Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

American Association of Suicidology (AAS)

Annotation: The American Association of Suicidology (AAS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to understand and prevent suicide through research, public awareness programs, and education and training for professionals and volunteers. Members include mental health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center volunteers, and survivors of suicide. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. AAS also maintains a listserv and develops public service announcements and pamphlets on suicide prevention, and members work with the media as consultants and participants in stories involving suicide-related issues. Publications include a bi-monthly journal, Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviors; a quarterly newsletter, Newslink; a quarterly newsletter, Surviving Suicide; and conference proceedings.

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Attempted suicide, Crisis intervention, Health education, Information services, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns, Suicide, Training

Forefront: Innovations in Suicide Prevention

Annotation: Forefront develops and disseminates innovative, evidence-based approaches to suicide prevention. Forefront provides trainings to peers wishing to support individuals newly bereaved by suicide, people wishing to work on state policy initiatives and who want to engage with traditional news media, health professionals, campuses and schools, communities, and groups of journalists and journalism students. Forefront is a collaboration of the University of Washington School of Social Work, Communication, School of Nursing, and College of Education.

Keywords: Communities, Health occupations, Schools, Suicide prevention, Training

National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention

Annotation: The National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention was established in 2010 as a public-private partnership advancing the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention (NSSP). The alliance champions suicide prevention as a national priority, catalyzes efforts to implement high priority objectives of the NSSP, and cultivates the resources needed to sustain progress. Activities include developing a prioritized research agenda; preparing the clinical work force to care for individuals who are suicidal; transforming health care delivery for individuals at highest risk for suicide; incorporating suicide prevention into health care reform; advancing suicide prevention for military, veterans, and their families; enhancing suicide prevention with the juvenile justice system; and promoting suicide prevention in the workplace to CEOs by developing a comprehensive business case.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health care reform, Juvenile justice, Public private partnership, Research, Suicide prevention, Training, Workplace health promotion

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Annotation: The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is part of the National Suicide Prevention Initiative (NSPI), a collaborative effort led by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) that incorporates best practices and research findings in suicide prevention and intervention with the goal of reducing the incidence of suicide nationwide. The Lifeline is a network of more than 100 local crisis centers located in communities across the country that are committed to suicide prevention. Callers to the hotline will receive suicide prevention counseling from trained staff at the closest certified crisis center in the network.

Keywords: Hotlines, Counseling , Injury prevention, Intervention, Suicide

National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center (NYVPRC)

Annotation: The National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center (NYVPRC) was established as a central source of information on prevention and intervention programs, publications, research, and statistics on violence committed by and against children and adolescents. The NYVPRC is sponsored by the White House Council on Youth Violence and is a collaboration between the Council, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and other federal agencies. The NYVPRC Web site and call center serve as a single point of access to federal information on youth violence prevention and suicide. Anyone can subscribe to the Center's listserv.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Adolescent health, Child health, Crisis intervention, Federal agencies, Information services, Information sources, Publications, Research, Suicide prevention, World Wide Web

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Screening for Mental Health

Annotation: Screening for Mental Health Inc. (SMH) is a non-profit organization that introduced the concept of large-scale mental health screenings with its flagship program National Depression Screening Day in 1991. SMH programs include both in-person and online programs for depression, bipolar disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, eating disorders, alcohol problems, and suicide prevention.

Keywords: Mental Health, Anxiety disorder, Depression, Eating disorders, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Screening, Substance abuse, Suicide prevention

Trevor Project

Annotation: The Trevor Project provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) adolescents and young adults ages 13-24. The project makes services available by telephone, chat, text, a website, and a social networking community. Services include educational workshops and trainings; a search engine for finding local, regional, and national resources; and tools and activities to supplement suicide prevention education in group or classroom settings. Health care resources, a public service campaign, and a model school policy are also presented.

Keywords: Adolescents, Crisis intervention, Homosexuality, Suicide prevention, Young adults

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Behavioral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Behavioral Health supports tribal and urban Native communities to eliminate behavioral diseases and conditions and promotes health, resilience, and strength in all communities. The Web site provides information on activities and initiatives; data; integrated behavioral health; conferences, meetings, and workshops; behavioral health job database; links; methamphetamine treatment and prevention; and suicide prevention.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Methamphetamines, Online databases, Preventive health services, Suicide prevention, Work force

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.