Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

African American Family Services (AAFS)

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

Birthing Project USA

Annotation: The Birthing Project USA is a national, community based, African American maternal and child health project that has been replicated in over 70 communities. The project provides training and support to women and organizations who are interested in starting a project in their communities; helps local projects identify and obtain necessary resources; and sponsors an annual training and networking conference. The project pairs male and female mentors (sister friends and brother friends) with expectant parents and parents of children up to one year old. The project also has three e-mail based groups that allow members, staff, participants, and supporters to connect with each other. It also provides a list of model programs.

Keywords: Blacks, Community programs, Mentors, Pregnant adolescents, Support groups

Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)

Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC)

Annotation: The Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC), coordinated by the Children's Defense Fund, works to mobilize the African American community on behalf of children and families. The organization promotes local, state, and national initiatives and policies that ensure a healthy start for every child and that support efforts to revitalize communities. Activities include public education campaigns, leadership training programs, and the dissemination of data, information, and research findings in print and multimedia formats. News updates, BCCC publications, and resources are available on the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Leadership training, Minority health

Black Women's Health Imperative (Imperative)

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women', s health

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children', Statistics, s heatlh insurance program

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Annotation: The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, a nonpartisan, nonprofit institution founded in 1970, contributes to the nation's major public policy debates through research, analysis, and information dissemination in order to: improve the socioeconomic status of black Americans and other minorities; expand their effective participation in the political and public policy arenas; and promote communications and relationships across racial and ethnic lines to strengthen the nation's pluralistic society.

Keywords: Minority health, Blacks, Public policies, Socioeconomic factors

Links Foundation

Annotation: The Links Foundation is a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation is empowered to design support and conduct educational activities useful to individuals, groups and communities. The Foundation also provides services to youth which are directed toward upgrading both their academic and technical skills, charitable services to senior citizens, and supporting the defense of individual and group human and civil rights. The Links Foundation also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Family planning programs, Minority groups, Substance abuse prevention

National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE)

Annotation: The National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE) is a professional organization that helps educators and administrators to improve educational programs for African American youth. Members include school administrators, education associations, institutions of higher education, and students. The alliance provides legislation and policy initiatives, sponsors an annual conference, and publishes a journal.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Education, Minority groups, Professional training, Youth

National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW)

Annotation: The National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW) is committed to enhancing the quality of life and empowering people of African ancestry through advocacy, human services delivery, and research. The association appoints task forces to study topics such as family preservation, health and wellness, social justice and civil liberty; family preservation; health wellness; and youth development. NABSW publishes position papers exploring the preservation of families; domestic violence; welfare reform; and kinship care. The association also sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Social workers, Blacks, Minority groups, Professional societies

National Association of Health Services Executives (NAHSE)

Annotation: The National Association of Health Services Executives is a professional organization of black and minority managers of health services. The Association is interested not only in health care management but also in addressing weaknesses in the health care system as it impacts minorities.

Keywords: Blacks, Health services administration, Minority health, Minority health promotion

National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI)

Annotation: The National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI) works to improve the quality of life for African-American children and their families through direct services, public education, leadership training, and research. NBCDI focuses primarily on issues and services that fall within the areas of health, child welfare, education, and child care/early childhood education. The organization monitors public policy issues that affect African American children, strengthens and promotes cross-cultural partnerships, and educates the public through publications, conferences, and other public education forums. NBCDI is supported by a nationwide network of affiliate chapters.

Keywords: Blacks, Child care, Health promotion, Minority groups

National Black Family Promotions Coalition (NBFPC)

Annotation: The National Black Family Promotion Coalition (NBFPC) addresses issues impacting the Black Family, through the implementation of culturally relevant health promotion and public information efforts. The coalition brings parents / caregivers and professionals from the fields of education, health, human services, technology and wealth building together to deliberate issues pertinent to the well being of Black and other families of color. Its goal is to address racial disparities by improving MCH education, service delivery, and social marketing.

Keywords: Blacks, Families, Racial factors

National Black Nurses Association (NBNA)

Annotation: The National Black Nurses Association (NBNA) is a professional support and advocacy group for the black community and its need for equitable health care access and quality. The association recruits and assists blacks interested in pursuing nursing careers and offers scholarships to student nurses. Members include registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, licensed vocational nurses, and student nurses. Publications include a newsletter and journal. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Advocacy, Support groups, Blacks, Community health services, Minority groups, Nurses, Women', s health

National Council of Negro Women (NCNW)

Annotation: The National Council for Negro Women (NCNW) is a council of domestic and international organizations and individuals interested in issues that affect African-American women. The council encourages the development and participation of African-American women in society and sponsors programs on family health care, obesity, adolescent pregnancy prevention, and education, among others.

Keywords: Minority groups, Adolescents pregnancy, Blacks, Child care, Health services, Minority Health, Women health

National Council of Women's Organizations (NCWO)

Annotation: The National Council of Women's Organizations (NCWO) is a nonpartisan network of more than one hundred women's organizations working together to advocate change on many issues of importance to women. Significant areas of involvement include equal employment opportunity, economic equity, media equality, education, job training, women's health and reproductive health, mid-life and aging/retired women, girls and young women, homemakers, minority groups, and business and professional women.

Keywords: Coalition, Adolescent females, Advocacy, Aging, Blacks, Children, Education, Gender discrimination, Minority groups, Reproductive health, Retirement, Vocational education, Women, Women', s health

National Medical Association (NMA)

Annotation: The National Medical Association (NMA) represents the interests of physicians and patients of African descent. NMA publications include consensus panel reports and a peer reviewed journal. The association also sponsors conferences on regional, state, local, and national levels that address health issues affecting Blacks and other underserved communities. Outreach programs and public health campaigns have focused on AIDS, breastfeeding, Diabetes, SIDS, immunization, Lupus, and other health-related topics.

Keywords: Blacks, Minority health, Physicians, Professional societies

National Urban League (NUL)

Annotation: The National Urban League (NUL) is a civil rights and social welfare organization whose mission is to eliminate racial segregation and discrimination in the United States and to achieve parity for African Americans and other minorities in every phase of American life. NUL works to eliminate institutional racism and to provide direct services to minorities in the areas of employment, housing, education, social welfare, health, family planning, mental retardation, law and consumer affairs, youth and student affairs, labor affairs, veterans' affairs, and community and minority business development.

Keywords: Blacks, Injury prevention, Minority health, Racial discrimination, Racism, Access to health care, Urban population

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Sickle Cell Foundation of Greater Montgomery

Annotation: The Sickle Cell Foundation of Greater Montgomery is a nonprofit community service organization. Services offered by the Foundation include sickle cell education, testing, counseling, supportive services and referral services. The Foundation was founded in January of 1982. The Foundation serves nine counties in central and southern Alabama. These counties include Montgomery, Autauga, Elmore, Butler, Lowndes, Chambers, Tallapoosa, Crenshaw, and Coffee counties. The main objectives of the Foundation are to give accurate information about sickle cell disease and related hemoglobinopathies, to provide testing and diagnostic services to interested persons, to counsel individuals with positive test results so they can make informed decisions about their lives and to provide supportive services for clients and their family members.

Keywords: Sickle cell disease, Advocacy, Alabama, Anemia, Blacks, Bllod and lymphatic diseases, Ethospecific disorders, Hemoglobinopathies, Screening

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.