Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

Annotation: The American College Health Association (ACHA) was founded in 1920 to promote excellence in college health by setting standards and providing quality health programs and services to colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Membership is open to all post secondary educational institutions and to individuals—health professionals as well as students—dedicated to health promotion on their campuses. ACHA represents more than 900 member institutions and more than 2,400 individual members.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Colleges, School health programs

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: The American School Health Association (ASHA), founded in 1927, is an interdisciplinary professional membership association whose members include nurses, physicians, teachers, physical educators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, administrators, health educators, health coordinators, nutritionists, and others all advocating for high-quality school health instruction, health services, and a healthful school environment. ASHA's mission is to protect and promote the health of children and youth by supporting coordinated school health programs as a foundation for school success. The association hosts a listservice and publishes The Journal of School Health (subscription with membership), Health in Action (a practitioners publication), and the Pulse newsletter. ASHA information, membership application, publications, annual conference, application for conference presentations, student scholarship, and workshops are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, School health programs, School health services, Professional societies, School health

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Annotation: Connecticut's Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education provides programs and services for students to assess, protect, and promote health; administers federal grants for child and school nutrition programs; and provides adult education instructional programs predominately through local school districts and various community and faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult education, Child health, Connecticut, Nutrition programs, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonprofit organization of the public officials who head the departments of elementary and secondary education in states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five extra-state jurisdictions including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Activities of the Council's School Health Project include providing information about HIV education, school-based pregnancy prevention, successful collaboration, and other coordinated school health programs. Publications include newsletters and reports (many can be downloaded free of charge). The Directory of Coordinated School Health Program Staff (jointly published by CCSSO, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, and and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation) is a state-by-state listing of staff in state education and health agencies whose responsibilities are related to health education, physical education, counseling and psychological services, parent/community involvement, and other aspects of school health. Copies of the directory may be ordered through the Publications section of tthe CCSSO Web site

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Health education, Listservs, Prevention programs, School personnel

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Schriver National Center for Community of Caring is a K-12, whole-school, comprehensive character education program designed to create a positive learning environment where all students, including those with intellectual and physical disabilities, are respected, challenged to grow morally, taught to make healthy life decisions, and encouraged to participate in every aspect of school life. Through this, the program addresses destructive attitudes that lead to substance abuse, teen pregnancy, , and dropping out of school. The program includes (1) training teachers and other staff, (2) incorporating the values of caring, respect, responsibility, trust, and family into all curricular areas, (3) conducting student forums on issues vital to young people, (4) involving the family and community more fully in school life, and (5) providing opportunities for students to plan and carry out community service projects. The program sponsors a national conference and publishes a newsletter and training materials. It was founded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver and the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Character, Community programs, Mental retardation, Moral values, Prevention programs, Social values, Special health care needs

Annotation: Girls Incorporated has developed several programs and curricula to promote the health of girls and young women, including Friendly PEERsuasion and Preventing Adolescent Pregnancy. Programs may be licensed to youth-serving agencies. The Girls Incorporated National Resource Center furnishes research materials to organizations, individuals, and the media. The resource center is located at 441 West Michigan Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202; (317) 634-7546. The organization provides publications to consumers.

Keywords: Advocacy, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Curricula, Health promotion, Peer education, Peer support programs, Women

Annotation: The Illinois Department of Public Health School Health Program provides technical assistance and training to Illinois school health personnel serving school age children including communication about current health requirements, communicable and infectious disease issues, current practices in management of acute and chronic disease, education and grant opportunities, changes in public health rule and law, and resources available through state agencies. The program also monitors compliance among 63 certified school health centers operating in Illinois. The website provides information about the program's email list and School Health Days Conference.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Grants, Illinois, Preventive health services, School linked programs

Annotation: The KC KIDS 2008 program provides dental care coverage at no cost to children who qualify: (1) live in King County, Washington, (2) under the age of 20, (3) income meets program guidelines, and (4) have no other dental coverage. KC KIDS is a King County children's oral health pilot program, supported by a $1 Million gift from Washington Dental Service in partnership with King County Executive Ron Sims' Children's Health Initiative.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Local programs, Oral health, Uninsured persons, Washington

Annotation: Kids as Self Advocates (KASA), a project of Family Voices co-sponsored by the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund and the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), is a national network made up of adolescents with special health care needs and their families and friends. KASA's mission is to educate society about issues concerning youth with disabilities and special health care needs and works to empower youth to learn how to self-advocate. KASA also assists with building support networks for youth with special needs to share information with their peers. Members of KASA serve as youth advisors to Family Voices and work to educate policymakers, medical students, physicians, and fellow students on issues such as living with special health care needs, health care transition, education, and employment. The organization publishes a newsletter, sponsors a listservice and an electronic bulletin board and offers payment to youth for Web site contributions. KASA also operates the KASA National Youth Information, Training, and Resource Center with funding from the Administration on Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Listservs, Peer education, Peer support programs

Annotation: The Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health works to promote strategies, policies and systems to improve the health of adolescents in the state of Minnesota through providing program and policy support to the youth-serving community. The institute, located within the University of Minnesota's Center for Adolescent Health and Development, serves as a point of access to new research and to subject specialists in adolescent health both at the University of Minnesota and in the community. Programmatic information and tools are provided for use at the state and local level. Publications offered include research papers and policy briefs. The institute's Web site includes definitions of terminology and links to numerous organizations related to adolescent health.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent health professionals, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent health promotion, Health policy, Model programs

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Annotation: McMillen Health provides preventive health education that promotes physical, emotional, and social well-being. The website provides information about programs for children, adolescents, and adults; curriculum including custom options; and media services including videos and text messaging.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Curricula, Curriculum development, Education programs, Health education, Health programs, Multimedia

Annotation: The Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Prevention and Parenting and, offers information about adolescent pregnancy prevention and teen parent programs, coalitions, and experts in Minnesota. The InfoExchange has resources on community collaboration around adolescent pregnancy and distributes "InfoPacks," topic specific packets of statistics, research, and program development materials. MOAPPP sponsors training seminars and an annual conference and publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Adolescent pregnancy, Parent education