Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's Dental Home Resource Center provides information about and resources to support the delivery of oral health care to all children, with a focus on infants.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Health care delivery, Infants, Medical home, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: Family to Family is an initiative designed in 1992 by the Annie E. Casey Foundation to help child welfare agenies respond more effectively to children who are being placed in out-of-home care. Family to Family provides an opportunity for states and communities to reconceptualize, redesign, and reconstruct their foster care system with the goal of improving care outcomes. An explicit premise of Family to Family is that the planning, implementation, and evaluation of child welfare policy and practices have to be guided by clear and specific goals, and that progress toward those goals requires good performance data. As part of the initiative, the Casey Foundation has developed specific tools for rebuilding foster care, written by leading experts on child welfare, built on lessons learned working inside child welfare agencies and with community and political leaders. Fact sheets about the tools, as well as detailed summaries and full how-to manuals, can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Electronic publications, Reform, Foster care, . Systems development, Child welfare, Data, Evaluation, Out of home care

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) funds Health Centers in underserved communities, providing access to high quality, family oriented, comprehensive primary and preventive health care for people who are low-income, uninsured or face other obstacles to getting health care. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Annotation: Casey Family Programs is a national foundation that provides direct services and works to promote advances in child welfare practice and policy and collaborate with foster, kinship, and adoptive parents to provide safe, loving homes for youth. The foundation also collaborates with counties, states, and native tribes to improve services and outcomes for the more than 500,000 young people in out-of-home care across the United States. Casey Family Programs conducts studies and gathers information; offers access to innovative projects and online publications; organizes and participates in conferences, and provides life-skills tools and opportunities for young people at risk. The foundation has offices in several states.

Keywords: Child welfare, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Foster care, Foundations, Model programs, Out of home care

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: The Center for Medical Home Improvement (CMHI) establishes and supports networks of parent/professional teams to improve the quality of primary care medical homes for children and youth with special health care needs and their families. The center provides resources related related to medical home performance measures and improvement; offers consultation and educational services; and participates in conferences.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, Program improvement

Annotation: The Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC) works to improve the health, development, and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs in partnership with families, service providers, and communities. CHSC's team of professionals and experienced parents provide families one-on-one problem solving and emotional support as they care for their children with special health care needs. Since children and youth with complicated health problems often need assistance from many different agencies, CHSC works to provide access to quality community-based services. CHSC provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including a newsletter), and reference Information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Home care, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Information services, Management, Referrals, Resource materials, Service coordination, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children', Statistics, s heatlh insurance program

Annotation: The Coordinating Center for Home and Community Care (CCHCC) is a nonprofit organization that provides care management services for people with complex medical needs, special health care needs, and disabilities who are living in their own homes and communities. The Coordinating Center also provides technical assistance, training, and consultation to professionals who work in the community with people who have such needs. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The center publishes a catalog and a variety of brochures. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Home care, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Home care services, Refferals, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Genetics in Primary Care Institute (GPCI) works with primary care providers (PCPs) to increase their knowledge and skills in providing genetic-based services. The goals of the Institute include (1) mobilize a community of learners who will use quality improvement science to develop, implement, and evaluate strategies to enhance primary care providers' understanding of genetic medicine; (2) implement a strategy to address systems and policy to accelerate the provision of genetic medicine through the establishment of a technical assistance center; and (3) assess and address residency training needs in order to more fully imbed the practice of genetic medicine into the future of the PCP workforce. GPCI sponsors a webinar series for stakeholders to increase awareness, information, and education regarding the provision of genetic medicine in primary care and to improve health care providers’ understanding of their roles and the roles of others related to the provision of genetic medicine in primary care settings. The institute is a cooperative agreement between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Health Resource and Service Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Genetic services, Genetics, Medical home, Primary care

Annotation: The Home Healthcare Nurses Association is an organization of registered nurses who are involved in home health care practice, education, administration, or research. The association seeks to develop the specialty of home health care nursing, foster excellence in practice, influence public policy, and enhance communication among members and the public regarding health care services for home health care clients. It provides referrals, publications, and reference information for consumers. The association publishes a newsletter and has a journal entitled Home Healthcare Nurse, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Home care, Nurses, Professional societies

Annotation: The National Alliance for Caregiving (NAC) provides support to family caregivers and to the professionals who help them. The alliance also aims to increase public awareness of issues facing family caregivers. NAC publishes studies and reports, offers guidance on caregiving, and hosts the annual International Conference on Family Care. The National Alliance for Caregiving’s Family Care Resource Connection, posted on the Web site, includes reviews and ratings of hundreds of books, videotapes, Web sites, and other resources covering a range of issues and questions faced by family caregivers.

