Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The American Health Care Association (AHCA) advocates for quality in long-term health care for elderly and disabled individuals. AHCA represents the long term care community to government, business leaders, and the general public, and works to effect change in the long term care field, providing information, education, and administrative tools designed to enhance quality on many levels. Web resources include consumer materials.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Older adults, Advocacy, Allied health professional education, Disabled, Long term care, Policy development, Research

Annotation: Connecticut's Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education provides programs and services for students to assess, protect, and promote health; administers federal grants for child and school nutrition programs; and provides adult education instructional programs predominately through local school districts and various community and faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult education, Child health, Connecticut, Nutrition programs, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: Established in 1984, Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy (FSMA) is a national organization that funds for research and promotes public awareness of Werdnig-Hoffmann disease, Kugelberg-Welander disease, and Aran-Duchenne adult progressive spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). Services include a referral system (in conjunction with the national SMA registry at Indiana University), a parent network, an equipment pool, and a resource library of print and audiovisual materials. Publications include a quarterly newsletter. The organization provides materials in Spanish and French. FSMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Aran-Duchenne type (Adult progressive spinal muscular atrophy), Benign congenital hypotonia, Kugelberg-Welander disease, Neuromuscular diseases, Patient identification, Research, Education, Spinal muscular atrophy, Werdnig-Hoffmann disease

Annotation: The Health and Literacy Special Collection supports the integration of health and literacy education on adult basic education programs and health literacy awareness in health care settings. The collection also strives to provide direct access to easy-to-read health information , and health resources in languages other than English. The Web site includes links to online listings of health information in 27 different languages: Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Croatian, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer/Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Non English language materials, Adult education, Health education, Health literacy, Literacy education

Annotation: McMillen Health provides preventive health education that promotes physical, emotional, and social well-being. The website provides information about programs for children, adolescents, and adults; curriculum including custom options; and media services including videos and text messaging.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Curricula, Curriculum development, Education programs, Health education, Health programs, Multimedia

Annotation: The National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy (NCSALL) is a collaborative effort between the Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE) and World Education. NCSALL is funded by the U.S. Department of Education through its Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). The goal of NCSALL is to help the field of adult basic education define a research agenda; to pursue basic and applied research under that agenda; to build partnerships between researchers and practitioners; and to disseminate research and best practices to practitioners, scholars, and policy makers. NCSALL supports the goals of OERI's Postsecondary Education, Libraries, and Lifelong Learning Institute.

Keywords: Literacy, Adult education, Literacy education, Research

Annotation: The National Institute for Literacy (NIFL) was created by the National Literacy Act of 1991. NIFL serves as a focal point for public and private activities that support the development of regional, sate, and national literacy services. The goal of NIFL is to ensure that all Americans with literacy needs have access to services that can help them. NIFL provides LINCS, an Internet-based information retrieval and and communication system. The institute promotes adult literacy through a long-term initiative, Equipped for the Future. NIFL supports a national literacy hotline that provides callers with information about adult and family literacy services in their communities. NIFL also makes a variety of publications available in print and online.

Keywords: Literacy, Adult education, Health literacy, Literacy education

Annotation: The Youth Transition Funders Group is a network of grantmakers whose mission is to help all youth make a successful transition to adulthood by age 25. Goals include five critical outcomes: educational achievement in preparation for career and community participation, including a high school diploma, postsecondary degree and/or vocational certificate training; gainful employment and/or access to career training to achieve life-long economic success; connections to a positive support system - namely, guidance from family members and caring adults, as well as access to health, counseling and mental health services; the ability to be a responsible and nurturing parent; and the capacity to participate in the civic life of the community.

Keywords: Adolescents, Educational attainment, High risk adolescents, Parent support services, Social support, Transition to independent living, Young adults, Youth in transition