Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Interdisciplinary Technical Assistance Center (ITAC) on Autism and Developmental Disabilities, part of the Combating Autism Act Initiative, works to improve the health of infants, children, and adolescents who have, or are at risk for developing, Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities. The Center provides technical assistance to interdisciplinary programs that will better train professionals to use valid and reliable screening and diagnostic tools and provide evidence-based interventions for children with ASD and other developmental disabilities. The Web site provides links to related resources and materials plus a state-by-state directory of related programs.

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Information dissemination, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: The National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, created by the American Social Health Association (ASHA), focuses on collecting, summarizing, and disseminating information on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of HPV and the prevention of cervical cancer. The center offers information to the public, health care providers, and policy makers about human papillomavirus (HPV) and its link to cervical cancer; develops and distributes clinical guidelines; promotes public awareness; and contributes to Web-based continuing medical education sources.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, Cervical cancer, Continuing education, Data collection, Disease prevention, Dissemination, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, National information resource centers, Public awareness materials

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) at the University of Colorado Denver promotes health and safety in out-of-home child care settings throughout the nation. NRC collaborates with the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to produce national health and safety performance standards guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. The center's website provides resources for child care providers, parents, health consultants, regulators, and early childhood systems leaders including a database of state licensure regulations.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Consumer education, Information sources, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Regulations, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Standards, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Training Initiative for Injury and Violence Prevention aims to reduce mortality and morbidity from injury in the United States through enhancement of the training infrastructure for state, local and tribal health departments and their diverse partners. It targets about 8,000 professionals per year working in injury and violence prevention, including professionals in public health, emergency services, health care, law enforcement, transportation, education and other fields, as well as community members. The National Association of Injury Control Research Centers and the State and Territorial Injury Prevention Directors Association collaborated to form the initiative, which was initially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control and is now housed at the University of North Carolina. The Web site offers Injury and Violence Prevention Core Competencies along with a training resources questionnaire to collect information on all the resources that can assist injury and violence prevention practitioners. Future plans include developing a training resources guide, a toolkit, and an injury and violence prevention curriculum.

Keywords: Injury prevention, National information resource centers, Training, Violence prevention