Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Mesothelioma Center provides information on asbestos, mesothelioma, and other cancers that are associated with asbestos exposure. The center's Web site provides news and information on asbestos issues ranging from occupational exposure to mesothelioma treatment options. The site covers prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and legal issues. It includes an overview on the use of asbestos-containing construction materials in schools, including increased risks to children.

Keywords: Hazardous materials, Asbestos, Cancer , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, School health

Annotation: The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing or controlling those diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. Programs and campaigns include vessel sanitation, healthy places, poisoning prevention, and air pollution and resipratory health. Information is also provided on asthma and emergency response. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications, including a newsletter. The center also sponsor conferences and training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Government financing, Hazardous materials, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Reproductive hazards, Teratology

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine'sToxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains an environmental health Web site that provides access to resources produced by TEHIP as well as other governrment agencies and organizations. The Web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. Other toxicology and environmental health-related web resources available from TEHIP include the Households Products Database, HazMap (an occupational toxicology database), ToxMap (which uses U.S. maps to show the location of toxic chemicals), and Tox Town -- an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Online reference tools guide users through the various components of the TEHIP site.

Keywords: Toxicology, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Health sciences libraries, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Online databases

Annotation: The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) is the federal agency responsible for preventing exposure to, and adverse human health effects and diminished quality of life associated with exposure to, hazardous substances from waste sites, unplanned releases, and other sources of pollution present in the environment. ATSDR is directed by Congressional mandate to perform specific functions concerning the effect on public health of hazardous substances in the environment. These functions include public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances. The agency publishes fact sheets and toxicological profiles on numerous hazardous substances. Their Web site includes materials about children living near hazardous waste sites and an extensive glossary of terms related to hazardous materials; a Spanish language version of the Web site is available.

Keywords: Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) works to protect the natural environment -- air, water, and land -- and to preserve human health in the process. The EPA develops and enforces regulations, offers financial assistance to state environmental programs, conducts research, and sponsors voluntary partnerships and programs through its regional offices. Through its Office of Environmental Education, EPA works to advance and support educational efforts and to develop an environmentally conscious and responsible public. EPA also supports a variety of libraries, hotlines, and clearinghouses that respond to information requests from the public; they can be identified on the EPA Web site. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Hazardous materials, Air pollution, Asbestos, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Insecticides, Regulations, Water pollution