Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC) serves as a statewide clearinghouse and network for adolescent pregnancy prevention resources and helps local communities to develop prevention councils. The coalition maintains a library and resource center of more than 1,000 pamphlets, brochures, films, videotapes, curricula, national and state reports, and other materials on adolescent pregnancy issues. Services to consumers also include referrals. APPCNC sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a catalog and newsletter. It also provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Coalition, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Referals, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: Answer at Rutgers University, formerly the Network for Family Life Education, specializes in training adults to deliver effective sexuality-education programs to children and youth. It provides resources, advocacy, training and technical assistance in support of age-appropriate, balanced, comprehensive sexuality education. Answer's Web site, Sex, Etc., is about teens for teens, and covers girls' health; guys' health; sex; love and relationships; gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, transgender, questioning, and intersex youth; deciding about sex; birth control and condoms; sexually transmitted diseases; pregnancy; teen parenting; abortion; adoption; emotional health; abuse and violence; body image; and alcohol and drugs.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Association of Reproductive Health Professionals (ARHP) educates health professionals across disciplines and specialties. ARHP produces accredited programs for health professionals across a range of reproductive health topics. The website provides information on policy and advocacy, publications and resources, news, and other services.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Schriver National Center for Community of Caring is a K-12, whole-school, comprehensive character education program designed to create a positive learning environment where all students, including those with intellectual and physical disabilities, are respected, challenged to grow morally, taught to make healthy life decisions, and encouraged to participate in every aspect of school life. Through this, the program addresses destructive attitudes that lead to substance abuse, teen pregnancy, , and dropping out of school. The program includes (1) training teachers and other staff, (2) incorporating the values of caring, respect, responsibility, trust, and family into all curricular areas, (3) conducting student forums on issues vital to young people, (4) involving the family and community more fully in school life, and (5) providing opportunities for students to plan and carry out community service projects. The program sponsors a national conference and publishes a newsletter and training materials. It was founded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver and the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Character, Community programs, Mental retardation, Moral values, Prevention programs, Social values, Special health care needs

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Annotation: The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY), formerly the National Clearinghouse on Runaway and Homeless Youth, was established by the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) to serve as a central resource on youth and family policy and practice. FYSB is the lead agency on youth and family issues within the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCFY produces technical assistance materials on youth and family programming; operates an information line through which practitioners, policymakers, and the general public can access information on youth and family issues; and distributes materials at conferences and training events.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: The National Network for Youth, formerly National Network of Runaway and Youth Services, is a nonprofit membership organization with over 700 members. Through regional and state network affiliates, the National Network represents over 1,500 constituents, primarily community-based youth serving agencies. The National Network's mission is to ensure that young people are safe and grow up to lead healthy and productive lives. The driving force of the network in achieving its mission is Community Youth Development (CYD). CYD is an approach that models best practices in youth work and focuses on lifelong learning in which youth develop skills and competencies to be contributing members to their communities and societies. Activities include advocacy and public education promoting youth /adult partnerships, and strengthening staff and community-based organization capacity, to provide effective programs to runaway, homeless, and other youth in high-risk situations. Also provided are training and technical assistance in a wide variety of areas including the professional development of youth workers, youth leadership, peer education, HIV/AIDS, grant writing, and community and youth development. The National Network for Youth is a sponsoring member of the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children. Publications include two newsletters, Network News and Policy Reporter; a journal, CYD Journal: Community Youth Development and a variety of issue briefs, fact sheets and bibliographies. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: Power to Decide, previously the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unpllanned Pregnancy (NCPTUP), founded in 1996 as the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization which seeks to improve the well-being of children, youth, and families through reducing the rate of adolescent pregnancy by one third by the year 2005. In 2008, the mission was expanded to include unplanned pregnancies among 20-somethings. Resources for professionals include fact sheets, statistical compilations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and individual state data on adolescent pregnancy and adolescent pregnancy prevention. Services to consumers include publications addressed to parents, adolescents, and faith communities. Press releases are also provided to the media. The campaign has a resource bureau that fills requests for speakers, consultants, key contacts in each state, publications, and other resources; some materials are available in Spanish. The name was changed in December 2017.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Statistics, Young adults

