Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (94 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Oral Health Research and Policy Center informs and advances research and policy development that will promote optimal children's oral health and care. Activities include monitoring and reporting data, developing and implementing special projects, producing policy analysis, and conducting research.

Keywords: Children, Oral health, Public policy, Research

American Geriatrics Society (AGS)

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

American Institutes for Research (AIR)

Annotation: The American Institutes for Research conduct and apply the best behavioral and social science research and evaluation towards improving peoples’ lives, with a special emphasis on the disadvantaged. Within the United States and internationally, AIR produces improvements in education, health, and the workforce; addresses the needs of individuals, organizations, and communities; designs and advances statistical and research methods; helps practitioners and organizations to adopt evidence-based practices; and informs public understanding and policymaking by the best evidence. Topics include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education.

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Information services, Listservs, Model programs, Program development, Public policy, Research

American Medical Association (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

American Youth Policy Forum

Annotation: The American Youth Policy Forum is a nonpartisan professional development organization providing learning opportunities for policymakers working on youth issues at the local, state, and national level. A publications list is available. Forums are by invitation.

Keywords: Public policy, Adolescents, Professional educaton, Youth

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists (ASPHN)

Berkeley Media Studies Group

Annotation: The Berkeley Media Studies Group (BMSG) works with community groups, journalists and public health professionals to use the power of the media to advance healthy public policy and help people make their voices heard in a powerful public forum, and increase their participation in the democratic process. BMSG is a project of the Public Health Institute in Berkeley, California. The Public Health Institute (PHI) is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting health, well-being and quality of life for people throughout California, across the nation, and around the world. PHI houses a variety of local, statewide, national and international public health research and education projects.

Keywords: Community participation, Mass media, Public policy

Better Oral Health for Massachusetts Coalition

Annotation: The Better Oral Health for Massachusetts Coalition (BOHMAC) is a statewide organization that advocates for oral health policies to ensure that Massachusetts’ residents, especially those most vulnerable, have benefit of comprehensive oral health prevention and treatment services. The website provides information about the coalition's history, board, committees, staff, funders, and materials including the Oral Health Plan for Massachusetts. Information on coalition activities, publications, and events are included.

Keywords: Health promotion, Massachusetts, Health policy, Oral health, Policy analysis, Public policy

Brookings Institution

Annotation: The Brookings Institution is an independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, and public education with an emphasis on economics, foreign policy, governance, and metropolitan policy. Resident and nonresident scholars research issues; write books, papers, articles, and opinion pieces; testify before congressional committees; and participate in public events. Numerous reports and policy briefs can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site, while other publications can be ordering through the online bookstore.

Keywords: Research, Public policy, Legislation, Policy analysis, Public education, Publications

Brookings Institution, Center on Children and Families

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Center on Children and Families focuses on the well-being of America's children and their parents, especially those in less advantaged families. The center's research and activities are designed primarily to improve understanding of the reasons for poverty or low income, especially among working families, and the potential of various policies to improve their prospects and the life chances of their children. The center includes a partnership with Princeton University and joint publication of the journal The Future of Children.

Keywords: Research, Children, Families, Low income groups, Policy analysis, Poverty, Public policy, Working parents

Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health

Annotation: The C.S. Mott Children's Hospital National Poll on Children's Health (NPCH), located within the University of Michigan Health System's Division of General Pediatrics' Child Health Evaluation and Research Unit, measures public opinion, perceptions and priorities regarding major health care issues and trends for children in the United States. Findings from the NPCH contribute to the national dialogue on children's health and health policy issues and help to inform new policy initiatives and research ideas regarding children's health. Current issues range from insurance coverage and preventive services to health care access, obesity, smoking and substance use, screening programs, and children with special health care needs. The NPCH measures the opinions and perceptions of a nationally representative sample of approximately 2,000 U.S. households - with and without children - using an established Web-based survey technology provided by Knowledge Networks. A different sample is drawn for each poll. Each sample is subsequently weighted to reflect the latest population figures from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Keywords: Children's health, National surveys, Public opinion, Public policy

Center for Advancing Health

Annotation: The Center for the Advancement of health translates to the public the latest evidence-based research on health, health care, prevention, and chronic disease management, with an emphasis on how social, behavioral, and economic factors affect illness and well-being. The center monitors legislation, commissions reports, communicates information relevant to the translation of research to policy and practice, establishes alliances between scientists and policy makers, and convenes conferences, symposia, and task forces. The center produces and disseminates evidence summaries through the Health Behavior News Service, conducting media training for scientists, scientific training for journalists, and reporting on translation-related events. The center's publications include monthly Facts of Life issue briefings, as well as a variety of reports and workshop proceedings available from the Web site in pdf format.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Electronic publications, Health policy, Legislation, Preventive health services, Public health, Research

Center for American Progress

Annotation: The Center for American Progress is a nonpartisan research and educational institute dedicated to promoting a strong, just and free America that ensures opportunity for all. It focuses on developing a long term vision of a progressive America; providing a forum to generate new progressive ideas and policy proposals; responding effectively and rapidly to conservative proposals and rhetoric with a thoughtful critique and clear alternatives, and communicating progressive messages to the American public.

Keywords: Advocacy, Public policy

Center for Connected Health Policy (CCHP)

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.