Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Association is a national society that brings together more than 40,000 physicians and medical students who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders. The association works to improve treatment, rehabilitation, and care for people who are mentally ill, to promote research and professional education in psychiatry and allied fields, to advance the standards of psychiatric services and facilities, to promote the best interests of users and potential users of mental health services, to foster cooperation among people concerned with the medical, psychological, social, and legal aspects of mental health and illness, and to share psychiatric knowledge with other medical practitioners, scientists in other fields, and the public. APA houses a library, which provides reference information, and publishes a newsletter and two journals. In addition, the American Psychiatric Press, Inc., (AAPI), which is affiliated with the APA, publishes a catalog of their books. APA also sponsors the Healthy Minds Web site (www.healthyminds.org) as part of its Healthy Minds Healthy Lives public information campaign. APA has an annual meeting each May and an Institute on Psychiatric Services in the fall.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Professional societies

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) is a professional organization that provides leadership to advance psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, and shape health care policy for the delivery of mental health services. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors workshops and conferences.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Nurses

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: Emotions Anonymous (EA) is a non-profit international 12-step program that was adapted from the Alcoholics Anonymous model and provides assistance to people seeking emotional health. EA support groups meet for the purpose of mutual help, sharing of experiences, strength, and hope, while working toward the recovery of emotional difficulties. The program has been successful for individuals experiencing anger, depression, low self-esteem, phobias, worry, tension, and other behavioral problems. EA provides referrals to groups and publishes a newsletter and catalog of available materials. Materials are available in Swedish, Japanese, German, and French through other outlets.

Keywords: Mental health, Affective disorders, Depression, Emotional instability, Health, Mental health programs, Support groups

Annotation: The Homelessness Resource Center (HRC), formerly the National Resource Center on Homelessness and Mental Illness, is an interactive learning community dedicated to disseminating knowledge and best practices to prevent and end homelessness. It provides technical assistance and comprehensive information concerning the treatment, services, and housing needs of homeless persons with serious mental illnesses. The HRC website is part of the Homelessness Resource Network (HRN), a collaboration to share a common digital library of over 9,000 resources related to homelessness, mental illness, substance use, co-occurring disorders, and traumatic stress.HRC is operated by the Homeless and Housing Resource Network (HHRN) technical assistance (TA) contract.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Homeless persons, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Schizophrenia

Annotation: KidsPeace, The National Center for Kids Overcoming Crisis, is a private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through a variety of public education initiatives, prevention efforts, and treatment programs. KidsPeace offers public awareness outreach (including the distribution of public service information and free materials); research and development through the organization's Lee Salk Center; and a national referral network which connects parents, doctors and children to more than 20,000 sources of assistance nationwide. The KidsPeace Hospital, a division of KidsPeace, provides acute inpatient care for kids in crisis. KidsPeace National Centers for Kids in Crisis centers (also a division of KidsPeace) is dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through treatment, counseling and education. Thirty distinct treatment programs at 25 centers across the U.S. include intensive foster care, diagnostic services, education systems, and treatment facilities.

Keywords: Child abuse, Mental disorders, Mental health, Sexual abuse

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: NADD: The National Association for the Dually Diagnosed, is an association for persons with developmental disabilities and mental health needs working to bridge the gap between providers of services for people with mental retardation and for people with mental illness. Members are professionals, parents, concerned citizens, and service organizations interested in program development, funding, policy, clinical, and research activities related to dual diagnoses. The association maintains information and referral services, conducts regional and local workshops and symposia, sponsors an annual national conference, biannual international congress, and publishes a catalog and a bimonthly journal

Keywords: Mental disorders, Developmental disabilities, Information services, Mental retardation

Annotation: The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is a grass-roots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of people with serious mental illness and their families and friends. NAMI's mission is to eradicate mental illness and to improve the quality of life for those who suffer from these no-fault brain diseases. Services provided include: a helpline at (800) 950-NAMI to provide information between 8:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.; support for research into etiology, treatments, and a cure for neurobiological brain disorders; support groups for parents, siblings, and children of the mentally ill and consumers of mental health services; educational programs such as the "Family-to-Family" Education program presented in localities nationwide; and technical assistance to affiliates at local and state levels who wish to engage in advocating for the improved, non-discriminatory services for neurobiological brain disorders. Events include regional conferences, an annual convention held each July, and an annual Mental Illness Awareness Week in early October. Publications include a catalog, a bimonthly newsletter,The Advocate (available for the annual membership fee of $25), and Decade of the Brain, (a quarterly publication (available for an annual subscription fee of $20). Some materials are available in Spanish. A free publication, Because Kids Grow Up, focusing on children and adolescents is also available to parents by calling the helpline.

