Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (29 total).

Center for Mental Health in Schools

Annotation: The mission of the Center for Mental Health in Schools at UCLA is to improve outcomes for young people by enhancing policies, programs, and practices for addressing barriers to learning and promoting the field of mental health in schools. Through collaboration, the center focuses on enhancing practitioner roles, functions, and competence; interfacing with systemic reform movements; assisting localities in building and maintaining their own infrastructure for training, support, and continuing education; and weaving together school and community resources that foster comprehensive, integrated approaches to healthy development. The center sponsors the national initiative New Directions for Student Support, designed to revolutionize what schools do to address barriers to learning and teaching.The center is funded in part by the Office of Adolescent Health, Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The center publishes newsletters and reports, maintains an open listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Needs assessment, Resource centers, School health, Technical assistance, Training

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Center to Prevent Childhood Malnutrition

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

Children's HealthWatch

Annotation: Children's HealthWatch, formerly Children's Sentinel Nutrition Assessment Program (C-SNAP), Children's HealthWatch works to improve child health by bringing evidence and analysis from the front lines of pediatric care to policy makers and the public. The network of pediatricians and public health researchers collects data on children up to the age of four in emergency rooms and clinics at Boston Medical Center, the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock; Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis; and St. Christopher's Hospital in Philadelphia. Data is collected and analyzed on food security, housing stability, home environment issues, health, and other possible hardship experiences for young children, particularly in low income areas.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Collaboration, Data collection, Housing, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition assessment, Public policy, advocacy

Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service (CPEIS)

Annotation: The Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service operates a telephone service that provides current information on the possible risk to a fetus exposed to a particular medication, chemical, infection, or substance abuse during pregnancy. The service is offered to women who are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and concerned partners who want information, education, or counseling about exposure risks. Callers at risk or with complicated exposures are encouraged to seek personal genetic counseling, which can be provided by this service or by a genetic counselor in the caller's region. Telephone callers receive written follow-ups. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include fact sheets and a newsletter.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Connecticut, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetus, Hotlines, Information services, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology

CPONDER

Annotation: CPONDER, CDC's PRAMS Online Data for Epidemiologic Research, provides access to data collected through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System surveys. The web-based query system contains data that may be analyzed by state, by year, and by topic. Results are returned in the form of a table and graph that users can copy into a document or spreadsheet.

Keywords: Data analysis, Federal programs, Online systems, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Statistics

Disability and Health Data System (DHDS)

Annotation: The Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is a state-level disability surveillance tool designed to assist partners, researchers, advocates, and the general public in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. The DHDS features three types of data: disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures. The data are presented in a variety of formats including interactive maps and data tables. The display options provide users with the ability to identify location-specific data for a single time period, along with multiple time period trends. Users can view the data by states, territories, divisions, and regions. The tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Division of Human Development and Disability at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Assessment, Data sources, Disabilities, Health care costs, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Stress

FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center

Annotation: The FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center aims to support the improvement of local perinatal HIV systems. The resource center offers information, training, and expert guidance to communities currently implementing, or interested in implementing, the fetal and infant mortality (FIMR) case review and community action process known as the FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology Protocol.

Keywords: Case assessment, Community action, Disease prevention, HIV, Infant mortality, Perinatal influences, Resource centers

Genetic Services Policy Project (GSPP )

Annotation: The Genetic Services Policy Project (GSPP) is working to assess the current model for genetic services delivery; explore alternative models for delivery of genetic services; and identify changes in public policies that would promote appropriate and cost effective access to a broad range of genetic services to all who might benefit from them. The assessment will include evaluating the economic, legal, cultural and policy aspects of the existing system and alternatives. In addition, GSPP will examine specific genetic service markets such as screening and testing, as well as markets for complementary services such as genetic counseling and education. The project disseminates information and posts a variety of resources on its Web site, including papers and presentations, clinical case study summaries, meeting agendas and notes, and genetic profiles of all 50 states. A recommended reading list (with links to full-text articles) is provided as well. GSPP is a collaborative effort, supported by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Washington State Department of Health, and the University of Washington.

Keywords: Genetics, Assessment, Genetic services, Genetics education, Information dissemination, Service delivery

Harder+Company

Annotation: Harder+Company is a social research and consulting firm that provides research and analysis to regional and national clients in nonprofit organizations, government, and philanthropy. Services include evaluation, strategic planning, community planning, needs assessment and feasibility studies, policy analysis, and organizational development. The website features information about projects in California, methodology, and professional staff.

