Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: AIDSinfo, formerly the AIDS Clinical Trials and Treatment Information Service, is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV. AIDSinfo is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. AIDS clinical trials evaluate experimental drugs and other therapies for adults and children at all stages of HIV infection -- from patients who are HIV positive with no symptoms to those with various symptoms of AIDS. As the main dissemination point for federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, AIDSinfo provides information about the current treatment regimens for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses, including the prevention of HIV transmission from occupational exposure and mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy. The website can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR), founded in 1985, is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting AIDS research, AIDS prevention and treatment education initiatives, and advocacy for sound AIDS-related public policy. The public policy program is currently engaged in efforts to secure necessary increases in funding for HIV/AIDS research, including vaccine and microbicide research; implement a comprehensive national prevention strategy, including repeal of the current ban on federal funding for syringe exchange programs; expand access to care and treatment; and protect the civil rights of all people affected by HIV/AIDS. amfAR has awarded grants to research teams worldwide. It is funded by voluntary contributions from individuals, foundation, and corporations. The foundation publishes the twice-yearly amfAR Global Link, a comprehensive source of information on HIV/AIDS treatments and clinical trials, available in paperback and in an online interactive database format at amfAR's Web site. amfAR also sponsors conferences, seminars, and "think tanks." Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , Foundations, HIV

Annotation: The Project Inform National HIV/AIDS Treatment Hotline provides referrals, printed information, and verbal information on treatments and clinical trials for people with HIV and their friends and families. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops and provides access to searchable databases. Publications include a newsletter and a list service. Spanish materials are available.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Listservs

Annotation: The San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF) works to end the HIV epidemic and to mitigate its impact on society. The foundation educates the public on prevention of HIV transmission, helps people to make informed choices about HIV-related concerns and defends the human rights of people with HIV disease. The Foundation also provides client services, for people with HIV disease in San Francisco, that include housing, financial benefits counseling, treatment advocacy and support. In cooperation with other agencies, it provides leadership in the creation of direct services, public policy initiatives, and innovative, non duplicative educational programs. The Foundation also publishes a journal. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex, Financial support, HIV, Health education, Policy development, Prevention programs, Public education, Support groups