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Bipolar disorder, Depression, Hyperactivity, Mental disorders, Mental health, Schizophrenia, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Down Syndrome Congress (NDSC) serves as a clearinghouse on all aspects of Down syndrome and provides inquiry responses and referrals to local parent organizations, statewide organizations, and agencies serving people with disabilities. Affiliated parent groups provide local parent support and enhance public awareness of Down syndrome. Publications include Facts About Down Syndrome; Down Syndrome, a bibliography of materials on Down syndrome; and Down Syndrome News, a newsletter produced 10 times a year. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors an annual conference and training seminars.

Keywords: Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Genetic disorders, Information services, Mental retardation

Annotation: The National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) provides education, research, and advocacy in its efforts to ensure that all people with Down syndrome have the opportunity to achieve their full potential in community life. NDSS maintains an Information & Referral Center which responds to questions from parents, professionals, and other interested individuals. NDSS also maintains a List Serve for parents of children with Down Syndrome, sponsors workshops and an annual conference, and produces a quarterly newsletter and educational materials about Down syndrome. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Mental retardation, Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Genetic disorders, Information services, Public awareness materials

Annotation: Established in 1984, the National Fragile X Foundation (NFXF) is a nonprofit organization that informs professionals, parents, and the public about the diagnosis and treatment of Fragile X syndrome. The foundation supports related research and clinical applications, organizes support groups for parents nationwide, provides referrals, holds biannual international conferences for professionals and parents, sponsors training seminars and publishes a quarterly newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Chromosome abnormalities, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic disorders, Genetics, Biochemical genetics, Medical research, Mental retardation, X-linked mental retardation

Annotation: The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), a component of the National Institutes of Health, conducts and supports research that seeks to understand, treat, and prevent mental illness. The Institute's public inquiries line is staffed with information specialists who respond to requests from the lay public, clinicians, and the scientific community with a variety of publications. These include printed materials on such subjects as basic behavioral research, neuroscience of mental health, rural mental health, children's mental disorders, schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, eating disorders, autism, Alzheimer's disease, and panic disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, social phobia and other anxiety disorders. Information on NIMH-sponsored meetings, workshops, and symposia, and a list of NIMH publications, including several in Spanish, is available on the institute's Web site. The public can subscribe to the NIMH E-News listserv on the Web site for periodic updates on NIMH activities, programs, and publications.

Keywords: Mental health, Education, Health promotion, Listservs, Mental disorders

Annotation: The National Technical Assistance Center (NTAC) for Children's Mental Health works in partnership with families and leaders across the country to transform systems and services for children, adolescents, and young adults who have, or are at risk for, mental health problems and their families. The center works with states, tribes, territories, and communities to build and sustain comprehensive service delivery systems using a variety of strategies adapted to the unique needs of each audience. The website provides information on the center's activities (technical assistance and training) and resources (webinars, publications and products, and partner organizations).

Keywords: Mental Health, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, High risk Adolescents, Mental disorders, Technical assistance

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Annotation: Postpartum Progress is a national nonprofit focused on improving support for women with perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. The website offers information and community for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth including postpartum anxiety, postpartum obsessive compulsive disorder, depression during pregnancy, post-adoption depression, postpartum post-traumatic stress syndrome, depression after miscarriage or perinatal loss, and postpartum psychosis. The organization produces a blog to raise awareness, fight stigma, and provide peer support to women with maternal mental illness.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Peer support programs, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Women', s health

Annotation: The Research and Training Center on Family Support and Children's Mental Health serves as a resource center for individuals and organizations working on behalf of children and youth with emotional/behavioral disorders and their families. Services to consumers include resource ideas, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center's research, training, and technical assistance activities are guided by the philosophy that services should be community-based, family-centered and youth-guided, and culturally appropriate. The Center also maintains RTCUpdates, a monthly e-newsletter; publishes Focal Point, a twice-yearly journal; disseminates Data Trends, periodic summaries of current children's mental health research; and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Clearinghouses, Mental health, Technical assistance

Annotation: The SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions promotes the development of integrated primary and behavioral health services to better address the needs of individuals with mental health and substance use conditions, whether seen in specialty behavioral health or primary care provider settings. CIHS is the first national home for information, experts, and other resources dedicated to bidirectional integration of behavioral health and primary care. Jointly funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and the Health Resources and Services Administration, and run by the National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, CIHS provides training and technical assistance to 100 community behavioral health organizations that received Primary and Behavioral Health Care Integration grants, as well as to community health centers and other primary care and behavioral health organizations. CIHS’s training and technical assistance seeks to help improve the effectiveness, efficiency, and sustainability of integrated services, which ultimately improves the health and wellness of individuals living with behavioral health disorders.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental disorders, Mental health, Primary care, Resource centers, Service integration, Substance abuse

Annotation: Screening for Mental Health Inc. (SMH) is a non-profit organization that introduced the concept of large-scale mental health screenings with its flagship program National Depression Screening Day in 1991. SMH programs include both in-person and online programs for depression, bipolar disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, eating disorders, alcohol problems, and suicide prevention.

Keywords: Mental Health, Anxiety disorder, Depression, Eating disorders, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Screening, Substance abuse, Suicide prevention