Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (29 total).

American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation, Peers for Progress

Annotation: Peers for Progress is a program of the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation and supported by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation. The program was founded in 2006 to promote peer support as a key part of health, health care, and prevention around the world. Activities include promoting peer support programs, developing a global network of peer support programs, and hosting a global web page to circulate program materials and curricula.

Keywords: Information networks, International programs, Networking, Peer counseling, Peer education, Peer groups, Peer support programs

American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC)

Annotation: The American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC) represents and sets professional standards for over 3,000 pastoral counselors and 100 pastoral counseling centers in North America and around the world. Pastoral counselors are certified mental health professionals who have had in-depth religious and/or theological training. Members provide psychotherapy using spiritual resources as well as psychological understanding for healing and growth. AAPC was founded in 1964 as an organization which certifies pastoral counselors, accredits pastoral counseling centers, and approves training programs. It is nonsectarian and respects the spiritual commitments and religious traditions of those who seek assistance without imposing counselor beliefs onto the client. The AAPC Web site provides information about the organization, a directory of pastoral counselors, and links to online discussion groups and other Internet resources.

Keywords: Accreditation, Counseling, Certification, Mental health, Pastoral care, Professional education, Psychotherapy, Spirituality

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Disabled and Alone/Life Services for the Handicapped

Annotation: Disabled and Alone/Life Services for the Handicapped is a national nonprofit organization that works to ensure the well-being of people with disabilities after their parents die. Disabled and Alone helps parents of a handicapped child plan for when they will no longer be around; provides an alternative service program if other financial arrangements can not be made; advises parents, relatives, attorneys, and financial planners about planning for a handicapped individual; and provides advocacy and oversight for handicapped individuals whose families have left funds for their care. Local nonprofit direct service organizations are enlisted as partners in this endeavor. Services offered to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Estate planning, Health care financing, Children with special health care needs, Counseling, Disabilities, Financial planning, Financial support, Information services

G.I. Polyposis and Hereditary Colon Cancer Registry

Annotation: The G.I. Polyposis and Hereditary Colon Cancer Registry is one of a national network of gastrointestinal polyposis and hereditary colon cancer registries. It includes physicians, a coordinator, and other paramedical professionals who work to find families with heritable conditions, provide genetic counseling or referrals, communicate with their physicians, and educate them on the physical and emotional problems that may result from a heritable diagnosis. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Hereditary Colon Cancer.

Keywords: Colon cancer, Familial adenomatous polyposis, Gardner syndrome, Gastrointestinal polyposis, Genetic counseling, Juvenile polyposis, Patient education, Patient identification, Peutz-Jeghers syndrome

HealthConnect One

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

International MultiCultural Institute (IMCI)

Annotation: Founded in 1983, the International MultiCultural Institute (formerly the National Multicultural Institute) is a private, nonprofit organization established to increase communication, understanding, and respect among people of different racial and cultural backgrounds, and to promote a positive vision for our multicultural society. The institute designs, develops, and delivers diversity training programs; conducts conferences and workshops; provides consultation and assessment services, and produces books, training manuals, and videotapes useful for educators, social services, and mental health professionals.

Keywords: Counseling, Cultural diversity, Training

Maryland Disability Law Center (MDLC)

Annotation: The Maryland Disability Law Center (MDLC) is an independent organization that provides legal representation, advocacy, counseling, and information and referral services for people with disabilities. The center also offers training and technical assistance for self-advocacy groups, parent organizations, public agencies, attorneys, and others concerned about the rights of people with disabilities. Training and technical assistance topics include special education, nondiscrimination requirements, financial entitlements, alternatives to institutionalization, and guardianships. The center also publishes a special education manual. Services to consumers include referrals and publications.

Keywords: Advocacy, Counseling, Disabilities, Information services, Maryland, Special education, Technical assistance, Training

Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRCC )

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

National Association for Visually Handicapped (NAVH)

Annotation: The National Association for Visually Handicapped (NAVH) provides information, referrals, counseling, and guidance for people with partial sight, their families, and concerned professionals and paraprofessionals. Memberships to the association are available for a fee; however, no one is denied services due to inability to pay. The association maintains a large-print lending library with over 9,000 titles and sponsors training seminars. Publications include a quarterly update, catalogs and informational booklets and brochures (most in large print). Some materials are provided in Spanish, Russian, and Chinese.

Keywords: Blindness, Counseling, Information services, Visually impaired

National Batten Disease Registry

Annotation: The National Batten Disease Registry provides information on Batten Disease, offers referrals to local resources, and maintains a national registry. The organization also offers neurological evaluation, genetic counseling, and diagnostic testing. Services to consumers also include reference information and publications. It is a program at the Institute for Basic Research in Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Batten disease, Brain diseases, Genetic counseling, Information services, Nervous system diseases

National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit

Annotation: The National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit is a coalition of diverse organizations that have joined forces to increase the number of pregnant smokers who quit smoking. The partnership offers a broad range of resources for health care professionals, advocates, and consumers, including research findings, fact sheets, and cessation tips and techniques. Media campaigns, community outreach, and increased funding opportunities are among the strategic elements outlined in the coalition's Action Plan.

