Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: Children Awaiting Parents (CAP) is a national, not-for-profit organization that recruits foster and adoptive families for special needs children who have been waiting the longest for permanent families. CAP serves older and minority children who may have mental, physical and/or emotional disabilities. Photos and narratives of waiting children are posted on the Web site and also provided in The CAP Book, a printed, national photolisting of adoptable children with special needs. The organization also provides a CAP Book CD, featuring national and state contact information, home study procedures, and adoption success stories. The Web site provides pre- and post-adoptive information for prospective parents, as well as registration and other placement assistance for caseworkers. CAP has initiated a program called Faith in Children, a special adoption recruitment campaign to reach out to the community through faith-based organizations and also served as a founding board member of Voice for Adoption, a coalition of 78 special needs adoption organizations, professionals and child welfare advocates addressing the needs of waiting children throughout the United States. In addition, CAP coordinates the Foster/Adoption Network-FAN, which recruits New York State foster and adoptive parents for children with special needs and is comprised of 18 public and private agencies in upstate New York.

Keywords: Information sources, Adoption, Adoptive parents, Affective disorders, Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster parents, Psychological needs, Recruitment

Annotation: Emotions Anonymous (EA) is a non-profit international 12-step program that was adapted from the Alcoholics Anonymous model and provides assistance to people seeking emotional health. EA support groups meet for the purpose of mutual help, sharing of experiences, strength, and hope, while working toward the recovery of emotional difficulties. The program has been successful for individuals experiencing anger, depression, low self-esteem, phobias, worry, tension, and other behavioral problems. EA provides referrals to groups and publishes a newsletter and catalog of available materials. Materials are available in Swedish, Japanese, German, and French through other outlets.

Keywords: Mental health, Affective disorders, Depression, Emotional instability, Health, Mental health programs, Support groups

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Technical Assistance Center (NTAC) for Children's Mental Health works in partnership with families and leaders across the country to transform systems and services for children, adolescents, and young adults who have, or are at risk for, mental health problems and their families. The center works with states, tribes, territories, and communities to build and sustain comprehensive service delivery systems using a variety of strategies adapted to the unique needs of each audience. The website provides information on the center's activities (technical assistance and training) and resources (webinars, publications and products, and partner organizations).

Keywords: Mental Health, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, High risk Adolescents, Mental disorders, Technical assistance

Annotation: The PACER Center is a parent training and information center for families of children and youth with all disabilities from birth through 21 years old. Located in Minneapolis, PACER provides information, support, workshops, and referrals to families and professionals in Minnesota and across the country. The organization sponsors conferences, produces a variety of publications (with some materials available in Spanish and Asian languages), and develops and develops specialized websites. PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center provides resources designed to benefit all students, including those with disabilities.

Keywords: Assistive devices, Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Children, Disabilities, Family resource centers, Mainstreaming, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Special education, Supported employment, Training, Transitions, Young children

Annotation: The mission of the Perinatal Foundation is to secure and provide resources to improve the health of babies, mothers, and families from preconception to early childhood. The foundation pursues this mission by identifying current and emerging needs across the spectrum of perinatal health concerns, and awarding grants in support of research, education, and model projects to meet those needs; working collaboratively with the Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care to promote and implement effective perinatal practices; and building and managing the endowment fund that makes the foundation’s work possible. A major focus of the foundation is perinatal mood disorders. The foundation works within the state of Wisconsin.

Keywords: Perinatal health, Affective disorders, Depression, State initiatives, Wisconsin

Annotation: The Research and Training Center on Family Support and Children's Mental Health serves as a resource center for individuals and organizations working on behalf of children and youth with emotional/behavioral disorders and their families. Services to consumers include resource ideas, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center's research, training, and technical assistance activities are guided by the philosophy that services should be community-based, family-centered and youth-guided, and culturally appropriate. The Center also maintains RTCUpdates, a monthly e-newsletter; publishes Focal Point, a twice-yearly journal; disseminates Data Trends, periodic summaries of current children's mental health research; and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Clearinghouses, Mental health, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children (TACSEI) takes the research that shows which practices improve the social-emotional outcomes for young children with, or at risk for, delays or disabilities and creates products and resources to help decision-makers, caregivers, and service providers apply these best practices in the work they do every day. Resources available on the website include articles, papers, workshops, presentations, videos, and other materials and tools. The site also provides information on individualized interventions, systems and procedures, and the pyramid model for supporting social emotional competence in infants and young children. TACSEI is a five-year grant made possible by the U.S. Department of Education.

Keywords: Psychosocial development, Affective disorders, Emotional development, Mental health, Resource centers, Technical assistance centers, Young children

Annotation: The Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health (TA Partnership) operates under contract with the federal Center for Mental Health Services to provide technical assistance to system of care communities funded by the Comprehensive Community Mental Health Services for Children and Their Families Program. The mission of the TA Partnership is to support communities in their efforts to successfully develop and implement local systems of care. The partnership assists with developing a broad array of community-based, strength-based services to improve outcomes for children with serious emotional disturbance, using resource specialists, regional technical assistance coordinators, a consultant pool, team learning centers, meetings, Web-based seminars, and Web site. TA is provided mainly through contact at meetings, telephone calls, and e-mail.

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Community based servcies, Service delivery systems, Technical assistance

Annotation: Established in 1984, the Research and Training Center for Children's Mental Health (RTCCMH) works to improve services for children and adolescents with serious emotional disturbances and their families, primarily those who receive services through public mental health or public education systems or through funding from public agencies. The center conducts multidisciplinary research, synthesizes and disseminates existing knowledge, provides training and consultation, and serves as a resource for policymakers, researchers, parents, and advocates. Publications include research reports, annotated bibliographies, conference proceedings, and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. Since 1986, the center has hosted an annual research conference in the Tampa Bay, FL area.

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Children, Families, Mental disorders, Mental health