Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Al-Anon Family Groups (Al-Anon/Alateen) is a self-help fellowship that offers a program of recovery for the relatives and friends of alcoholics. Members share their experience, strength, and hope in order to solve their common problems. Al-Anon is not allied with any sect, denomination, political entity, organization, or institution. On behalf of the group it serves, the organization registers local meetings, sponsors training seminars, and develops education books, audiovisuals, booklets, and brochures about recovery from the effects of living with the disease of alcoholism. Some of these materials are available in Spanish and French. They also publish a newsletter and catalog.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Alcohol abuse, Educational materials, Family recovery, Substance abuse, Support groups

Annotation: The American Council on Alcoholism (ACA) is a national nonprofit health organization dedicated to educating the public about the effects of alcohol, alcoholism, and alcohol abuse, and the need for prompt effective, readily-available, and affordable alcoholism treatment.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention programs, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse

Annotation: The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) is a national specialty organization of 3,500 physicians who are concerned about alcoholism and other drug dependencies. ASAM's Goals are to improve access to care and to increase its quality and effectiveness for patients and their families. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a textbook,Principles of Addiction Medicine, practice guidelines, the Patient Placement Criteria: Second Edition (PPC-2), a quarterly journal, and a bimonthly newsletter, ASAM News. ASAM also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alcoholism, Drugs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: The BEST Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to providing schools and their community partners with the necessary information, materials, and guidance to effectively implement Project ALERT, a skills-based substance abuse prevention curriculum for middle grade students. ALERT, which was researched and developed by RAND, a drug-policy think-tank, includes training, lesson plans, supporting videos and posters, and toll-free help with implementation. Teacher training is provided online.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco

Annotation: Families Anonymous (FA) serves parents, concerned relatives, and friends of loved ones who abuse drugs and/or alcohol and have related behavior problems. Services to consumers include referrals to support groups, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information. FA publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages can be made available through the organization's international groups.

Keywords: Families, Alcohol abuse, Bahavior problems, Drug abuse, Information services, Self help clearing houses, Substance abuse

Annotation: As part of The George Washington University Medical Center, Ensuring Solutions knows that misuse of alcohol, a legal drug, is a major public health issue. Through its outreach and communications efforts, Ensuring Solutions emphasizes that alcohol problems:can be treated effectively; often have a strong genetic component; are chronic in nature, similar to asthma, diabetes and high blood pressure; require early detection and continuing care; cost business and communities more when left untreated. Ensuring Solutions provides research-based information on effective alcohol treatment and the barriers many people face when they seek help for a drinking problem.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Therapeutics

Annotation: Leadership to Keep Children Alcohol Free is a multi-year, public-private partnership focused on preventing the use of alcohol by children, funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) at the National Institutes of Health and The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. It was begun in 2000.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Children, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: NAADAC --The Association for Addiction Professionals (formerly the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors) is a membership organization for addiction-focused health care professionals. Founded in 1972, NAADAC is committed to increasing general awareness of alcohol and drug disorders and enhancing care of individuals through treatment, education, and prevention programs. NAADAC offers educational and credentialing opportunities, as well as other support services for addiction professionals. Publications include a newsletter and magazine. NAADAC sponsors conferences and training seminars and offers materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Substance abuse

Annotation: The National Association for Children of Alcoholics (NACoA) serves as an advocate for children and families affected by alcoholism and other drug dependencies. The association provides educational materials and reference information to other resources. NACoA publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Children of alcoholics, Information services, Substance abuse

Annotation: The National Child Labor Committee (NCLC) is a private, non-profit organization that works to promote the rights, well-being, and education of children and youth as they relate to work and working. As advocates, researchers, technical assistance providers, and catalysts, the Committee works with corporations, government agencies, school systems, and others on behalf of the country's at-risk young people in the areas of youth employment and training, child labor laws, education, and youth occupational safety and health. NCLC sponsors the Lewis Hine Award for service to children and youth and seeks to inspire elementary school children about working and working through the community partnership program, Kids and the Power of Work (KAPOW).

