Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 18 (18 total).

Alive & Thrive

Asian / Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)

Annotation: The Asian / Pacific Librarians Association (APALA) was incorporated in Illinois in 1981 and formally affiliated with the American Library Association (ALA) in 1982. APALA works to address the needs of Asian / Pacific American librarians and those who serve Asian / Pacific American communities. The association provides a forum for discussing problems and exchanging idea among APA and other librarians; supports and encourages library services to APA communities; recruits and mentors APA librarians in the library/information science professions; and fosters cooperation between APA librarians and other organizations having similar or allied interests. APALA also seeks funding for scholarships in library/information science masters programs.

Keywords: Librarians, Asian Americans, Associations, Library services, Mentors, Pacific Americans, Professional societies, Recuitment

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA)

Annotation: The Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA) is a national organization that aims to address those issues important to Asian-American medical students. APAMSA works to bring together Asians and others interested in the health issues that affect Asians. The association is interested in promoting the health and well-being of the Asian community and in helping all health care workers who work with these communities understand how to care for the Asian patient in a culturally sensitive manner. APAMSA also provides a forum for APA medical students to meet, exchange information and experiences, and develop personally and professionally.

Keywords: Medical education, Medical students, Asian Americans, Minority health

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)

Annotation: The Chinese Amerian Librarians Assoiation (CALA) is an active affiliate of the American Library Association (ALA) since 1976 and a member of the Council of National Library and Information Associations (CNLIA). CALA started out in 1973 as the Mid-West Chinese American Librarians Association (a regional organization in Illinois); a year later, the Chinese Librarians Association was formed in California. With the establishment of the Florida Chapter in 1998, CALA now has six chapters and members throughout the United States, as well as in Canada, China, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan. The assiation publishes a newsletter, an electronic journal, and occasional paper series; hosts a listservice; provides scholarships and awards; and sponsors workshops and annual programs. Through its mentorship Program, CALA helps prepare information science students for successful library careers; assists new and junior librarians; and allows seasoned CALA members to exercise their leadership skills, pass on their excellent experience, and invigorate the profession by making others successful.

Keywords: Mentors, Librarians, Asian Americans, Associations, Careers

Health Information Translations

Annotation: This Web site provides health information in these languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazilian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Topics include disaster preparedness, diagnostic tests, diseases and conditions, exercise and rehabilitation, food and diet, general information, health and wellness, home care, pain and comfort, pediatrics, pregnancy and baby care, safety, stress and coping, and surgeries and treatments. It has been developed by nine Ohio-based and national health organizations.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer health information, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

Healthy Roads Media

Annotation: The Healthy Roads Media Web site contains free audio, written, and multimedia health education materials in a number of languages, including Arabic, Bosnian, Hmong, Khmer, Russian, Somali,Spanish, and Vietnamese. These materials are being developed in an effort to study the value of various formats in providing health information for diverse populations. Topics covered include domestic violence, asthma, cancer, dental health, diabetes, diseases and conditions, exercise, health services, heart health, immunization, nutrition, smoking, tuberculosis, and women's health. Partners in this project include Family HealthCare Center, Healthway Software, Fargo Cass Public Health, the Center for New Americans, the North Dakota State Data Center, and the North Dakota State University Library.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Hep B United

Annotation: He B United is a national coalition to address the public health challenge of hepatitis B. The coalition supports and leverages the success of local community coalitions across the United States to increase hepatitis B awareness, screening, vaccination, and linkage to care for all Americans and, in particular, for high-risk populations who are disproportionately impacted. The website contains facts on hepatitis B and information on local campaigns, policy initiatives, news, events, and resources such as webinars, hangouts, trainings, campaign materials, and a speakers bureau.

