Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 3 (3 total).

National Agricultural Library (NAL)

Annotation: The National Agricultural Library (NAL), created as the library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 1862 and designated a national library in 1962, works to increase the availability and use of current and accurate agricultural information among researchers, educators, policymakers, and consumers. Services include specialized information centers, a research collection, the AGRICOLA database, a food and nutrition information center, and publications.

Keywords: Agricultural safety, Libraries, Library services, Online Databases

National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety

Annotation: The National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety (NCCRAHS) strives to enhance the health and safety of all children exposed to hazards associated with agricultural work an rural environments. The center provides guidance for childhood injury prevention programs in both private and public sectors; guides and supports efforts in identifying potential interventions to protect children from agricultural hazards; and convenes consensus development sessions to address complex or controversial issues in childhood injury prevention. The center addresses rural recreational safety including horses and ATVs; provides technical assistance and training to professionals on youth safety issues; and collaborates with major agricultural organizations, health and safety professionals and youth-serving groups. A variety of reports, fact sheets, guidelines, and other electronic resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Child safety, Information services, Policy development, Public policy, Publications, Resource centers, Rural health, Technical assistance, Training

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.