Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (28 total).

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Institutes for Research, Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Building Bridges Initiative (BBI)

Annotation: The Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) identifies and promotes practice and policy initiatives that will create strong and closely coordinated partnerships and collaborations between families, youth, community- and residentially-based treatment and service providers, advocates and policymakers to ensure that comprehensive services and supports are family-driven, youth-guided, strength-based, culturally and linguistically competent, individualized, evidence- and practice-informed, and consistent with the research on sustained positive outcomes.

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Mental health services, Parent professional relations

Center for Mental Health in Schools

Annotation: The mission of the Center for Mental Health in Schools at UCLA is to improve outcomes for young people by enhancing policies, programs, and practices for addressing barriers to learning and promoting the field of mental health in schools. Through collaboration, the center focuses on enhancing practitioner roles, functions, and competence; interfacing with systemic reform movements; assisting localities in building and maintaining their own infrastructure for training, support, and continuing education; and weaving together school and community resources that foster comprehensive, integrated approaches to healthy development. The center sponsors the national initiative New Directions for Student Support, designed to revolutionize what schools do to address barriers to learning and teaching.The center is funded in part by the Office of Adolescent Health, Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The center publishes newsletters and reports, maintains an open listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Needs assessment, Resource centers, School health, Technical assistance, Training

Center for Mississippi Health Policy

Annotation: The Center for Mississippi Health Policy serves as a catalyst for health policy debate, provides information to policymakers and the general public and communicates research findings that will stimulate dialogue and inform decision-making. It is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan organization.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Health policy, Mental health, Mississippi

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Do It Now Foundation (DIN)

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

Eunice Kennedy Schriver National Center for Community of Caring

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Schriver National Center for Community of Caring is a K-12, whole-school, comprehensive character education program designed to create a positive learning environment where all students, including those with intellectual and physical disabilities, are respected, challenged to grow morally, taught to make healthy life decisions, and encouraged to participate in every aspect of school life. Through this, the program addresses destructive attitudes that lead to substance abuse, teen pregnancy, , and dropping out of school. The program includes (1) training teachers and other staff, (2) incorporating the values of caring, respect, responsibility, trust, and family into all curricular areas, (3) conducting student forums on issues vital to young people, (4) involving the family and community more fully in school life, and (5) providing opportunities for students to plan and carry out community service projects. The program sponsors a national conference and publishes a newsletter and training materials. It was founded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver and the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Character, Community programs, Mental retardation, Moral values, Prevention programs, Social values, Special health care needs

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association (FREDLA)

Annotation: The Family-Run Executive Director Leadership Association provides trainings, publications, and other resources for family-run organizations, including policies, standards, core competencies, for the fields of children's mental health, non-profit leadership, policy, the needs of children, youth, and families, the support of organizations and systems that serve them, and more.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral health, Children, Families, Mental health, Organizations, Youth

Indiana University, Center for Adolescent and Family Studies

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent and Family Studies (formlerly the Center for Adolescent Studies) at Indiana University works to further the understanding of the psychological, biological and social features of normal adolescence. The center functions as a resource center for educators, health practitioners, parents and researchers by providing electronic guides to Web resources on health related topics such as violence prevention, depression, eating disorders, alcohol and drug abuse, sexuality, and AIDS. It also provides links to research conducted by the Indiana University School of Education on adolescent issues, resources for teachers focusing on the social and emotional growth of students, and information on upcoming conferences. Links to Youth Service America, a youth volunteer service project, and the Starbright Foundation, which addresses the psychosocial issues surrounding youth with chronic illnesses, are also provided.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Violence prevention

Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI)

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Mental Health America

Annotation: Formerly known as the National Mental Health Association, Mental Health America is a voluntary advocacy organization concerned with all aspects of mental health and mental illness. The association provides information on a broad range of mental illnesses and related issues through descriptions of programs and other resources to prevent mental-emotional disability. It also has a grassroots education initiative on children's mental health called Children's Mental Health Matters and promotes Children's Depression Awareness Day. Mental Health America offers information, referrals and publications, including a newsletter and a resource catalog through its resource center. Materials are available in Spanish. The association also provides public education, research, and advocacy services and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Advocacy, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Program descriptions, Publications, Spanish language materials

National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ)

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

National Center for Youth Issues (NCYI)

Annotation: The National Center for Youth Issues aspires to be America’s premier clearinghouse for resource materials, training and support services to advance the psychosocial, emotional, physical, character, and life-skill capacities of today's children and youth. It provides materials for elementary, middle, and high schools in a breadth of topics including counseling, bullying, character education, social and life skills, anger and conflict, substance abuse, learning disabilities, and grief and depression.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Mental health, Social behavior

National Council on Gender (NCG)

Annotation: The National Council on Gender (NCG) elevates awareness of the importance of transforming gender norms across a wide range of social issues. The council comprises researchers, non-profit organizations, policymakers, and philanthropic institutions. The website provides information on the principles that guide the council's work and membership; the council's mission, goals, values, and priorities; what the council does to promote gender transformative policies and programs; membership organizations, agencies, and individuals; definitions of common gender words and terminology; recommended gender informed programs; recent reports on policies and programs by major agencies; and a training presentation on gender norms.

Keywords: Adolescents, Mental health, Relationships, Sexual identity, Social bias, Social change, Young men, Young women

National Federation of Families for Children's Mental Health (FFCMH)

Annotation: The National Federation of Families for Children's Mental Health is a national parent-run organization focusing on the needs of children and youth with emotional, behavioral, or mental disorders and their families. The federation advocates for research, prevention, early intervention, family support, education, transition services, and other services needed by these children and youth and their families. Publications (a newsletter) are available to consumers, and some resources are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Families, Mental health, Parent groups, Youth

National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health (NTAC)

Annotation: The National Technical Assistance Center (NTAC) for Children's Mental Health works in partnership with families and leaders across the country to transform systems and services for children, adolescents, and young adults who have, or are at risk for, mental health problems and their families. The center works with states, tribes, territories, and communities to build and sustain comprehensive service delivery systems using a variety of strategies adapted to the unique needs of each audience. The website provides information on the center's activities (technical assistance and training) and resources (webinars, publications and products, and partner organizations).

Keywords: Mental Health, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, High risk Adolescents, Mental disorders, Technical assistance

New York University Child Study Center

Annotation: The NYU Child Study Center offers science-based, research-driven psychiatric care to children and adolescents with learning, behavior and emotional disorders. Research initiatives advance the understanding of the causes and treatments of child mental disorders, and these findings are then integrated into clinical care to provide state-of-the-art service. Outreach programs translate scientific research into everyday skills for parents and educators and into practical applications for pediatricians and mental health professionals around the country. Advanced training efforts prepare the next generation of mental health professionals to meet the demands of a complex and expanding field and help ensure that tomorrow's children will continue to benefit from the translation of research into advanced clinical care and effective treatments.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child psychiatry, Children, Mental health services, New York

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.