Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) is a national nonprofit organization that offers information, resources, and networking services to adults with AD/HD and to the professionals working with them. The information and resources provided focus on diagnoses, treatment, strategies, and techniques for helping adults with AD/HD lead better lives. ADDA hosts conferences, provides audio and video materials, publishes a quarterly newsletter, offers networking opportunities, and provides advocacy in the field.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities

Annotation: Attention Deficit Disorder Resources is a national non-profit organization that helps people with ADD or ADHD achieve their full potential through education, support, and networking opportunities. Electronic news, online articles for parents and adults, and discussion forums can be accessed via the Web site. The organization also offers an online bookstore; maintains a lending library for members and registered library users; hosts Webcasts, free teleclasses, workshops, and conferences; and provides a directory of service providers who specialize in attention deficit disorders. Support groups are also provided in the Puget Sound, Washington, area.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Learning disabilities, Hyperactivity, Information services

Annotation: CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorders) is a national nonprofit organization serving individuals with attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder. Through collaboration leadership, advocacy,research, education, and support, CHADD provides science-based information about AD/HD to parents, educators, professionals, the media, and the general public. CHADD houses and administers the CDC'funded National Resource Center on AD/HD, a nation-wide clearinghouse for information, support, and referrals. CHADD has more than 20,000 members in over 200 local chapters. CHADD sponsors an annual conference and publishes a bi-monthly magazine, Attention!, a quarterly newsletter, Inside CHADD, and an electronic newsletter News from CHADD.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Hyperactivity, Information dissemination, Learning disabilities, Parent groups, Support groups

Annotation: The Homelessness Resource Center (HRC), formerly the National Resource Center on Homelessness and Mental Illness, is an interactive learning community dedicated to disseminating knowledge and best practices to prevent and end homelessness. It provides technical assistance and comprehensive information concerning the treatment, services, and housing needs of homeless persons with serious mental illnesses. The HRC website is part of the Homelessness Resource Network (HRN), a collaboration to share a common digital library of over 9,000 resources related to homelessness, mental illness, substance use, co-occurring disorders, and traumatic stress.HRC is operated by the Homeless and Housing Resource Network (HHRN) technical assistance (TA) contract.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Homeless persons, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Schizophrenia

Annotation: The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is a grass-roots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of people with serious mental illness and their families and friends. NAMI's mission is to eradicate mental illness and to improve the quality of life for those who suffer from these no-fault brain diseases. Services provided include: a helpline at (800) 950-NAMI to provide information between 8:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.; support for research into etiology, treatments, and a cure for neurobiological brain disorders; support groups for parents, siblings, and children of the mentally ill and consumers of mental health services; educational programs such as the "Family-to-Family" Education program presented in localities nationwide; and technical assistance to affiliates at local and state levels who wish to engage in advocating for the improved, non-discriminatory services for neurobiological brain disorders. Events include regional conferences, an annual convention held each July, and an annual Mental Illness Awareness Week in early October. Publications include a catalog, a bimonthly newsletter,The Advocate (available for the annual membership fee of $25), and Decade of the Brain, (a quarterly publication (available for an annual subscription fee of $20). Some materials are available in Spanish. A free publication, Because Kids Grow Up, focusing on children and adolescents is also available to parents by calling the helpline.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Mental health, Schizophrenia, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Institute for Children's Health Quality (NICHQ) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving children's health by improving the systems responsible for the delivery of children's healthcare. Services include learning collaboratives, building the capacity for improvement, state and regional improvement programs, advocacy and mobilization, and networks. The website provides information on areas of focus, projects, and resources including toolkits, publications, summary sheets, advocacy resources, and resources for parents.

Keywords: , Child health, Adolescent health, Asthma, Attention deficit disorder, Children with special health care needs, Data, Educational materials, Foster care, Health services, Model programs, Preventive health services, Primary care, Quality assurance, Training

Annotation: Founded in 2002, the National AD/HD Resource Center (NRC) is a national clearinghouse dedicated to the evidence-based science and treatment of AD/HD. NRC provides information on diagnosis and treatment of AD/HD; living with AD/HD; and dealing with the legal, insurance, and public benefits systems,. The center was established by CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder) with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Clearinghouses, Evidence based medicine, Hyperactivity