnosis, rehabilitation, and treatment of eye disorders. NEI responds to consumer inquiries and produces publications include reports on research supported by the Institute, public education materials, and patient brochures. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Blindness, Vision disorders

National Family Association for Deaf-Blind (NFADB)

Annotation: The National Family Association for Deaf-Blind (NFADB) is an organization founded on the belief that individuals who are deaf-blind are valued members of society and are entitled to the same opportunities and choices as other members of the community. NFADB runs a large national network of families who focus on issues surrounding deaf-blindness. NFADB advocates for all persons who are deaf-blind of any chronological age and cognitive ability; supports national policy to benefit people who are deaf-blind; encourages the founding and strengthening of family organizations in each state dedicated to assisting families of persons who are deaf-blind; provides resource and referrals services; and collaborates with professionals who work with persons who are deaf-blind. Newsletters, informational webinars, family stories, news, state resources, and online parent training can be accessed from the website.

Keywords: Blindness, Deafness, Hearing disorders

National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS/BPH)

Annotation: The National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS/BPH) works through local and regional libraries to distribute Braille and recorded materials for people with visual or physical impairments. The service provides information on blindness and physical disabilities for professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages. A list of participating libraries is available. The service also publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Blindness, Braille, Libraries, Physical disabilities, Visually impaired

National Organization of Parents of Blind Children (NOPBC)

Annotation: The organization's services include referrals, networking, advocacy, publications, and reference information. Publications include a magazine, a newsletter, and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also hosts a list serve and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Blindness, Vision disorders

New Mexico School for the Blind and Visually Impaired

Prevent Blindness America

Annotation: Prevent Blindness America is a volunteer eye health and safety organization dedicated to fighting blindness and saving sight. Focused on promoting a continuum of vision care, Prevent Blindness America touches the lives of millions of people each year through public and professional education, certified vision screening training, community and patient service programs and research. These services are made possible through the generous support of the American public. Together with a network of affiliates, divisions and chapters, it's committed to eliminating preventable blindness in America. Catalogs of publications, audiovisual materials, and posters are available to the public and health care professionals. Limited materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Blindness, Eye care, Health education, Medical research, Preschool children, Vision disorders, Vision screening

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.