Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (21 total).

Center for Advancing Health

Annotation: The Center for the Advancement of health translates to the public the latest evidence-based research on health, health care, prevention, and chronic disease management, with an emphasis on how social, behavioral, and economic factors affect illness and well-being. The center monitors legislation, commissions reports, communicates information relevant to the translation of research to policy and practice, establishes alliances between scientists and policy makers, and convenes conferences, symposia, and task forces. The center produces and disseminates evidence summaries through the Health Behavior News Service, conducting media training for scientists, scientific training for journalists, and reporting on translation-related events. The center's publications include monthly Facts of Life issue briefings, as well as a variety of reports and workshop proceedings available from the Web site in pdf format.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Electronic publications, Health policy, Legislation, Preventive health services, Public health, Research

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS)

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

Cochrane Library

Annotation: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making about clinical treatments. Databases include the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, the database of abstracts of reviews of effects, the central register of controlled trials, the methodology register, the health technology assessment database, and the NHS economic evaluation database. Reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc.) in specific circumstances. Summaries of the information are available at no charge on the Web site, and full access is available through libraries, by subscription, on CD-ROM, or on a pay-per-view basis. Some countries provide free access via varous arrangements within the country.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Therapeutics

ECRI

Annotation: ECRI is an independent, nonprofit health care organization dedicated to improving the safety, efficacy, and cost-effectiveness of health technology, broadly defined to encompass devices, drugs, procedures, facilities, and related standards and guidelines. The agency works to inform the healthcare community of improved methods of patient care, and protect the public from unsafe and ineffective medical technologies and practices. ECRI is an independent evaluator and provider of information and guidance in technology planning, procurement, and management; risk and quality management; technology assessment; and healthcare environmental management.ECRI has been a Collaborating Center of the World Health Organization since 1989 and now serves as the WHO Healthcare Standards and Guidelines Archives. The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has designated ECRI an Evidence-based Practice Center.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health care, Research

Evidence-based Practice for Public Health Project

Annotation: The Evidence-based Practice for Public Health Project at the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School, examines the clinical evidence-based medicine (EBM) models and assesses their effectiveness to the public health literature. The project's Web site provides information on knowledge domains of public health, a list of core public health journals, a list of public health bibliographic databases and other resources on evidence-based knowledge.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Public health

Healthy Programs in Michigan

Annotation: This group promotes the evidence-based self-management and physical activity programs that are available in Michigan communities and to support the partnerships that are active in their implementation. The programs featured have met the evidence-based criteria of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Arthritis Program and Administration on Aging. Information about partnerships and programs, including class and workshop schedules, leader training, promotional materials, and more are available from their website.

Keywords: Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Local initiatives, Michigan, State initiatives

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine Clearinghouse (NCCAMC)

Annotation: The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine Clearinghouse (NCCAMC), previously known as the Office of Alternative Medicine (OAM) Clearinghouse, serves as the information service for NCCAM, which was established in 1978 to stimulate, develop, and support research on complementary and alternative medicine for the benefit of he public. NCCAM is the Federal Government's lead organization in explorating complementary and laternative healing practices in the context of rigorous science through basic and clinical research, training CAM researchers, and providing evidence-based information to consumers and health care professionals. NCCAM's Clearinghouse operates a toll-free telephone service, a fax-on-demand service (providing fact sheets and other information); and an e-mail-inquiry service (write info@nccam.nih.gov). Materials and services are provided at no cost. The Clearinghouse does not provide medical referrals, medical advice, or recommendations for specific CAM therapies.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Evidence based medicine

National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ)

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention is a training and technical assistance center for grantees of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services working to promote mental health and prevent youth violence among children, their families, and other adults. Through training, technical assistance, distance learning, and on-site consultation, the center helps grantees develop needs assessments and implement strategic plans, use evidence-based interventions, select and use evaluation tools, build coalitions that include families, youth, and other stakeholders, and sustain projects beyond their initial federal funding. The center provides on-site technical assistance and consultation, training workshops and tutorials, online courses, and information on the latest research, events, and funding opportunities. The center also conducts national conferences and regional meetings to facilitate peer interaction and learning.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Children, Consultation, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Needs assessment, Technical assistance, Training, Violence prevention, Youth services

National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)

Annotation: The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) is a coalition of 54 treatment centers working to improve the quality, effectiveness, and availability of therapeutic services delivered to all children and adolescents experiencing traumatic events. The Network -- a Congressional initiative funded by the Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, US Department of Health and Human Services -- will collect data for systematic study; help to educate professionals and the public about the effects of trauma on children; and develop and disseminate effective, evidence-based treatments. The National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NRC-CTS) supports the mission of NCTSN by providing relevant information and resources to professionals and the public, including survivors of childhood trauma, their families, and communities. The Resource Center provides referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. The NCTSN Web site provides access to full-text reports, related reading lists, an archive of NCTSN newsletters, and the PILOTS database of scientific literature on traumatic stress. Some client brochures about child traumatic stress are available in foreign languages.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Coalitions, Emergency medical services, Resource centers, Therapeutics, Trauma, Treatment services

National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT)