Keywords: Family support services, Aging , Home care , Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: The National Association for Home Care and Hospice (NAHC) is a trade association representing the interests and concerns of hospices, home care agencies, home care aide organizations, and medical equipment suppliers. Dedicated to making home care and hospice providers lives easier, NAHC provides professional development opportunities, fights for better regulation, and promotes the belief that Americans should receive health care and social services in their own homes, so far as this is possible. The association posts news and information on its Web site, provides an online bookstore, publishes a magazine and a newsletter, hosts electronic networks, advocates for legislative action, and supports grassroots activities. Information for consumers includes guidelines on finding a home care provider.

Keywords: Associations, Home care, Hospices, Medical equipment

Annotation: The National Resource Center for In-Home Services (NRC In-Home) works with States, Tribes, and territories to increase their capacity to provide effective alternatives to out-of-home care. NRC In-Home provides technical assistance to States and Tribes to improve systems of in-home services that support and stabilize families while keeping children safe, well, and at home; provides tailored responses to information requests; disseminates information on best practices for in-home services delivery through its website, webinars, and print products; supports health promotion and prevention programs through peer-to-peer events; and develops and disseminates resources on in-home services. NRC In-Home is a service of the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistanc Network (TTA).

Keywords: Health care systems, Home care, Home care services, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home works to ensure that all children and youth, including children with special needs, have a medical home where health care services are accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally competent. The Center provides medical home resources and advocacy materials, technical assistance, and tools to physicians, families, and other medical and non-medical providers who care for children. The Center works in cooperation with federal agencies, particularly the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and other partners and stakeholders to meet its goals and objectives. The center was formerly the National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI).

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, National MCH resource center, Networking, Resource centers, Training

Annotation: The Oley Foundation is a non-profit organization that provides free information and psycho-social support to patients requiring home nutrition support and their families. This includes enteral (tube) nutrition, for those who cannot eat but have at least a partially-functioning intestinal tract; and parenteral (intravenous) nutrition, for those who cannot absorb nutrients into their systems because of a damaged or removed intestinal tract. Oley support services include an information clearinghouse, bimonthly newsletter, national toll-free consumer networking, local grassroots support, conferences and research on health outcomes.

Keywords: Parenteral nutrition, Enteral nutrition, Home Care, Self help clearinghouses, Social support

Annotation: The Safety Net Medical Home Initiative helps 65 primary care safety net sites in five states become high-performing patient-centered medical homes. The website provides access to implementation guides, assessment tools, presentations, and other materials related to practice transformation, as well as resources on payment and recognition. The five-year initiative is supported by the Commonwealth Fund, Qualis Health, and the MacColl Center for Health Care Innovation at the Group Health Research Institute.

Keywords: Educational change, Family centered care, Family centered services, Health care reform, Medical home, National initiatives, Organizational change, Patient care, Reimbursement

Annotation: Sick Kids need Involved People (SKIP) promotes pediatric home care for children with severe physical and/or developmental disabilities, including those who are dependent on medical technology or other ongoing supports. The organization provides information, case management, advocacy, and support to parents and families of children and adults with special medical needs living in New York State. Services to consumers also include referrals. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars for staff.

Keywords: Home care, Advocacy, CSHN programs, Case management, Children, Disabilities, Information services, Support groups, Technology dependence

Annotation: The Visiting Nurse Associations of America is a national nonprofit organization representing over 200 nonprofit community-based home and community health care providers. The organization serves as a forum for home health care professionals to exchange and develop professional expertise for improving home care. Visiting Nurse Associations offer health care services including case management, infusion care, specialized pediatric and maternal/child care programs, chemotherapy, enterostomal therapy, chronic care, mental health and psychiatric care, AIDS education and treatment, social services, nutritional counseling, and hospice and respite care. Services to consumers include referrals. The association publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops.

Keywords: Home care, Nurses, Professional societies

Annotation: The Washington Child Development Council (WCDC) is a nonprofit organization composed of concerned representatives from child development centers and family child care homes, as well as parents and other interested persons, who join together to focus on the developmental needs of the children living in the District of Columbia. WCDC encourages the District government to establish policies that promote the nurturing of children so that all children may reach their full potential. WCDC has been committed to working with teenage mothers and homeless families by serving as an advocate to promote much-needed child care services for this at-risk population. The organization sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Child care, Child development centers, Family child care, Homeless persons, Underserved communities