Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Annotation: America's Promise Alliance is devoted to creating conditions for success for all young people. Activities are framed around five promises: caring adults, safe places, a healthy start, an effective education, and opportunities to serve. Activities include partnerships, fundraising, advocacy, and leadership and career development. The alliance launched the GradNation Campaign in 2010, building on 105 dropout prevention summits convened across the country to raise awareness and inspire action. Additional resources include research publications and a parent engagement toolkit for organizations and community leaders.

Keywords: Character, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Character development, Child development, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Life skills, Youth development

Annotation: The Board on Children, Youth, and Families was created in 1993 to provide a national focal point for analysis of child and family issues in the policy arena. With the National Academy of Sciences serving as its parent organization, the Board is established under the joint aegis of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine. Overseeing a broad range of work, the Board convenes functions that foster the exchange of ideas among individuals with mutual interests, conducts large-scale studies in which experts from a range of disciplines and sectors are brought together, synthesizes research and makes recommendations on issues of national importance, and initiates shorter-term projects that examine time-sensitive issues. The work is conducted by committees with expertise pertinent to the issues under consideration. Priority areas of the board's work are: children and youth in precarious family circumstances, the social implications of the growing diversity of the childhood population, the science base for childhood interventions, and the quality of children's health care. Reference information and publications are available to consumers, and a publications order form lists all of the organizations reports. The Board also publishes a newsletter. The Board holds numerous meetings each year as well as public briefings and a regional journalists seminar designed to enhance media coverage of child, youth, and family issues.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Policy development, Youth

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Center for Latino Adolescent and Family Health (CLAFH) is a research center that investigates the role of the Latino family in shaping the development and well-being of Latino adolescents. Specifically, CLAFH seeks to: (1) foster the development, evaluation, and dissemination of evidence-based family interventions designed to prevent and/or reduce problem behaviors among Latino adolescents; (2) develop, evaluate, and disseminate family interventions for positive youth development approaches to Latino adolescent development and well-being; (3) examine issues of immigration related to the experiences of Latino families; and (4) promote the economic well-being of the Latino community. The Center serves as a link between the scientific community, Latino health and social service providers, and the broader Latino community.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Educational materials, Ethnic groups, Family centered services, Family health, Hispanic Americans, Immigration, Information centers, Research

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Annotation: The Children’s Digital Media Center (CDMC) is a five-university consortium of scholars, researchers, educators, policy-makers, and industry professionals whose goal is to shed light on how entertainment media impact the development of youth and to disseminate that information to policy makers and businesses to create a quality media environment. Funded by the National Science Foundation, CDMC is working to gain a greater understanding of how interactive digital media experiences affect children’s long-term social adjustment, academic achievement, and personal identity. A variety of related publications, including technical reports and presentation papers, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Keywords: Interactive media, Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Adolescent psychology, Child development, Child psychology, Consortia, Mass media, Research, Self concept, Social adjustment

Annotation: The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF) was founded in 1987 to promote women's equity, reproductive health, and nonviolence. Research and action programs focus on advancing the legal, social, and political equity of women with men. FMF engages in research, public policy development, public education programs, grassroots organizing, and leadership training and development. Publications include electronic news alerts and the feminist magazine, Ms.

Keywords: Women, Reproductive health, Adolescent females, Advocacy, Equal opportunities, Family planning, Feminism, Leadership training, Policy development, Public education, Research, Women', s rights

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

Annotation: The Forum for Youth Investment (the Forum) is dedicated to increasing the quality and quantity of youth investment and youth involvement by promoting a "big picture" approach to planning, research, advocacy and policy development among the broad range of organizations that help constituents and communities invest in children, youth and families. To do this, the Forum is committed to building connections, increasing capacity and tackling persistent challenges across the allied youth fields. Their Web site contains papers, articles, editorials, written and PowerPoint presentations, and other tools that have been created by Forum staff and consultants. The forum also publishes a newsletter. Forum Focus: What's Health Got to Do With It.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Policy development, Youth

