Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Annotation: The Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, an initiative sponsored through partnerships with health, education, medical, civic, corporate, youth, and religious organizations, strives to reduce tobacco addiction and exposure to second hand smoke among children. The campaign's goals are to change public policy regarding tobacco at the federal, state, and local government level; to counter tobacco industry marketing to youth; and to increase the number of organizations and individuals supporting efforts to fight tobacco use. Information is provided on federal, state, and global initiatives aimed at reducing tobacco use. State statistics on tobacco usage and tobacco related deaths, samples of tobacco advertisements and statistics on industry advertising costs, and news reports on tobacco-related studies and legislation are available through the organization's Web site. Fact sheets, special reports, and information on tobacco political action committee contributions are also provided through the campaign's research center.

Keywords: Tobacco use, Adolescent health, Child health, Media campaigns, Pubic policies, Statistics

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: The Center for Human Resource Research maintains searchable databases and produces a newsletter for local, state, regional, and national audiences.

Keywords: Children, Cognitive development, Data collection, Employment, Followup studies, Health services, Human development, Interdisciplinary approach, Interviews, Longitudinal studies, Mothers, Parental education, Poverty, Research design, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Substance use behavior, Surveys

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children', State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization, s health insurance program

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Data sources, Health promotion, Infant care, Information sources, Service statistics, State surveys

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children', Statistics, s heatlh insurance program

Keywords: Data sources, Health statistics, Information sources, Internet, Service statistics, Statistics

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Online databases, Public health

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Data, Directories, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Online databases, Public health, Social security, Statistics

Keywords: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Health statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, State health agencies, State programs

Annotation: The FDI World Dental Federation is a federation of national dental associations that works to bring together the world of dentistry, to represent the dental profession of the world, and to stimulate and facilitate the exchange of information across all borders with the aim of optimal oral health for all people. It issues policy statements, offers continuing education, publishes the International Dental Journal and other publications, and holds the World Dental Parliament once a year. The web site is available in English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese, and Russian with many of their publications offered in English and non-English languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, International organizations, Oral health, Statistics

Annotation: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is a collection of 20 federal government agencies that produce or use statistical data on children and families. The Forum publishes the annual report America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being. This time-based report summarizes major issues related to children and families, including economic security, health, behavior and social environment, education, and population and family characteristics.

Keywords: Data sources, Health statistics, Information sources, Internet, Service statistics, Statistics

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health statistics, Information sources, Statistics, Vital statistics

Keywords: Health, Statistics

Annotation: The Healthy People Consortium comprises a group of agencies and organizations committed to achieving the goals and objectives of Healthy People, a national framework for public health prevention priorities and actions. The website includes information and resources on the history and development of Healthy People, what’s new for Healthy People, and planning and evaluating interventions to achieve Healthy People objectives. Information about the consortium partners, webinars and events, and tools for professionals are also available.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Public health

Annotation: The Indiana Youth Institute (IYI), a statewide intermediary organization, promotes attentiveness to Indiana's young people and those who work on their behalf; encourages policies and programs that foster healthy development of youth; collaborates with state and national organizations to improve the lives of our state's young people and ensures that their voices are heard. IYI promotes the healthy development of youth by providing research, training and development, and advocacy services for adults who serve and influence the lives of youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. IYI research services include the development of special reports on youth-related topics, statistics and analysis related to youth, interpretation of research findings, and technical assistance on conducting research studies. The IYI resource center houses a comprehensive collection of books and journals on topics related to children, youth and families. The institute publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences. Training services include capacity building workshops, topical seminars, customized training and research-based presentations. IYI advocates directly, and in collaboration with others, for the healthy development of youth.

Keywords: Youth, Adolescents, Health promotion, Indiana, Information services, Public policies, Statistics

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Health statistics, Information sources, Public health, Publications, State programs, Statistics