Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start Research Center (AIANHSRC)

Annotation: The American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start Research Center (AIANHSRC) operationalizes and implements a research and training agenda for American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start and Early Head Start Programs. The center addresses gaps in knowledge relevant to early childhood intervention in American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities through implementation of the following objectives: (1) to establish an infrastructure for addressing the needs of AI/AN and Head Start (HS) research; (2) to facilitate the conduct of research that will address the needs of AI/AN communities, their HS programs, and university-based researchers; and (3) to develop the capacity for future research in AI/AN HS.

Keywords: American Indians, Head Start, Alaska natives, Early intervention, Research, Young children

American Indian Institute (AII)

Annotation: The American Indian Institute (AIII) was established in 1951 as a nonprofit American Indian service, training, and research organization. The institute provides assistance to American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nation tribes and bands in the areas of health and wellness, education, culture and language preservation, tribal leadership, and business and economic development. The institute delivers its services through publications, references information, workshops, seminars, conferences, referrals, on-site consultation, and technical assistance on a state, regional, national, and international basis.

Keywords: American Indians, Education, Minority groups, Minority health, Research

American Indian Library Association (AILA)

Annotation: The American Indian Library Association (AILA) is a membership group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaskan Natives. AILA was founded in 1979 in conjunction with the White House pre-conference on Indian library and information services on or near reservations. In 1985, AILA became an affiliate of the American Library Association. The assoiation publishes a newsletter, hosts a listservice, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Associations, American Indians, Information services, Libraries, Library services

Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP)

Annotation: The Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP) strives to improve the overall health of American Indian and Alaskan Native Communities through a variety of programs that directly address widely acknowledged health disparities. AAIP hosts educational forums, workshops, and conferences in different regions throughout the year and strives to motivate American Indian and Alaskan Native students to remain in the academic pipeline and to pursue a career in the health professions.

Keywords: American Indians, Minority groups

First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA)

Annotation: First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA) was established to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well being of native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health. The purpose of FNBHA is to provide national leadership to all groups, institutions, and individuals that plan, provide, and access Native American behavioral health services. The association maintains an online resource library.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Health education, Library services, Mental health, Minority groups

First Nations Development Institute

Annotation: The First Nations Development Institute (FNDI) helps to improve economic conditions for Native Americans through technical assistance and training, advocacy and policy, and direct financial grants in five areas: (1) financial and investor education; (2) combating predatory lending; (3) Native American business and asset development; (4) strengthening Native American nonprofits; and (5) Native foods and health.

Keywords: American Indians, Health, Minority groups, Nutrition

U.S. Indian Health Service, Head Start Program

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Head Start Program promotes health activities that are proven to improve health outcomes for American Indian and Alaska Native Early Head Start and Head Start grantees, centers, staff, children, and communities by reducing the risks of chronic disease. Specific goals include the following: (1) to support the Office of Head Start and the health objectives and performance standard requirements; (2) to assist grantees in the development of health programs for children, family, staff, and community; (3) to develop programs that promote health lifestyle activities; and (4) to assist Head Start grantees in developing local and community partnerships. The Web site features a section specifically devoted to Head Start providers and another to Head Start families; information about the program's mission and focus areas (health priorities, challenges, and trends); resources and links; and contacts. A search tool provides access to information about specific IHS Head Start programs.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Early intervention, Federal programs, Head Start, Health promotion, Program development, Young children

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Oral Health addresses the oral health needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives in hospitals and clinics throughout the United States. The Web site provides information on IHS' dental career path options (civil service employee, Commissioned Corps Officer, or tribal hire); externships; the loan repayment program; and volunteering. Information on networking and resources, a vacancy database, and recruiting events are also provided.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Careers, Dental care, Federal programs, Financial assistance, Online databases, Oral health, Public health dental hygienists, Public health dentists, Work force

U.S. Indian Health Service, Early Childhood Caries Collaborative

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Early Childhood Caries (ECC) Initiative is a multi-faceted program designed to enhance knowledge about ECC prevention and early intervention among all health professionals and the community. The initiative provides the health care team (including oral health professionals, medical providers, community health representatives, Head Start staff, and WIC program staff) with the tools to begin a successful program. The website provides information on best practices, the Basic Screening Survey, a framework for ECC early intervention focusing on "caries stabilization," ECC programs, frequently asked questions, fluoride varnish, and other resources.

Keywords: American Indians, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Interdisciplinary approach, Native Americans, Primary care, Program planning

Inter Tribal Council of Arizona

Annotation: The Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation that administers over twenty federal, state, and private grants and contracts in a variety of areas including health, research, and environmental quality. ITCA staff provide technical assistance, disseminates information, and conducts trainings to assist Tribal governments in operating programs that comply with federal regulations and policies and protect the health and safety of Tribal members. The membership of ITCA consists of twenty of the federally recognized Tribes in Arizona. ITCA coordinates meetings and conferences to facilitate participation of Tribal leaders and other Tribal staff in the formulation of public policy at all levels.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Arizona, Community agencies, Health policy, Health promotion, Policy development, Public policy

Inter-Tribal Council of Michigan, Inc.

