Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (71 total).

100 Percent Campaign

Annotation: The 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, Children's Defense Fund, and The Children's Partnership, with primary funding from The California Endowment, was created to ensure that all of California's children obtain the health coverage they need to grow up strong and healthy.

Keywords: Health insurance, Access to health care, Child health

ABC for Health (ABC for Health)

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

America's Dentists Care Foundation, Missions of Mercy (ADCF)

Annotation: The America's Dentists Care Foundation (ADCF) supports pro bono care provided via what has been historically known as Missions of Mercy (MOM) projects in several states. The ADCF provides equipment, expertise, support, scheduling and promotion of events requested by any state's non-profit dental affiliation having the approval of the state's dental association.

Keywords: Access to health care, Oral health

American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)

Annotation: The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) advances health promotion and wellness initiatives for children and adults with disabilities. AAHD accomplishes its mission through advocacy, education, public awareness, and research efforts at the federal, state, and community levels. The website contains the Health Promotion and Wellness Resource Center for People with Disabilities, which provides abstracts, best practices, data, links, fact sheets, presentations, and state resources on primary conditions, secondary conditions, and other health and disability-related topics. Additional content includes the Disability and Health Journal, news, initiatives, a public policy center, and membership and scholarship information.

Keywords: Disabilities, Access to health care, Advocacy, Education, Information dissemination, Intervention, Prevention services, Research

American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM)

Annotation: The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) is a national specialty organization of 3,500 physicians who are concerned about alcoholism and other drug dependencies. ASAM's Goals are to improve access to care and to increase its quality and effectiveness for patients and their families. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a textbook,Principles of Addiction Medicine, practice guidelines, the Patient Placement Criteria: Second Edition (PPC-2), a quarterly journal, and a bimonthly newsletter, ASAM News. ASAM also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alcoholism, Drugs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

Boston University, Center for Research to Evaluate and Eliminate Dental Disparities (CREEDD)

Annotation: Boston University's Center for Research to Evaluate and Eliminate Dental Disparities (CREEDD) works to improve oral, dental, and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information. The center also works to eliminate oral health disparities. The center is funded is by National Institutes of Dental and Craniofacial Research as one of five national centers focused on oral health disparities, and one of three Early Childhood Caries Collaborating Centers. The website provides information about the center's investigators, projects, partners, presentations and abstracts, publications, and news.

Keywords: Access to health care, Information dissemination, Oral health, Research, Training

California Endowment

Annotation: The California Endowment is a private, statewide health foundation whose mission is to expand access to affordable, quality health care for underserved individuals and communities, and to promote fundamental improvements in the health status of all Californians. Guiding the endowment's work is a multicultural approach to health, which is defined not only by race and ethnicity, but financial status, cultural beliefs, gender, age, sexual orientation, geographic location, immigration status, and physical or mental abilities. This approach seeks to mobilize the talents, cultures and assets of California's diverse populations to improve the quality of our health systems and to promote health at the level of communities. A wide variety of publications covering topics such as access to care, mental health, cultural competence, and disparities in health can be downloaded in pdf format from the endowment's Web site.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Underserved communities, . Program improvement, Access to health care, California, Cultural competence, Foundations

Carsey Institute

Annotation: The Carsey Institute at the University of New Hampshire conducts research and analysis into the challenges facing families and communities in New Hampshire, New England, and the nation. The Carsey Institute sponsors independent, interdisciplinary research that documents trends and conditions in rural America, providing information and analysis to policymakers, practitioners, the media, and the general public. Through this work, the Carsey Institute contributes to public dialogue on policies that encourage social mobility and sustain healthy, equitable communities and strengthens nonprofits working to improve family and community well-being.