Keywords: Access to care, Asian Americans, Coalitions, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Public awareness campaigns, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Hmong Health Education Network

Annotation: The Hmong Health Education Network provides access to health information for Hmong people and those who provide health, education, and social services to the Hmong community. The Network's bilingual Web site provides links to resources on preventive health care, cultural healing traditions, and family health topics such as asthma, mental health, and dental surgery. The project is funded by the National Library of Medicine and managed by the Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center (NAHEC). The network also provides an online discussion list.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Foreign language materials, Health promotion, Hmong, Hmong people, Information sources, Listserves, Preventive health services, Publications

Lamaze International

Annotation: The mission of Lamaze International is to promote, support and protect normal birth through education and advocacy. The organization’s vision is “a world of confident women choosing normal birth”. Lamaze International offers free educational information on normal birth on its Web site, including: (1) easy to read, evidenced-based information on the six care practices that support normal birth at the Lamaze Institute for Normal Birth web site link.; (2) recommended books on pregnancy, birth and early parenting; (3) tips for a healthy pregnancy and normal birth; and (4) information on birth networks developing in many communities. Consumers can locate an Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator (LCCE) or a Lamaze Approved Provider in their area using the online locator service or by calling the administrative office at (800) 368-4404. The Lamaze Certification Program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accrediting body of the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). Lamaze International provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases to consumers; some materialis available in Spanish, Chinese and Korean. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal, and offers conferences, training seminars, workshops, and other activities.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Childbirth education, Lamaze method, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials

Maternal & Child Nutrition in Asia (MCNAsia)

Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University (MCH Library)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Library (MCH Library) at Georgetown University is an electronic guide to MCH information. It offers a combination of MCH information compiled by library staff and pathways to the best MCH information available on other websites, from organizations, and in libraries. The MCH Library publishes the MCH Alert; produces databases; develops knowledge paths, bibliographies, and other information resources; maintains a website to provide access to key MCH-related data and information; and promotes the awareness and use of MCH information. Its physical collection is the Mary C. Egan Maternal and Child Health Library, one of the six libraries of Georgetown University. Library staff respond to information requests from the public, including health professionals and consumers. The library provides access to information in numerous non-English languages. The library is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Maternal health, Adolescent health, Asian language materials, Child health, Health sciences libraries, Infant health, National MCH resource center, Non English language materials, Resource centers, Spanish language materials

National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA)

Annotation: The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA) advocates on behalf of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) mental health issues and collaborates with others in efforts to develop comprehensive, culturally comptenent services to meet the needs of the AAPI population. Formed in the year 2000, the association aims to enhance the collection of appropriate and accurate data; identify current best practices and service models; increase capacity building (which includes providing technical assistance and training of service providers); conduct research and evaluation; and work to engage consumers and families. The association serves as a forum for effective collaboration, and networks among stake holders of community based organizations, consumers, family members, service providers, program developers, researchers, evaluators, and policy makers. NAAPIMHA provides electronic access to a national directory of AAPI services providers which can be searched via the website.

Keywords: Associations, Mental health, Asian American, Collaboration, Culturally competenent services, Data collection, Model programs, Research

National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence

Annotation: The National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence focuses on strengthening health care response to domestic violence. The Center provides resources, training materials, and technical assistance to health care professionals, domestic violence experts, survivors, and policy makers at all levels. The center provides an online toolkit for health care providers and DV advocates to prepare a clinical practice to address domestic and sexual violence, including screening instruments, sample scripts for providers, patient and provider educational resources. The Center also hosts national conferences and produces an e-bulletin, an online materials index, and a webinar series. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Domestic violence, Foreign language materials, Information services, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Women's health

New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service

Annotation: The New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service provides information and services to help health professionals communicate with non-English speaking communities throughout New South Wales, Australia. Resources are provided in these languages: Albanian, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Assyrian, Bengali, Bosnian, Burmese, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Creole, Croatian, Czech, Dari, Dinka, Dutch, English, Farsi, Fijian, Filipino, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Karen, Khmer, Kirundi, Koori, Korean, Kurdish, Lao, Macedonian, Malay, Maltese, Maori, Oromo, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Pushto, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Sorani, Spanish, Tamil, Tetum, Thai, Tigrigna, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Vietnamese. Materials include print, audio, and video.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Australia, Consumer education materials, Government agencies, International health, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Pregnancy Foresight Project

Annotation: The Pregnancy Foresight Project is a March of Dimes sponsored project administered by Swedish Medical Center aimed at assessing the current practice and improving the nature and scope of Washington State primary care providers (PCPs) education in four key areas: (1) discussion of family history of birth defects/genetic disorders; (2) prenatal testing for birth defects/genetic disorders;  (3) benefits of folic acid in preventing birth defects; and  (4) effects of alcohol and smoking on babies. The project's Web site provides professional resources and patient education materials in numerous languages, including Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese, Croatian, Farsi / Persian, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer / Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Non English language materials, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.