Keywords: Coalitions, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Women's health

National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)

Annotation: The National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) is a comprehensive collection and distribution center for information, research, and emerging policy on sexual violence intervention and prevention. It provides online library and technical assistance and also coordinates National Sexual Assault Awareness Month initiatives. NSVRC is a project of the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape (PCAR) , which advocates for services for all sexual assault victims and works to increase public understanding of sexual violence. Through the coalition, the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare funds 52 centers that provide services for adult and child victim/survivors and their families in all Pennsylvania counties. These services include 24-hour hotlines, crisis counseling, education programs for schools and communities, systems advocacy, information and referral, and hospital, police, and court accompaniment. PCAR publishes a catalog and a newsletter and sponsors training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Rape, Advocacy, Counseling, Education programs, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Pennsylvania, Sexual assault, Spanish language materials, Victims, Violence prevention

National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC)

Annotation: The National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) promotes the genetic counseling profession as a recognized and integral part of health care delivery, research, education and public policy. It offers local and national continuing education opportunities and serves as a forum for discussion of issues relevant to human genetics and the genetic counseling profession. The organization sponsors conferences for professionals, publishes a quarterly newsletter and bi-monthly journal. Referrals are available to consumers on the website.

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Continuing education, Genetic counselors, Genetics

National Stepfamily Resource Center (NSRC)

Annotation: The National Stepfamily Resource Center (NSRC) -- a division of Auburn University’s Center for Children, Youth, and Families -- serves as a clearinghouse of information, linking family science research on stepfamilies and best practices in work with couples and children in stepfamilies. The resource center provides online access to frequently-asked-questions about stepfamilies, Your Stepfamily Magazine, research summaries, and annotated bibliographies of stepfamily research. NSRC also provides information on training institutes for family life and marriage educators, training institutes for therapists and counselors, media consulting on stepfamily issues, expert consulting on special projects, programs, and products targeting stepfamilies; and development of educational materials for use with stepfamilies. [In 2006, the Stepfamily Association of America voted not to renew its independent organization 501(c)(3) nonprofit status and donated its history, Web site, and experts network to support the development and expansion of The National Stepfamily Resource Center.]

Keywords: Child health, Advocacy, Counseling, Self help clearinghouses, Stepfamilies, Support groups

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Annotation: The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is part of the National Suicide Prevention Initiative (NSPI), a collaborative effort led by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) that incorporates best practices and research findings in suicide prevention and intervention with the goal of reducing the incidence of suicide nationwide. The Lifeline is a network of more than 100 local crisis centers located in communities across the country that are committed to suicide prevention. Callers to the hotline will receive suicide prevention counseling from trained staff at the closest certified crisis center in the network.

Keywords: Hotlines, Counseling , Injury prevention, Intervention, Suicide

NERGG, Inc. (NERGG)

Annotation: NERGG, Inc., formerly known as the New England Regional Genetics Group, is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that collects data, provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the New England region. The NERGG Web site was funded in part by a grant from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Spanish language materials

Neurofibromatosis, Inc. (NF, Inc.)

Annotation: Neurofibromatosis, Inc. provides coordinated educational, clinical, support, and research programs for people and families affected by neurofibromatosis. The organization distributes print materials, conducts symposia and an NF camp for children, and provides peer counseling and a speakers' bureau. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a semiannual newsletter, Neurofibromatosis Ink.

Keywords: Neurofibromatosis, Health education, Information dissemination, Nervous system diseases, Peer counseling, Support groups

New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC )

Annotation: The New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC) works to promote and improve the health and social well-being of those with inherited conditions through collaborations among public health professionals, private health professionals, educators, consumers and advocates in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. The primary goal of the NEGC is to assure that individuals with genetic disorders and their families have access to quality care and appropriate genetic expertise and information in the context of a medical home that provides accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally effective care. NEGC provides online educational materials, a regional resource directory, and links to other genetics centers. The NEGC is a partnership between the Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, the New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice, and the University of New Hampshire Institute on Disability. The collaborative is supported by a cooperative agreement with the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch.

Keywords: Genetics, Consortia, Genetic services, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut., Federal programs, Public health , Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Genetic counseling, Regional genetics networks

New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program ( )

Annotation: New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program coordinates state grants to comprehensive and noncategorical clinical genetics units throughout the state. This assures that all residents of the state can access genetic diagnosis, testing, counseling and treatment regardless of their social, economic, or geographic circumstances. The state newborn screening program tests all newborns born in New York State for 40 congenital diseases and HIV. Program follow-up assures that all children identified by the program are properly referred to specialty care centers. These centers are approved by New York state to provide quality medical care to all children identified by the program. Educational materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese, and other languages.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Medical research, New York, Spanish language materials, Virgin islands

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.