Keywords: Consultation, Evaluation, Feasibility studies, Management, Needs assessment, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Research, Strategic plans

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center

Annotation: The Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center, formerly the National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Research Center, collaborates with community-based, youth-serving organizations to promote youth development through research, training, and advocacy. The Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center, housed at the University of Minnesota, Department of Pediatrics, is one in a network of 33 academic centers whose main objective – as a PRC – is to link science to practice through collaborations with public health agencies and community-based organizations. All of the PRC’s share the fundamental goal of advancing the fields of health promotion and disease prevention by: focusing on high-priority health issues; bridging gaps between scientific knowledge and public health practice; applying and rapidly transferring research results; and enhancing cooperation between academic colleges and universities and state and local health departments, health-related agencies and organizations. The center provides inquiry responses, publications, and reference information, publishes a newsletter, and offers conferences, training seminars, and workshops. The center is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Information services, Needs assessment, Surveys

MCH Navigator

Annotation: The MCH Navigator serves as a learning portal for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals, students, and others working to improve the health and well-being of women, children, and families by offering access to online learning resources that translate competency-based knowledge into action.

Keywords: Resource centers, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Training

Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services

Annotation: The Mississippi State Department of Health's Division of Dental Services was established to ensure optimal oral health for every citizen of Mississippi. The Division of Dental Services is responsible for the prevention and control of oral diseases through assessment, policy and program development, and assurance. Programs address children, adults, families, and communities through public health clinics, schools, and approved dental health providers.

Keywords: Community coordination, Disease prevention, Health services, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Program development, State agencies

National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention is a training and technical assistance center for grantees of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services working to promote mental health and prevent youth violence among children, their families, and other adults. Through training, technical assistance, distance learning, and on-site consultation, the center helps grantees develop needs assessments and implement strategic plans, use evidence-based interventions, select and use evaluation tools, build coalitions that include families, youth, and other stakeholders, and sustain projects beyond their initial federal funding. The center provides on-site technical assistance and consultation, training workshops and tutorials, online courses, and information on the latest research, events, and funding opportunities. The center also conducts national conferences and regional meetings to facilitate peer interaction and learning.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Children, Consultation, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Needs assessment, Technical assistance, Training, Violence prevention, Youth services

Pew Charitable Trusts, Health Impact Project

Annotation: The Health Impact Project, a collaboration of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The Pew Charitable Trusts, is a national initiative designed to promote the use of health impact assessments (HIAs) as a decision-making tool for policymakers. The website provides information about the HIA process; funding opportunities, grantees, and partners; and news and events. A searchable resource database is also available, containing policy briefs and reports, case studies, presentations and webinars, training materials, toolkits and guides, and literature and data sources.

Keywords: Public policy, Assessment, Health planning, Program improvement

Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity (PRE)

Annotation: The Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity (PRE) is a four-year project of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund intended to increase the amount and effectiveness of resources aimed at combating institutional and structural racism in communities through capacity building, education, and convening of grantmakers and grantseekers. The initiative began in January 2003 with multiyear support from the C. S. Mott Foundation. PRE seeks to build both financial and programmatic resources to combat racism, offering consultation, assessment, training, collaboration, and online toolkits and reports covering philanthropy, diversity, and racial justice.

Keywords: Philanthropy, Assessment, Civil rights, Education, Electronic publications, Grants, Racial discrimination, Racism

Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children

Annotation: The Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children is a private nonprofit agency that specializes in the early assessment, treatment, and prevention of emotional and developmental problems in children ages 0–8 years. The center helps children to achieve a healthy emotional start in life through early intervention programs, referrals, consultation, research, and training. The center sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Early intervention, Assessment, Child development, Emotional development, Infants, Mental health, Screening

Resource Center for Community Health Assessments and Community Health Improvement Plans (CHA/CHIP Resource Center)

Annotation: The Resource Center for Community Health Assessments and Community Health Improvement Plans (CHA/CHIP Resource Center) supports local health departments and their partners in completing community health improvement processes, including community health assessments and community health improvement plans, in efforts to improve the health of local communities. The center provides resources and customizable tools to health departments in a central and publicly accessible location. Available materials include items developed by health department demonstration sites to complete community health assessments and community health improvement plans for accreditation preparation.

Keywords: Assessment, Community health services, Program improvement, Resource centers

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.