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Advocacy, Alcohol abuse, Child abuse, Child exploitation, Child labor, Cooperative work experience programs, Education, Migrants, Pregnant adolescents, Research, Small businesses, Substance abuse, Working adolescents

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY), formerly the National Clearinghouse on Runaway and Homeless Youth, was established by the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) to serve as a central resource on youth and family policy and practice. FYSB is the lead agency on youth and family issues within the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCFY produces technical assistance materials on youth and family programming; operates an information line through which practitioners, policymakers, and the general public can access information on youth and family issues; and distributes materials at conferences and training events.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) works to prevent and control alcoholism through programs of public and professional education, medical and scientific information, and public policy advocacy. The council refers callers to local affiliates for counseling and provides print information on alcoholism. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research on the causes, consequences, treatment, and prevention of alcohol-related problems. The institute disseminates research results through the Alcohol Epidemiologic Data System and ETOH, a bibliographic database of more than 100,000 records of alcohol research findings. Publications include the quarterly journal Alcohol Research and Health and reports, monographs, and bulletins such as Alcohol Alert for clinicians and other health professionals. Some materials are available in Spanish. A catalog is also available. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcohol related injuries, Alcoholism, Information dissemination, Medical research, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Network for Youth, formerly National Network of Runaway and Youth Services, is a nonprofit membership organization with over 700 members. Through regional and state network affiliates, the National Network represents over 1,500 constituents, primarily community-based youth serving agencies. The National Network's mission is to ensure that young people are safe and grow up to lead healthy and productive lives. The driving force of the network in achieving its mission is Community Youth Development (CYD). CYD is an approach that models best practices in youth work and focuses on lifelong learning in which youth develop skills and competencies to be contributing members to their communities and societies. Activities include advocacy and public education promoting youth /adult partnerships, and strengthening staff and community-based organization capacity, to provide effective programs to runaway, homeless, and other youth in high-risk situations. Also provided are training and technical assistance in a wide variety of areas including the professional development of youth workers, youth leadership, peer education, HIV/AIDS, grant writing, and community and youth development. The National Network for Youth is a sponsoring member of the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children. Publications include two newsletters, Network News and Policy Reporter; a journal, CYD Journal: Community Youth Development and a variety of issue briefs, fact sheets and bibliographies. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) is a non-profit public health advocacy organization that develops and implements innovative ideas in prevention, education, intervention, and public policy in the United States and internationally. It provides materials for educators, advocacy groups, expectant mothers, those living with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and health care professionals.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: Prevention First, Inc. (PFI) provides current, comprehensive information and training on alcohol and other drug abuse prevention for Illinois residents. Through training, consultation, information services, and advocacy, PFI tries to promote health and wellness among individuals, organizations, and communities. Services to consumers include reference information and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. PFI publishes a catalog and newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention, Advocacy, Alcoholism, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, Illinois, Information services, Training

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers , Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

Annotation: Santa Barbara County's Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health Services (ADMHS) provides early intervention and treatment services to approximately 14,000 clients and substance abuse prevention services to about 5,000 residents per year. The Department’s goal is to move clients toward independence and integration into the community. Toward this end, ADMHS practices a system of care which promotes partnering with Community-Based Organizations (CBOs) and community resources for the prevention, treatment and recovery from addiction and mental illness.

Keywords: County agencies, Alcohol abuse, California, Community based services, Mental health services, Substance abuse

Annotation: The Saskatchewan Prevention Institute, formerly the Saskatchewan Institute on Prevention of Handicaps, is a nonprofit organization that raises province-wide awareness of prevention measures to reduce the incidence of handicapping conditions in children. Programs focus on four areas that impact the health and well-being of children: Reproductive and Infant Health; Alcohol, Tobacco and Drugs; Childhood Injuries; and Neglect and Abuse. Activities focus on raising awareness of prevention measures through: educational opportunities such as workshop presentations, conferences and public awareness campaigns; providing assistance for community groups to develop their own prevention education programs; networking and partnering projects that further prevention efforts; and maintaining links with community, non-profit and government organizations to ensure a coordinated approach to prevention programming. Publications include print and audio visual resources including brochures, fact sheets, resource kits, posters, videos, and a newsletter Prevention Post. A resource catalog is also available.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Alcoholism, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Child safety, Children, Drugs, Injury prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Tobacco