Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (64 total).

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

AASA, The School Superintendents' Association (AASA)

Annotation: The American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is a professional organization for educational leaders inAmerica and many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to quality public education for all children. AASA brings together administrators of school systems and educational service agencies, school district superintendents, placement officers, directors and administrators of education associations, heads of private schools, college deans and educational administration professors, and central, building, and service unit administrators. The association sponsors annual professional development through conferences. Publications include The Leader's Edge (delivered electronically) and The School Administrator, a monthly magazine

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, Education

Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK)

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Alliance for a Healthier Generation

Annotation: The Alliance for Healthier Generation works to reduce the prevalence of childhood obesity in the United States and to empower children nationwide to make healthy lifestyle choices. Founded in 2005 by the American Heart Association and the William J. Clinton Foundation, the alliance works to positively affect the places that can make a difference in a child's health: homes, schools, doctor's offices, and communities. The alliance's Healthy Schools Program supports schools across the U.S. in their efforts to create environments where physical activity and healthy eating are accessible and encouraged. The alliance also works with leading companies in the industries (food, beverage, fitness, gaming, technology, and others) to help families stay active and eat healthier. The website provides media resources, a newsletter (the Alliance Byte), and documents such as school beverage and competitive food agreements and memorandums of understanding for school meals.

Keywords: Business, Child health, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, School health

American Academy of Pediatrics, Council on School Health

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP) Council on School Health is responsible for policy statements from inception to education, implementation, advocacy, and evaluation. The council is a byproduct of the merger of the AAP Section and the Committee on School Health. The council's products include policy statements on soft drinks in schools and camp health. The council's Web site provides news and events, answers to frequently asked questions, policies, and resources for health professionals working with schools or caring for school-aged children in their practices, school personnel, and parents and other caregivers. Selected resources include Health, Mental Health, and Safety Guidelines; School Health Leadership Training Kit; Emergency Guidelines for Schools; HIPAA form for communicating with schools; pediatric school health contacts; school asthma materials; and the National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement.

Keywords: Professional societies, School health, Policy development, School age children

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

American College Health Association (ACHA)

Annotation: The American College Health Association (ACHA) was founded in 1920 to promote excellence in college health by setting standards and providing quality health programs and services to colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Membership is open to all post secondary educational institutions and to individuals—health professionals as well as students—dedicated to health promotion on their campuses. ACHA represents more than 900 member institutions and more than 2,400 individual members.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Colleges, School health programs

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

American Public Health Association, Center for School, Health and Education

Annotation: The American Public Health Association's Center for School, Health and Education advances school-based health care as a comprehensive strategy for preventing school dropout and improving graduation rates for students in kindergarten through grade 12. Through partnerships, policies and advocacy, the center links the education and public health communities to ensure that all students -- particularly those facing social inequities -- are supported to graduate. The center promotes school-based health centers as uniquely positioned to create a learning-friendly climate school-wide, increase access to physical and mental health care, and promote lifelong healthy behaviors for children and teens.

Keywords: Graduation, Health care delivery, Prevention programs, Public health, School based clinics, School dropouts

American School Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American School Health Association (ASHA), founded in 1927, is an interdisciplinary professional membership association whose members include nurses, physicians, teachers, physical educators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, administrators, health educators, health coordinators, nutritionists, and others all advocating for high-quality school health instruction, health services, and a healthful school environment. ASHA's mission is to protect and promote the health of children and youth by supporting coordinated school health programs as a foundation for school success. The association hosts a listservice and publishes The Journal of School Health (subscription with membership), Health in Action (a practitioners publication), and the Pulse newsletter. ASHA information, membership application, publications, annual conference, application for conference presentations, student scholarship, and workshops are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, School health programs, School health services, Professional societies, School health

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Annotation: The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) is a nonprofit association founded in 1876 to work for reform in medical education. The association offers advocacy services and educational programs for medical staff, including workshops, seminars, and training sessions. The association's publications provide information about member institutions and their missions. AAMC also offers publications geared to medical school applicants. The website contains a digital collectino of historical AAMC documents containing some of its earliest documentation.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Colleges, Databases, Educational change, Health education, Health personnel, History, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students

Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs (AMSPDC)

Annotation: The Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs (AMSPDC) consists of the pediatric departments chairs of accredited medical schools in the United States and Canada. The association works to foster education and research in the field of child health and human development, and with other national pediatric groups addresses issues related to pediatric education, research, and care.

Keywords: Child health, Medical schools, Pediatrics, Professional societies

Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV)

Annotation: The Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV), established in 1983, is a nonprofit education and research organization that works to educate the public about the scope of handgun violence in the United States and the risks and responsibilities of handgun ownership. The center developed the nation's first K–12 curriculum on gun violence prevention, now used in several major school systems. CPHV publishes a newsletter and provides publications and reference information for consumers; some materials are available in Spanish. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The center does not respond to individual inquiries.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Consumer education, Curricula, Firearms, Handguns, School health education, Violence prevention, Weapons

California Center for Public Health Advocacy

Annotation: The California Center for Public Health Advocacy (CCPHA) is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that raises awareness about critical public health issues and mobilizes communities to promote the establishment of effective state and local health policies. Recent work has primarily addressed the growing epidemic of childhood obesity by advocating for state and local public policies that promote healthy eating and physical activity. The center currently focuses on three main policy strategies: (1) physical education in public schools, (2) expanding access to healthy food in communities, and (3) assuring implementation of school nutrition standards. Activities also includes analyizing and publizing important health information for policy makers and the general public, supoorting community advocates in promiting local policy reforms, and keeping advocates informed about state legislation.

Keywords: , Advocacy, California, Children, Communities, Health promotion, Obesity, Pulic health, School health

Campaign for Educational Equity

Annotation: Launched in 2005, the Campaign for Educational Equity is committed to expanding and strengthening the national movement for quality public education for all by providing research-based analyses of key education policy issues. The campaign takes a comprehensive approach to educational equity, rooted in the belief that because educational inequity poses a multi-faceted challenge, any response must be equally comprehensive. In addition to widely-studied educational interventions like early childhood education, small class sizes, and high quality teaching, The campaign advocates for prudent and well-managed investments in parental involvement, children's health and other factors that affect student performance.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Educational attainment, Public education, School age children, School readiness

Center for Health and Health Care in Schools (CHHCS)

Annotation: The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools (CHHCS) specializes in researching and advancing effective school-connected programs, policies, and systems using the school location as a place-based solution for improving children's overall health and school success. CHHCS has developed a national network of leading stakeholders including researchers, practitioners, funders, and policymakers working across health, education, and family systems to facilitate communication among key experts and drive collective action. The center is a nonpartisan policy, resource, and technical assistance center located at the George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services.

Keywords: School based clinics, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services

UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Center for Mental Health in Schools

Annotation: The mission of the Center for Mental Health in Schools at UCLA is to improve outcomes for young people by enhancing policies, programs, and practices for addressing barriers to learning and promoting the field of mental health in schools. Through collaboration, the center focuses on enhancing practitioner roles, functions, and competence; interfacing with systemic reform movements; assisting localities in building and maintaining their own infrastructure for training, support, and continuing education; and weaving together school and community resources that foster comprehensive, integrated approaches to healthy development. The center sponsors the national initiative New Directions for Student Support, designed to revolutionize what schools do to address barriers to learning and teaching.The center is funded in part by the Office of Adolescent Health, Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The center publishes newsletters and reports, maintains an open listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Needs assessment, Resource centers, School health, Technical assistance, Training

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.