Annotation: A regional public-private partnership, the Regional Health Alliance (RHA) works to improve the community's health in the Calhoun County region in Michigan. The RHA researches health problems, prioritizes health issues, sets indicator targets for the year 2010, benchmarks progress in achieving objectives, identifies resources, encourages and assists in the development of a coordinated regional health plan, serves as a catalyst for positive change in the health care arena, measures the impact of Regional Health Alliance (RHA) initiatives, fosters collaborations, and initiates projects to promote the health of the community. Utilizing a wholistic definition of health, the RHA utilizes preventive and indicator-driven approaches to improve health care access, to decrease chronic disease, and to meet specific health indicator targets by 2010. Issue action groups focus on access to care, maternal and infant health, school wellness program advisory, obesity reduction and regular physical activity, and adolescent pregnancy prevention. It is funded by the Battle Creek Community Foundation.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal and child health, Michigan, Obesity, Prevention services, Public health, Public private partnerships, School health

Annotation: The South Carolina Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (SC Campaign) was founded in 1994 to combat increasingly high rates of teen pregnancy in all 46 counties in the state. Through mission based focus areas of training & technical assistance, public awareness & advocacy and research & evaluation; the objective is to build the capacity of local communities to address teen pregnancy within their own neighborhoods. Staff instructs and assists community leaders to help teens make smarter decisions about reproductive health, trains youth-serving professionals, initiates communication within families, and advocates for grassroots programs that will educate and empower teens. SC Campaign's campaign website, Not Right Now, provides information for teens and parents.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Prevention services, South Carolina, Training, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: The Teen Pregnancy Prevention Resource Center is an online collection of federal training materials and resources for professionals working to reduce teen pregnancy. Included are skill-building materials, direct service resources, podcasts, webinars, and e-learning modules. Topics covered include reproductive health, mental health, relationships, physical health, substance abuse, and health care access (as these relate to teen pregnancy). The site also provides a calendar of pregnancy prevention events and observances; links to Office of Adolescent Health pregnancy prevention grantees; and a searchable database of evidence-based teen pregnancy prevention programs.

Keywords: Resource centers, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services coordinates adolescent health promotion and disease prevention programs and initiatives across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OAH collects and disseminates information on adolescent health to the public and to health professionals. It implements a discretionary grant program to support evidence-based teen pregnancy prevention approaches and administers the Pregnancy Assistance Fund under the Affordable Care Act, which funds states and Tribes to provide pregnant and parenting adolescents and women with a seamless network of supportive services to help them complete high school or postsecondary degrees and gain access to health care, child care, family housing, and other critical support.

Keywords: Adolescent Pregnancy, Adolescent health, Prevention services

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP) grant program is an evidence-based initiative to reduce adolescent pregnancy, HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases, and risky sexual behavior among adolescents by working in concert with closely aligned programs supported by other federal agencies. OAH funds replications of program models from the U.S. Health and Human Services Teen Pregnancy Prevention Evidence Review. OAH also funds TPP research and demonstration programs and provides funds for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to implement and test community-wide approaches to TPP.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Dating, Delayed childbearing, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, Financial support, Health behavior, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Reproductive health, Research, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: The West Virginia Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Initiative (APPI) provides development, oversight and coordination of adolescent pregnancy prevention activities. A focus area within the Family Planning Program, the goal of APPI is to reduce the number of pregnancies among adolescent through improved decision making, abstinence, or access to contraceptive services. This statewide initiative provides Pregnancy Prevention Specialists who work to increase public awareness of problems associated with early sexual activity and childbearing and collaborate with existing community organizations to promote local activities for adolescent pregnancy prevention. Educational presentations are available for classrooms, community groups, faith organizations and parents on adolescent pregnancy prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, State agencies, West Virginia