Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (36 total).

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Advanced Behavioral Health (ABH)

Annotation: Advanced Behavioral Health, Inc., (ABH) is a Connecticut based nonprofit behavioral health care company. Incorporated in 1995, ABH designs and implements innovative managed care delivery models and behavioral health information technology to enhance service delivery.

Keywords: Child behavior, Consultants

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (AAP SODBP), founded in 1960, works to optimize the relationship between primary care and subspecialists, provide education and disseminate strategies to support quality clinical practice, and advocate on behalf of children and providers. The website provides information about educational activities and a toolbox of resources and tools to help physicians advocate for children at the federal, state, or local practice level; screen and assess developmental and behavioral concerns; and support developmental and behavioral services and policies related to developmental and behavioral pediatrics. Additional contents include the Learning Disabilities Navigator, a comprehensive resource guide for learning difficulties and disabilities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior development, Child development, Continuing education, Developmental screening, Emotional development, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Brazelton Touchpoints Center

Annotation: The Brazelton Touchpoints Center is dedicated to strengthening the families of young children and the systems of care that surround them so that all children – regardless of their cultural, socioeconomic, physical, psychological, emotional health, or environmental challenges – will be successful early learners and have the opportunity to thrive. It provides professional development, research and evaluation, practice innovation and technical assistance, and policy advocacy focused on systemic change for children and families.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Families, Infant behavior, Infant development, Service delivery systems, Training

Center for Digital Games Research (CDGR)

Annotation: The Center for Digital Games Research (CDGR) at the University of California, Santa Barbara, applies a multidisciplinary approach to the study of digital media and games. Faculty affiliates produce a range of projects and research findings on topics such as human-computer interaction, user motivation and engagement, game design, software programming, big data, crowdsourcing, sensors, virtual reality, avatar research, digital art and music, interactive storytelling and narrative, media neuroscience, behavioral health, instructional design, social networks, and more. The center also helps to build the field by providing information about research resources, game databases including the Health Games Database, bibliographies, and research methods and measures.

Keywords: Games, Health attitudes, Health behavior, Health promotion, Research

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

Choosy Kids

Annotation: Choosy Kids offers training and educational materials for health professionals, teachers, and parents to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. The site also provides news, information about events, links to resources by topic and by audience such as Head Start and WIC programs, and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Consumer education matrerials, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program

Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA)

Annotation: The Consortium of Social Science Associations (COSSA), an advocacy organization supported by over 100 academic associations and educational institutions, serves as a bridge between researchers and policymakers. The consortium advocates for the inclusion of social and behavioral science perspectives in federally funded research on women's health. It also informs the science community about relevant federal policies, cooperates with other science and education groups to meet common goals, and monitors the status of women in health professions and as researchers. Publications include a newsletter. COSSA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Research, Social sciences, Women's health

Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association (FREDLA)

Annotation: The Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association provides trainings, publications, and other resources for family-run organizations, including policies, standards, core competencies, for the fields of children's mental health, non-profit leadership, policy, the needs of children, youth, and families, the support of organizations and systems that serve them, and more.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral health, Children, Families, Mental health, Organizations, Youth

Future of Sex Education (FoSE)

Annotation: The Future of Sex Education Project (FoSE) began in July 2007 when staff from Advocates for Youth, Answer and SIECUS first met to discuss the future of sex education in the United States. At the time, each organization was looking ahead to the possibility of a future without federal abstinence-only-until-marriage funding and simultaneously found themselves exploring the question of how best to advance comprehensive sexuality education in schools. In May of 2008, Advocates, Answer and SIECUS formalized these discussions with funding from the Ford, George Gund and Grove Foundations, and the FoSE Project was launched.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Family life education, Psychosexual development, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexuality education

Healthy Futures

Annotation: Healthy Futures is a state- and federally-funded health program that educates adolescents in the areas of sexuality, healthy relationships, and self-respect through medically-accurate information and interactive skits and demonstrations. Further, it empowers adolescents to avoid the social, psychological and health consequences of early sexual activity and provides the skills necessary to attain abstinence before marriage. Healthy Futures is offered at no cost to schools and meets many of the requirements of the Massachusetts Comprehensive Health Curriculum Framework, specifically within the Reproductive/Sexuality and Interpersonal Relationships modules. Healthy Futures provides parent programs, classroom programs, peer education programs, and educational websites for adolescents and parents.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescents, Sexual behavior

Infant-Parent Institute

Annotation: The Infant-Parent Institute is a private teaching and clinical service institute that specializes in problems of attachment in infants and adults. The institute is independent and receives no public funding. Services to consumers include referrals, clinical assessment, psychotherapy, parent consultation, publications, and reference information. The Institute sponsors some conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Training materials include a newsletter and a library of 14 documentary videotapes.

Keywords: Attachment behavior, Audiovisual materials, Infants, Information services, Mental health, Parent child relations, Training

National Alliance of Multi-Ethnic Behavioral Health Associations (NAMBHA)

Annotation: National Alliance of Multi-Ethnic Behavioral Health Associations (NAMBHA) is a non-profit organization representing the following racial or ethnic behavioral health associations: 1) The First Nations Behavioral Health Association; (2) The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association; (3) The National Latino Behavioral Health Association; and (4) The National Leadership Council on African American Behavioral Health. Its purpose is to bring organizations representing diverse people of color together as a single voice to increase the effectiveness of advocacy, ensure a positive impact on the use of resources, and to collectively share expertise on behavioral health issues that significantly affect people of color.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental health, Advocacy, Associations, Collaboration, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Racial factors

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

National Center for School Engagement (NCSE)

Annotation: The National Center for School Engagement was established based on over a decade of educational research conducted by Colorado Foundation for Families and Children, now the Partnership for Families and Children. NCSE studies and produces papers and reports on school attendance, attachment, and achievement, as well as provides training and technical assistance, research and evaluation to school districts, law enforcement agencies, courts, as well as state and federal agencies.

Keywords: Bullying, Educational attainment, Psychology, Psychosocial factors, School attendance, Schools, Social behavior

National Center for Youth Issues (NCYI)

Annotation: The National Center for Youth Issues aspires to be America’s premier clearinghouse for resource materials, training and support services to advance the psychosocial, emotional, physical, character, and life-skill capacities of today's children and youth. It provides materials for elementary, middle, and high schools in a breadth of topics including counseling, bullying, character education, social and life skills, anger and conflict, substance abuse, learning disabilities, and grief and depression.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Mental health, Social behavior

National Council for Behavioral Health

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.