Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association for Children with Down Syndrome (ACDS) Strives to provide an environment that helps infants, toddlers, and preschool children with Down syndrome to participate in mainstream school and community activities through its early intervention and pre-school service. In addition to conducting research, ACDS provides resources, referrals, and programs for children 5-21 with Down syndrome and helps educate the community through workshops, conferences, and publications (including the bimonthly ACDS Newsletter). A catalog of publications and audiovisual materials is available, and materials are provided in Spanish. ACDS also provides residential services to young adults with Down Syndrome and other developmental disabilities.

Keywords: Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Family support services, Geneticdisorders, Information services, Medical research, Mental retardation, Public awareness materials

Annotation: The Early Intervention Program (EIP) provides educational and other services to Louisiana children 0–3 years old with developmental disabilities, including direct services, information, support, and statewide referrals. The program also provides in-service training and technical assistance on developmental disabilities and early education, publishes a newsletter, and maintains a library of information on Down syndrome, early intervention, and developmental disabilities. EIP also provides an Inclusive Day School; a learning center for typical and special needs children (ages 6 weeks to 6 years).

Keywords: Down syndrome, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Educational programs, Information services, Louisiana, Technical assistance

Annotation: International Mosaic Down Syndrome Association (IMDSA) is designed to provide support, information and research to all those interested in mosaic Down syndrome. IMDSA offers a variety of services including inquiry responses, an online support and information group, Family Connect program, quarterly newsletter MOSAIC WORLD, bi-monthly Ask the Expert meetings, information packets and MDS Awareness Conference. Electronic newsletters and online discussion groups are available.

Keywords: Down syndrome, Support groups

Annotation: The MAGIC(Major Aspects of Growth in Children)Foundation is a national nonprofit organization serving children and adults with critical and or chronic illnesses affecting their growth, including Precious Puberty, Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia, Septo Optic Dysplasia, Adult Growth Hormone Deficiency, McCune Albright syndrome, Truner syndrome, Genital and Reproductive Anomalies, Hypophosphatasia, Panphypopituitarism, Congenital Hypothyroidism, Growth Hormone Deficiency, Russell-Silver Syndrome and many other Rare Disorders. Incorporated within MAGIC are families, children, and medical professionals in various fields of children's health. Services available through the foundation include support groups, referrals, a financial assistance fund, a birthday club for kids, kid's pen pal program, community outreach programs, family networking, quarterly newsletters, kids' newsletters, and a toll free parent help line (1-800-3 MAGIC 3). Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Educational brochures available include: Congenital Hypothyroidism, Intrauterine Growth Retardation, Hypophosphatasia, Underlying Conditions of Growth Abnormalities, Growth Hormone Deficiency ,The Most Frequently Asked Questions When Beginning Growth Hormone Therapy, Constitutional Growth Delay, Precocious Puberty, Turner's Syndrome, Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia, Clinical Hypothyroidism, McCune Albright Syndrome, Psychosocial Issues of Growth Delayed Children, Dental Problems Associated with GHD, Me and My Growth Hormone - A Child's View, Septo Optic Dysplasia, Panhypopituitarism, Failure to Thrive, Russell-Silver Syndrome, Newborns with Non-typical Genital Appearance, When My Child May Have Fertility Problems, Adult Growth Hormone Deficiency, etc. The MAGIC Foundation also publishes a magazine and sponsors an annual convention in July.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Child health, Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Congenital hypothyroidism, Development, Down syndrome, Education, Financial support, Growth disorders, McCune Albright syndrome, Russell Silver syndrome, Short stature, Support groups, Support groups, Turners syndrome

Annotation: The National Down Syndrome Congress (NDSC) serves as a clearinghouse on all aspects of Down syndrome and provides inquiry responses and referrals to local parent organizations, statewide organizations, and agencies serving people with disabilities. Affiliated parent groups provide local parent support and enhance public awareness of Down syndrome. Publications include Facts About Down Syndrome; Down Syndrome, a bibliography of materials on Down syndrome; and Down Syndrome News, a newsletter produced 10 times a year. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors an annual conference and training seminars.

Keywords: Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Genetic disorders, Information services, Mental retardation

Annotation: The National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) provides education, research, and advocacy in its efforts to ensure that all people with Down syndrome have the opportunity to achieve their full potential in community life. NDSS maintains an Information & Referral Center which responds to questions from parents, professionals, and other interested individuals. NDSS also maintains a List Serve for parents of children with Down Syndrome, sponsors workshops and an annual conference, and produces a quarterly newsletter and educational materials about Down syndrome. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Mental retardation, Chromosome abnormalities, Down syndrome, Genetic disorders, Information services, Public awareness materials