Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: Answer at Rutgers University, formerly the Network for Family Life Education, specializes in training adults to deliver effective sexuality-education programs to children and youth. It provides resources, advocacy, training and technical assistance in support of age-appropriate, balanced, comprehensive sexuality education. Answer's Web site, Sex, Etc., is about teens for teens, and covers girls' health; guys' health; sex; love and relationships; gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, transgender, questioning, and intersex youth; deciding about sex; birth control and condoms; sexually transmitted diseases; pregnancy; teen parenting; abortion; adoption; emotional health; abuse and violence; body image; and alcohol and drugs.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Children's Aid Society (CAS) Carrera Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Prevention Program (developed under the direction of the Bernice and Milton Stern National Adolescent Sexuality Training Center) serves as a primary pregnancy prevention model that uses a holistic aproach to help adolescents develop personal goals while increasing their sexual literacy and knowledge about the consequences of sexual activity. The program, which has been replicated across in states across the country, emphasizes the importance of education and employment. The Web site provides links to additional resources on sexuality education and adolescentr pregnancy prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Family relations, Parent education, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Future of Sex Education Project (FoSE) began in July 2007 when staff from Advocates for Youth, Answer and SIECUS first met to discuss the future of sex education in the United States. At the time, each organization was looking ahead to the possibility of a future without federal abstinence-only-until-marriage funding and simultaneously found themselves exploring the question of how best to advance comprehensive sexuality education in schools. In May of 2008, Advocates, Answer and SIECUS formalized these discussions with funding from the Ford, George Gund and Grove Foundations, and the FoSE Project was launched.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Family life education, Psychosexual development, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent and Family Studies (formlerly the Center for Adolescent Studies) at Indiana University works to further the understanding of the psychological, biological and social features of normal adolescence. The center functions as a resource center for educators, health practitioners, parents and researchers by providing electronic guides to Web resources on health related topics such as violence prevention, depression, eating disorders, alcohol and drug abuse, sexuality, and AIDS. It also provides links to research conducted by the Indiana University School of Education on adolescent issues, resources for teachers focusing on the social and emotional growth of students, and information on upcoming conferences. Links to Youth Service America, a youth volunteer service project, and the Starbright Foundation, which addresses the psychosocial issues surrounding youth with chronic illnesses, are also provided.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The website provides an A-to-Z guide to health information and services, which can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Center for Sex Education is the national education division of Planned Parenthood of Central and Greater Northern New Jersey. The center provides three core services in sexuality education: publishing sexuality education manuals, hosting the National Sex Ed Conference, and providing membership services through the Sex Ed Network, an online resource that allows access to downloadable lesson plans and the American Journal of Sexuality Education. The center also has a store and a blog, Sexually Smarter.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Program Archive on Sexuality, Health, and Adolescence (PASHA), funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development and the Office of Adolescent Health in the Department of Health and Human Services, is a collection of effective program replication kits designed to reduce adolescent pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (including HIV and AIDS) in adolescents. Each kit includes materials needed to implement and evaluate the intervention. PASHA's website includes a search assistant for finding programs, an overview table of replication kits, scientific papers related to the collection, and program selection criteria.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Diffusion of innovation, Health behavior, Model programs, Program evaluation, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: Sociometrics Corporation's Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP) includes studies focused on adolescent sexual health issues. Studies address a variety of topics including the incidence, prevalence, antecedents, and consequences of adolescent pregnancy and family planning; and behavioral factors related to sexually transmitted infections.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Data, Family planning, Health behavior, Outcome and process assessment, Predisposing factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Surveys