National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA)

Annotation: The National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA) -- formerly known as the Northwest Indian Child Welfare Institute -- is dedicated to the well-being of all American Indian children and families. Every Indian child must have access to community-based, culturally appropriate services that help them grow up safe, healthy, and spiritually strong - free from abuse, neglect, sexual exploitation, and the damaging effects of substance abuse. NICWA was created for the following principles: to protect the most valuable resource of Indian people - Indian children; to promote safe, healthy and culturally strong environments for Indian kids; to promote the spiritual strength of Indian children and a positive cultural identity; to be a strong voice for the needs of Indian children and Indian child welfare programs nationwide; to advocate for and facilitate the proper implementation of the Indian Child Welfare Act; to promote the provision of effective services to Indian children by child welfare workers; to provide technical assistance for and information sharing among Indian child welfare programs; to provide education and leadership opportunities for Indian child welfare workers.

Keywords: American Indians, Child welfare, Children, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups

National Oral Health Council (NOHC)

Annotation: The National Oral Health Council (NOHC) is made of up the entire Indian Health Service (IHS) dental staff of commissioned corps, tribal and urban programs, and is represented by an executive committee. The guiding principle and ultimate goal of the NOHC is the improved oral health of the Native America and Alaskan Native populations. The committee members strive to enhance communication between the clinical IHS staff and the IHS leadership. The website contains the NOHC charter, goals, work plans, and awards. Information on the IHS' Early Childhood Caries Initiative (baseline assessment and next steps) is also provided.

Keywords: American Indians, Federal agencies, Oral health

National Resource Center for Tribes (NRC4Tribes)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Tribes (NRC4Tribes) addresses child welfare needs identified by Tribes, supports efforts for improved Tribal child welfare practice, and works with Tribal child welfare staff to achieve greater safety, permanency, and well being for children and families. The center provides direct training and technical assistance, supports mentoring and networking among Tribal agencies, arranging activities to engage Tribes, develops and disseminates toolkits, resource manuals, and other products, and hosts webinars, conference calls, and other learning opportunities. NRC4Tribes is part of the Children's Bureau's Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: American Indians, Child welfare, Resource centers

Native American Professional Parent Resources, Albuquerque Area Dental Support Center

Annotation: The Native American Professional Parent Resources' Albuquerque Area Dental Support Center provides training, technical assistance, and other support to dental clinics in the Albuquerque area of the Indian Health Service, which includes all of New Mexico, as well as southern Colorado and El Paso, Texas. Through continuing education opportunities, the development and distribution of culturally relevant materials, and other activities, the Dental Support Center works to improve the oral health status of American Indians/Alaska Natives.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Dental clinics, Oral health, Regional programs, Technical assistance, Training

Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center

Annotation: The Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center works to improve the overall health and economic status of Native Americans, especially women. The center provides programs on domestic violence, diabetic nutrition, reproductive health, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, AIDS education and counseling, adult learning, and child development. The center maintains a clearinghouse; provides educational materials, a women's health books, and a teen dating violence prevention curriculum; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and webinars; and hosts a radio talk show and a YouTube channel. Some materials are available in the Dakota language.

Keywords: American Indians, Health education, Minority Health, Minority groups, Non English language materials, Women's Health

U.S. Department of the Interior

Annotation: The U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors U.S. cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power the nation's future. It focuses on conservation and recreation, land management, climate change, Native American nations, energy resources, and water resources. It sponsors a Youth in the Great Outdoors initiative.

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Federal agencies, Natural resources, Recreation, Water

U.S. Indian Health Service (IHS)

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The IHS provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives who belong to federally recognized tribes. The Web site provides an A-to-Z guide to IHS divisions, programs, tools, and health topics, along with information on IHS staff, area offices and facilities, jobs and student opportunities, initiatives and collaborations, legal and policy issues, training opportunities, conferences and events, and councils and workgroups. Information on medical programs, information technology, jobs and student opportunities, support (non-Medical) programs, and area offices and facilities is also provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Online databases, Preventive health services, Work force

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Behavioral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Behavioral Health supports tribal and urban Native communities to eliminate behavioral diseases and conditions and promotes health, resilience, and strength in all communities. The Web site provides information on activities and initiatives; data; integrated behavioral health; conferences, meetings, and workshops; behavioral health job database; links; methamphetamine treatment and prevention; and suicide prevention.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Methamphetamines, Online databases, Preventive health services, Suicide prevention, Work force

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention is responsible for developing, documenting, and sustaining clinical and public health efforts to treat and prevent diabetes in American Indians and Alaska Natives. The Web site provides information on contacts; programs; training and conferences; and resources and tools including podcasts, client education materials, fact sheets, Diabetes News, clinical guidelines, best practices, curricula, and algorithms.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Diabetes mellitus, Federal programs, Health promotion, Preventive health services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.