Keywords: Child health, Access to health care, Adolescent health, Families, Health care financing, MCH research, Rural health

Center for Adolescent Health and the Law

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent Health & the Law (CAHL) supports laws and policies that promote the health of adolescents and their access to comprehensive health care. The center is a national nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. The center conducts research, analyzes laws and policies, prepares and disseminates publications, provides training and technical assistance, and engages in advocacy. The center’s work addresses a broad range of issues influencing the financing, delivery, and utilization of comprehensive health services for adolescents. The center’s work falls into two primary program areas that together encompass the majority of barriers that adolescents must overcome to have access to comprehensive health care: consent and confidentiality; and financial access to services. Much of the center's work focuses on the needs of low-income and disadvantaged youth.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Confidentiality, Consent

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP)

Annotation: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues related to government programs serving low-income people. Policy issues include health and food assistance, the federal budgetary impact on low-income families, affordable housing, the working poor, income support, and tax policy. The center's state low-income initiatives project works with state-based organizations and policy makers in low-income program design issues including child health and Medicaid. The center's WIC Project focuses on the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC). The center publishes a newsletter on the WIC program; distributes reports and analyses by subscription; and maintains an open listserv. The center's Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign enlists early childhood programs and other organizations to identify children eligible for Medicaid but not enrolled in the program. The center works with these groups to implement strategies for helping families overcome barriers to Medicaid application and enrollment. Outreach materials are available. Training sessions are provided as part of the Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign.

Keywords: Health care financing, Access to health care, Child health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Poverty, Public policies, WIC program

Communities Joined in Action

Annotation: Communities Joined In Action is a campaign to help communities ensure health care access for all (as part of the movement to achieve 100% Access / 0 Disparities, started in 1998 by the U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care). A private, non-profit organization, Communities Joined In Action provides access to technical expertise, peer-mentors from model communities, coaches with first-hand experience, and experts who can help communities at every step in the process to improve access to care and eliminate health disparities. The campaign collects and provides access to profiles of communities that have successfully designed and implemented integrated health care access systems, with details on structure, outcomes, lessons learned and financing. Members receive technical assistance, coalition-building advice and expertise, and special services such as state-level assistance to help improve health access and outcomes and facilitate local efforts to integrate services to achieve better health for more people at less cost. The campaign posts numerous technical documents which can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Communities Joined In Action was created with support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Sisters of Mercy Health System, Ascension Health and the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Keywords: Community programs, Access to care, Community role, Electronic publications, Healthy people 2010, Model programs, Technical assistance, Technical reports

Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project

Annotation: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project assists community groups and health advocates in improving access to oral health care by expanding the oral health team to include dental therapists. As part of the work of the Dental Access Project, Community Catalyst is partnering with health advocates and state and tribal leaders in five states -- Kansas, Ohio, New Mexico, Washington, and Vermont -- to explore the feasibility of establishing dental therapist programs as a way to expand access to needed oral health care. The project is supported by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Oral health, Program improvement, Work force

Community Voices, Health Care for the Underserved

Annotation: Community Voices Health Care for the Underserved works to increase enrollment of eligible people into public programs and to improve health care access and quality for the underserved by providing models for change and improvement. "Learning laboratories" are based in Albuquerque, NM; Baltimore, MD; Denver, CO; Lansing, MI; Miami, FL; New York, NY; Oakland, CA; and Pinehurst, NC. Areas of focus include community outreach using frontline workers, improving access to care for men, case/care management to link people with providers and services, improving adult access to oral health, and mental health treatment.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Health care delivery, Health services delivery

Connecticut Oral Health Initiative

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)

Annotation: The Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance, formerly the National Depressive and Manic-Depressive Association is a nonprofit organization that works to educate patients, families, professionals, and the public as to the nature of depressive and manic-depressive illnesses as medical diseases; advocate for research; foster self-help for patients and families; eliminate discrimination and stigma; and improve access to care. Publications include brochures, newsletters, booklets, a bookstore catalog of more than 80 titles, and a chapter directory listing self-help groups. Some materials are available in Spanish. DBSA sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Depression, Access to health care, Advocacy, Bipolar disorder, Health education

Disability Rights Wisconsin

Annotation: Disability Rights Wisconsin (DRW) is a private non profit organization which was founded in 1977. Designated by the Governor to ensure the rights of all state citizens with disabilities through individual advocacy and system change, DRW is part of a national system of federally mandated independent disability agencies. DRW helps people across Wisconsin gain access to services and opportunity through its advocacy and legal expertise. DRW regularly challenge systems and society to create positive change and improve the lives of people with disabilities. The agency also works on disability issues with state and local governments.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Disabilities, Legal aid, Patient advocacy, State organizations, Wisconsin

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.