Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is a professional membership organization for obstetrician–gynecologists. The College produces practice guidelines for health care professionals and educational materials for patients; provides practice management and career support; facilitates programs and initiatives to improve women’s health; and advocates for members and patients. Health topics of interest include pregnancy, prenatal care; childbirth, postpartum care, immunization, reproductive health, health equity, adolescent health, breastfeeding, preventive care, domestic violence, and smoking cessation, among others. Committee opinions, consensus guidelines, patient education,and online CME course work are among the materials available on the website (some free-of-charge). ACOG hosts an online store; publishes Obstetrics & Gynecology (a peer-reviewed journal), and hosts an annual conference.

Keywords: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Health education, Legislation, Obstetrics, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Vaccines, Women', s health

Annotation: The Vaccine Education Center provides comprehensive information about childhood vaccines, and the diseases they prevent, to parents and healthcare professionals. Through its Web site, videos, informational tear sheets, and speakers programs, The center seeks to dispel some of the common misconceptions and misinformation surrounding childhood vaccines. The goal is to communicate the facts about each vaccine as well as how vaccines are made, how and why vaccines work, who recommends them, whether they are safe, whether they are still necessary, and when they should be given. VEC publishes a monthly vaccine e-newsletter for parents called Parents PACK.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Vaccines, Child health, Diseases, Pediatric hospitals

Annotation: He B United is a national coalition to address the public health challenge of hepatitis B. The coalition supports and leverages the success of local community coalitions across the United States to increase hepatitis B awareness, screening, vaccination, and linkage to care for all Americans and, in particular, for high-risk populations who are disproportionately impacted. The website contains facts on hepatitis B and information on local campaigns, policy initiatives, news, events, and resources such as webinars, hangouts, trainings, campaign materials, and a speakers bureau.

Keywords: Access to care, Asian Americans, Coalitions, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Public awareness campaigns, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Annotation: The National Network for Immunization Information (NNii) provides up-to-date information for healthcare professionals, the media, policy makers, and the public on vaccines, immunization issues, and immunization science. The NNii Web site provides newsbriefs, detailed information on vaccines and the diseases they prevent (in both English and Spanish), coverage of recent issues, immunization schedules, and links to studies, public policy, and research findings. The NNii Resource Kit for Healthcare Professionals, which can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site, provides information on everything from immunization recommendations to common questions and concerns, and includes site-specific information, CDC statements, immunization schedules and contraindications. NNii is an affiliate of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and other health organizations.

Keywords: immunization, Disease prevention, Vaccines

Annotation: The National Vaccine Information Center advocates for the prevention of vaccine injuries and deaths through public education, sponsors conferences, provides information on the Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, and makes legal referrals. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Immunization, Vaccines

Annotation: Parents of Kids with Infectious Diseases (PKIDS Online) works to educate the public about infectious diseases, the methods of prevention and transmission, the latest advances in medicine, and the elimination of social stigma borne by the infected; and to assist the families of the children living with hepatitis, HIV/AIDS, or other chronic, viral infectious diseases with emotional, financial and informational support. PKIDS Online provides information for families, guidelines on protection against infection, tools and resources related to immunization and vaccination, and links to forums, listservs, live chats, newsfeeds, podcasts, and PKIDS' own blog.

Keywords: Immunization, Vaccines

Annotation: The PATH Vaccine Resource Library provides resources on immunization and vaccines, including materials for parents and adolescents, tools to assist in advocating for stronger immunization programs, training and clinical materials, publications focusing on service delivery issues, information on injection safety and immunization financing, and links to related organizations. Materials are available in some non-English languages, including Spanish and French.

Keywords: Immunization, Spanish language materials, Foreign language materials, International health, Vaccines

Annotation: The Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER) at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulates vaccine products. The Web site provides news updates on "hot topics," online access to publications such as A Parent's Guide to Kids' Vaccines, All about Vaccines, and Keeping Up with Vaccines; proceedings from CBER meetings and workshops; information on the use of preservatives in in vaccines, and links to additional information and resources covering vaccine safety, counterterrism, and pandemic influenza. Consumer information on vaccines, blood and biologics is located at http://www.fda.gov/cber.

Keywords: Drug education, Health promotion, Immunization Federal programs, Vaccines

Annotation: The Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS) is a national program that monitors the safety of vaccines after they are licensed. VAERS is managed by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The VAERS Web site provides a mechanism for reporting and analyzing data, and also provides access to downloadable immunization schedules and links to additional information sources. Information is available in Spanish.

Keywords: Immunization, Data collection, Surveillance, Vaccines

Annotation: Vaccines.gov brings together plain language resources on vaccine and immunizations.The site offers the latest vaccine recommendations, easy-to-read immunization schedules, and tools on where to find affordable vaccines. The website is managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Federal programs, Spanish language materials, Vaccines