Annotation: The National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT) facilitates and supports the development of knowledge and capacity to use the best available evidence in public health practice. The NCCMT is part of a network of six National Collaborating Centres (NCCs) that work together to strengthen public health in Canada. It provides information on evidence-informed public health and contains a Health Evidence™ registry that contains quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. The Registry is a searchable, online collection of evidence-informed methods and tools for knowledge translation in public health. Methods and tools are defined as standardized procedures or products that help you access or use information for decision making. Examples include regular and systematic approaches, sets of organized steps or rules, or instruments, guidelines and manuals. The Registry identifies and describes methods and tools in summary statements, and then provides links to their sources.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine

National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection Programs

Annotation: Childbirth Connection was founded in 1918 as the Maternity Center Association; its mission is to improve the quality, value, and outcomes of maternity care through consumer engagement and health system transformation. The program promotes safe, effective, and satisfying evidence-based maternity care and serves as a voice for childbearing families. Childbirth Connection is a core program of the National Partnership for Women and Families.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Family-centered maternity services, Prenatal care

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)

Annotation: The National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), NQMC provides summaries of measures, comparison tools, and materials on how to use, select, apply, and interpret quality measures. The website includes a glossary of definitions and common properties, expert commentary in the fields of measures and guidelines, an online discussion list forum, and additional tools and links to related resources.

Keywords: Quality assurance, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Guidelines, Measures, Standards

National Resource Center on ADHD (NRC)

Annotation: Founded in 2002, the National AD/HD Resource Center (NRC) is a national clearinghouse dedicated to the evidence-based science and treatment of AD/HD. NRC provides information on diagnosis and treatment of AD/HD; living with AD/HD; and dealing with the legal, insurance, and public benefits systems,. The center was established by CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder) with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Keywords: Attention deficit disorder, Clearinghouses, Evidence based medicine, Hyperactivity

New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice (NHIHPP)

Annotation: The New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice (NHIHPP) develops a Web site called E-Roadmap to Evidence-Based Public Health Practice, which is located at www.publichealthsolutions.org.

Keywords: Community programs, Evidence based medicine

Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP)

Annotation: The Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP) is a nonprofit organization committed to improving the health and well being of low-income, first-time parents and their children. NFP helps communities replicate and sustain an evidence-based program of home visiting by registered nurses. NFP sites (currently located in 20 states) are supported by a team of public health policy and administration, nursing, education and program evaluation professionals at the national office in Denver. NFP helps establish new sites and provides consultation, technical support, reporting services, and professional development for existing sites. The NFP Web site includes a directory of local sites, news updates, and fact sheets.

Keywords: Family support, Consultation, Evidence based medicine, Model programs, Nursing, Professional training, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Visting nurses

Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center (Oregon EPC)

Annotation: The Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center (Oregon EPC) conducts systematic reviews of healthcare topics for federal and state agencies and private foundations. These reviews report evidence from clinical research studies and the quality of that evidence for use by policymakers in decisions related to guidelines and coverage issues. It is a collaboration of Oregon Health and Science University, the Portland Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and the Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research. Reviews can be downloaded from Oregon EPC's Web site.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Guidelines , Health policy, Policy development, Research reviews

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Annotation: Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries whose mission is to link the public health workforce to information for improved practice. Its objectives are to (1) increase awareness and use of National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) distributed learning resources among the public health workforce; (2) assist the public health workforce in obtaining the hardware/software, Internet connection and satellite reception needed for effective access to information resources; (3) train the public health workforce to use the technology required for effective access to information resources; (4) train the public health workforce to identify and use pertinent information resources and services; and (5) increase awareness of the public health workforce's needs and resources among NN/LM members. The Web site includes a pilot project that provides preformulated searches on selected Healthy People 2010 focus areas; the searches make information and evidence-based strategies related to Healthy People 2010 objectives easier to find.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health personnel, Healthy People 2010, Information dissemination, Information systems, Outreach, Public health, Training

RTI-UNC Evidence-based Practice Center (RTI-UNC EPC)

Annotation: The RTI-UNC Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) produces systematic reviews and analyses of the scientific evidence (evidence reports and updates) on a variety of health care and health policy topics. It also builds on these reports to create materials and messages for patients and clinicians relating to health care decisions. EPC personnel also conduct research into the best practices and methods for conducting reviews of the scientific literature. The center prepares AHRQ reports and technology assessments as well as reports for other public and private health care organizations on topics of their choosing. Center staff also design and conduct customized literature searches and quantitative analyses. The Center is one of 13 EPCs sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Data analysis, Guidelines, Health policy, Patient education materials, Policy development, Research reviews, Resources for professionals.

Society of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology (SCCAP)

Annotation: The Society of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology (SCCAP), a division of the American Psychological Association, promotes the general objectives of the American Psychological Association and encourages the evolution and development of the specialty of clinical child and adolescent psychology in both its scientific and professional aspects. SCCAP also seeks to advance scientific inquiry, training, and professional practice in clinical child and adolescent psychology as a means of furthering knowledge, welfare, and mental health of children, youth, and families. SCCAP's evidence-based treatment Web site, located at http://www.effectivechildtherapy.com/, provides up-to-date information on various psychological disorders along with scientifically-evaluated treatment methods.

Keywords: , Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Child health, Clinical medicine, Medical evaluation, Mental disorders, Psychology, Treatment outcomes

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.