Annotation: The Future of Sex Education Project (FoSE) began in July 2007 when staff from Advocates for Youth, Answer and SIECUS first met to discuss the future of sex education in the United States. At the time, each organization was looking ahead to the possibility of a future without federal abstinence-only-until-marriage funding and simultaneously found themselves exploring the question of how best to advance comprehensive sexuality education in schools. In May of 2008, Advocates, Answer and SIECUS formalized these discussions with funding from the Ford, George Gund and Grove Foundations, and the FoSE Project was launched.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Family life education, Psychosexual development, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexuality education

Annotation: Girl Scouts of the USA provides recreational and developmental activities for girls ages 5-17. The Girl Scout program focuses on encouraging girls to develop to their full potential; relate to others with increasing understanding, skill, and respect; develop a meaningful set of values to guide their actions and to provide for sound decision-making; and contribute to the improvement of society. Through the Girl Scout Research Institute, the organization conducts studies, releases information, and provides resources for the well-being and safety of girls. Information is provided in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent females, Associations, Child development, Female children, Recreation, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent and Family Studies (formlerly the Center for Adolescent Studies) at Indiana University works to further the understanding of the psychological, biological and social features of normal adolescence. The center functions as a resource center for educators, health practitioners, parents and researchers by providing electronic guides to Web resources on health related topics such as violence prevention, depression, eating disorders, alcohol and drug abuse, sexuality, and AIDS. It also provides links to research conducted by the Indiana University School of Education on adolescent issues, resources for teachers focusing on the social and emotional growth of students, and information on upcoming conferences. Links to Youth Service America, a youth volunteer service project, and the Starbright Foundation, which addresses the psychosocial issues surrounding youth with chronic illnesses, are also provided.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Institute for Youth Development (IYD) is a non-partisan, non-profit organization founded in 1996 dedicated to ensuring the best possible future for America's children by promoting positive choices and behaviors. It focuses on a comprehensive risk-avoidance message regarding majro risk behaviors amonth you, including alcohol, drugs, sex, tobacco, and violence. Current IYD projects include the Compassion Capital Fund Program (to assist faith-based and community organizations in competing for federal grants), the Abstinence Education Initiative, and Right Choices for Youth (a nationwide, multi-year initiative focused on helping youth avoid risk behaviors). The Web site provides materials for professionals, parents, and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Youth development

Annotation: Kids as Self Advocates (KASA), a project of Family Voices co-sponsored by the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund and the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), is a national network made up of adolescents with special health care needs and their families and friends. KASA's mission is to educate society about issues concerning youth with disabilities and special health care needs and works to empower youth to learn how to self-advocate. KASA also assists with building support networks for youth with special needs to share information with their peers. Members of KASA serve as youth advisors to Family Voices and work to educate policymakers, medical students, physicians, and fellow students on issues such as living with special health care needs, health care transition, education, and employment. The organization publishes a newsletter, sponsors a listservice and an electronic bulletin board and offers payment to youth for Web site contributions. KASA also operates the KASA National Youth Information, Training, and Resource Center with funding from the Administration on Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Listservs, Peer education, Peer support programs

Annotation: The Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health works to promote strategies, policies and systems to improve the health of adolescents in the state of Minnesota through providing program and policy support to the youth-serving community. The institute, located within the University of Minnesota's Center for Adolescent Health and Development, serves as a point of access to new research and to subject specialists in adolescent health both at the University of Minnesota and in the community. Programmatic information and tools are provided for use at the state and local level. Publications offered include research papers and policy briefs. The institute's Web site includes definitions of terminology and links to numerous organizations related to adolescent health.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent health professionals, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent health promotion, Health policy, Model programs

Annotation: McMillen Health provides preventive health education that promotes physical, emotional, and social well-being. The website provides information about programs for children, adolescents, and adults; curriculum including custom options; and media services including videos and text messaging.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Curricula, Curriculum development, Education programs, Health education, Health programs, Multimedia

Annotation: The National 4-H Council provides grants, sponsors awards, establishes programs and initiatives, designs and publishes curriculum and reference materials, and creates linkages fostering innovation and shared learning to advance the 4-H youth development movement, building a world in which youth and adults learn, grow, and work together as catalysts for positive change. Programs focus on afterschool activities, safety, (including ATV safety), health and wellness, environmental stewardship, youth governance, rural youth development, and family strengthening. The council partners with 4-H at all levels—national, state and local. Publications are available through an online bookstore.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Child safety, Injury prevention, Youth development

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers