Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (160 total).

Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities (ADPD)

Annotation: The Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities (ADPD) is a component group of the Special Care Dentistry Association that advocates on behalf of clients with special health care needs and the clinicians who serve them. ADPD facilitates peer networking and supports clinicians on issues such as access to care, education, and compensation.

Keywords: Oral health

Academy of General Dentistry (AGD)

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) serves the needs of general dentists, represents their interests, and fosters their continued proficiency through high-quality continuing dental education. The website features information about AGD's annual meeting and periodicals, AGD Impact and General Dentistry. Additional resources include (1) the SmileLine Online (Ask a Dentist) message board where consumers can post questions answered by a dentist within 24 hours; (2) the 1-877 2X-A-YEAR referral service and online directory of 35,000 member-dentists where consumers can find a dentist by city, state, or zip code, and (3) the SmileLine monthly e-newsletter. Information on selected oral health topics (for example, children's nutrition, dental sealants, choosing a dentist, and frequently asked questions about pediatric dentistry) is also provided.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Dentistry, Oral health

Academy of General Dentistry Foundation (AGDF)

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry Foundation (AGDF) is dedicated to improving the oral health of the public and supporting the efforts of the general dentist through financial support of scientific, educational, and charitable initiatives determined by the academy. The foundation funds programs such as public oral health education and continuing education for member dentists.

Keywords: Oral health

ADEAGies Foundation

Annotation: The ADEAGies Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the American Dental Education Association. The foundation enhances the oral health of the public through programs that support dental education, research, leadership, and recognition.

Keywords: Dental education, Foundations, Oral health

ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH)

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

America's Dentists Care Foundation, Missions of Mercy (ADCF)

Annotation: The America's Dentists Care Foundation (ADCF) supports pro bono care provided via what has been historically known as Missions of Mercy (MOM) projects in several states. The ADCF provides equipment, expertise, support, scheduling and promotion of events requested by any state's non-profit dental affiliation having the approval of the state's dental association.

Keywords: Access to health care, Oral health

American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD) works to improve the health of individuals with neurodevelopmental disorders and intellectual disabilities through patient care, teaching, research, and advocacy. AADMD’s website contains professional resources including articles, educational tools, and information about training opportunities.

Keywords: Oral health

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (AAOMP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (AAOMP) represents the specialty of dentistry and pathology that deals with the nature, identification, and management of diseases affecting the oral and maxillofacial regions. AAOMP addresses the causes, processes, and effects of these diseases, as well as research and diagnosis and management of disease. The website provides information for members, fellows, council, health professionals, residents, students, and the general public. Topics include the academy's annual meeting, news, continuing education, and position papers. A search tool for finding a pathologist or laboratory is also available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Oral health, Professional associations

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation (AAPD Foundation)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation supports and promotes education, research, service and policy development that advance the oral health of infants and children through adolescence, including those with special health care needs. The foundation endowment is used to assist postdoctoral students in pediatric dentistry, support research projects and fund education programs that benefit both the profession and the public.

Keywords: Oral health

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Home Resource Center

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Oral Health Research and Policy Center informs and advances research and policy development that will promote optimal children's oral health and care. Activities include monitoring and reporting data, developing and implementing special projects, producing policy analysis, and conducting research.

Keywords: Children, Oral health, Public policy, Research

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health (CDH)

Annotation: The Campaign for Dental Health (CDH) is a network of local children's and oral health advocates, health professionals, and scientists who are working together to preserve the nation's gains in oral health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Campaigns, Oral health, Public health

American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) works to improve children's oral health through communication and collaboration between the medical and dental homes, and makes pediatricians and other health professionals an essential part of the oral health team. Through the Section on Oral Health and Chapter Oral Health Advocates, the AAP provides education, training, and advocacy for pediatricians, dentists, other health professionals, and families. The Children's Oral Health effort promotes oral health care in primary pediatric settings by giving anticipatory guidance to families, educates and advocates for primary pediatric care professionals to apply fluoride varnish, and educates policymakers and payers about the importance of reimbursement for pediatric oral health care.

Keywords: Initiatives, Oral health

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American Academy of Periodontology (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) seeks to advance the periodontal health of the public and to represent and serve the academy's members. Their Web site provides a wealth of information on periodontal disease including consumer fact sheets, frequently asked questions, and other educational material. It also includes a database for finding a periodontist.

Keywords: Dental societies, Oral health, Periodontal diseases

American Academy of Periodontology Foundation (AAP Foundation)

Annotation: The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) Foundation is a public charity that serves the periodontal community of caregivers and patients. It is supported by members of the academy, corporate partners, patients, and state and regional periodontal societies. The mission of the AAP Foundation is to improve the periodontal health of the public by increasing public and professional awareness of periodontal diseases, stimulating and supporting clinical research and the generation of new knowledge and enhancing educational programs and opportunities in periodontology.

Keywords: Oral health

American Association for Community Dental Programs (AACDP)

Annotation: The American Association for Community Dental Programs (AACDP) supports the efforts of those with an interest in serving the oral health needs of vulnerable populations at the community level. Members include agencies and staff of local and county health departments, non-profits and other community based organizations with an interest in oral health issues and access to care. AACDP publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and reference information.

Keywords: Oral health

American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR)

Annotation: Formerly known as the American Association for Dental Research, the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research is a division of the International Association for Dental Research, has as its mission to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health, to support and represent the oral health research community, and to facilitate the communication and application of research findings. It is involved in the study of national affairs and related legislation, and the possible effects on dental research. The association's Web site includes fact sheets and research advocacy links.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Research

American Association of Hospital Dentists (AAHD)

Annotation: American Association of Hospital Dentists (AAHD) assists general dentists, dental specialists, dental managers, and dental hygienists in gaining and maintaining clinical skills and knowledge to treat special patients and in increasingly new areas (e.g., ambulatory care and surgical centers, urgent care centers, dialysis centers, extended care facilities, and hospice care settings). AAHD offers credentials for individuals seeking to achieve or maintain medical staff memberships and provides a current listing of position referrals and a resident matching program. AAHD also helps to shape national health policy, works to establish standards, gathers and shares information on concerns, and initiates strategic planning alliances. Membership benefits include the Special Care in Dentistry journal and the Annual National Conference on Special Care Issues.

Keywords: Oral health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.