Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

Annotation: The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), a Canadian public corporation, provides information on occupational diseases and safety (e.g., ingredients, health and hazards data, storage and handling, personal protection, case law) and chemical product safety. The centre disseminates information through a worldwide electronic information service (online and CD-ROM), direct responses to queries, and publications. Some materials are available in French. Services to consumers also include referrals. The organization publishes a catalog and newsletter, and sponsors training seminars. Representatives of government, management, and labor oversee the centre.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Canada, Information dissemination, Occupational safety and health, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: Founded in 1913, the National Safety Council (NSC) is a federally chartered nonprofit organization whose mission is to protect life and promote health. NSC sponsors many conferences which address safety and health issues in the workplace, at home, on the road, in schools, and through both work and leisure activities. The National Safety Council works with public and private sectors, providing training programs that focus on first aid and occupational health and safety, outreach and educational activities, public service efforts and consulting, and through educational materials including Safety and Health and Family Safety & Health magazines and The Journal of Safety Research. NSC maintains a library and provides materials for educators, professionals, children, and the general public covering topics such as air quality, climate change, hazardous chemicals, radioactive waste, and children's environmental health.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Health promotion, Occupational safety and health, Traffic safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: The National Women's Health Network (NWHN) works to ensure that women's voices are heard and that their health priorities and concerns are taken seriously. NWHN educates people about health care; helps to create legislation to protect women's rights; and provides information on reproductive health and other topics of importance to women. The Network's advocacy campaigns focus on women’s access to affordable care; reliable information on the safety of drugs, devices, and services; and and women’s autonomy to make decisions about her sexual and reproductive health. Online resources include fact sheets, a bimonthly newsletter, a blog, and links to outside resources.

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Contraception, HIV, Infertility, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Reproductive technologies, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: Occupational Safety and Health Administration responds to inquires from consumers and professionals and prepares and distributes publications on a range of health and safety topics, including environmental exposures during pregnancy as they occur in the workplace. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: The Windsor Occupational Health Information Service (WOHIS) is a United Way-sponsored community organization that maintains an extensive resource library (including a direct link to the computer service of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) and offers assistance with information requests. The service also produces publications on reproductive hazards and provides referrals to consumers.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Information services, Occupational safety and health, Teratogens, Teratology