Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (24 total).

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

Alive & Thrive

Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI)

Annotation: The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) is a global program sponsored by the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children’s Fund to encourage and recognize hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for lactation. The BFHI assists hospitals in giving breastfeeding mothers the information, confidence, and skills needed to successfully initiate and continue breastfeeding their babies and gives special recognition to hospitals that have done so.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion programs, Breastfeeding, Lactation

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington

Annotation: The Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington (BCW) is a statewide coalition comprised of local coalitions working together to promote, protect and support breastfeeding as a vital part of the health and development of children and families. It is a program of WithinReach and receives funding from the Washington State Department of Health. BCW goals include protecting and promoting a public environment supportive and accepting of breastfeeding; increasing the incidence and duration of breastfeeding; providing up-to-date referral and educational materials to healthcare professionals, organizations and the community at large; advocating for policies in workplaces, educational institutions and childcare facilities to support breastfeeding families in a way that is culturally relevant and sensitive. The BCW offers a free newsletter, Breastfeeding Matters.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Coalitions, Lactation, Referrals, State initiatives, Washington

Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute (CGBI)

Annotation: The Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute (CGBI) was established in 2006 within the Maternal and Child Health Department of the School of Public Health at UNC-Chapel Hill, CGBI furthers statewide, national, and global health by translating research and evidence into innovative program initiatives to increase understanding and support for optimal infant and young child feeding in relation to maternal and child health. The Institute works to normalize best practices of "the three B's" -- breastfeeding, birthspacing, and birth -- with attention to associated child health, survival, growth and development, and maternal reproductive health and survival. The website includes links to CGBI's breastfeeding-friendly initiatives, research findings, toolkits for action, and educational opportunities.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Health promotion, Infant feeding, MCH programs

Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI)

Annotation: The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI), part of La Leche League International, was established in 1989. CBI maintains a collection of about 40,000 articles on breastfeeding which can be searched at no charge using an online database. The center also provides bibliographies and links to breastfeeding information for consumers and professionals.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

Childbirth Graphics

Annotation: This publisher has easy-to-read materials on pregnancy, pregnancy hazards, postpartum, parenting, teen pregnancy, nutrition, newborns, high-risk pregnancy, labor and birth, breastfeeding, and women's health, including books, PowerPoint/CD ROMs, charts, posters,flip charts, and other materials.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Parenting, Pregnancy

Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health (IRH)

Annotation: The Institute for Reproductive Health, formerly the Institute for International Studies in Natural Family Planning, located at Georgetown University, conducts research and provides technical assistance on improving access to natural methods and expanding family planning options for women and couples worldwide. The Institute's work focuses on developing simple new natural methods, providing technical assistance to strengthen service provision, developing appropriate training programs and teaching aids, conducting clinical and operations research, and collaborating with international organizations. The Institute has developed the "Standard Days Method" (SDM) - a natural method of family planning developed for women with menstrual cycles between 26 and 32 days (described in the results of a clinical trial published in the May 2003 issue of the journal Contraception). The Institute provides referrals and maintains an online resource library. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Family planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Information services, Medical research, Natural family planning, Resource centers

HealthConnect One

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Human Milk Banking Association of North America (HMBANA)

Annotation: The Human Milk Banking Association of North America has members in the United States and Canada. The association's milk banks not only provide milk to client hospitals but also serve many infants in the home who need milk because of medical conditions such as formula intolerance or feeding issues related to prematurity. Links to related resources are provided on the website and publications on establishing and operating donor human milk banks, as well as information on pumping, storing, and handling human milk can be purchased for a fee.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Milk banks

Illinois Breastfeeding Blueprint

Annotation: In 2008, a group of collaborators began an initiative to increase breastfeeding rates and decrease disparities in Illinois. HealthConnect One, the Illinois Department of Human Services' Title V Maternal and Child Health Program, and the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health committed to a multi-year effort to plan for strategic change in the way breastfeeding is supported in Illinois. Efforts involve advocacy and promotion to new mothers, hospitals, and communities.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health promotion, Illinois, Infant nutrition, State initiatives

Information and Knowledge for Optimal Health Project (INFO Project)

International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN)

Annotation: The International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN) consists of public interest groups working around the world to reduce infant and young child morbidity and mortality. IBFAN aims to improve the health and well being of babies and young children, their mothers and their families through the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding and optimal infant feeding practices. Information and publications are available online through IBFAN's Resource Center. Materials are available in English, French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Health promotion, Infant feeding. Infant health, International health

International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE)

Annotation: The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) is a non-profit organization established to develop and administer the certification examination for lactation consultants. IBLCE sets standards that protect mothers and babies; motivates health professionals to broaden their breastfeeding expertise; works to raise the standards of care in lactation management; and protects, promotes and supports breastfeeding worldwide. The organization distributes publications to inform the public, health care professionals, educators, potential candidates, and current IBCLCs about issues governing credentials for certification. Information on continuing education opportunities is also available on the Web site.

Keywords: Certification, Breastfeeding, Consultants, Lactation, Professional societies

International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA)

Annotation: The International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) promotes the professional development, advancement, and recognition of International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLC) worldwide for the benefit of breastfeeding women, infants, and children. ILCA publishes a newsletter and a journal, sponsors workshops and conferences, and provides referrals, publications, database access, and inquiry responses for consumers.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Information dissemination, Lactation

La Leche League International (LLLI)

Annotation: La Leche League International (LLLI) offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. All or parts of the website have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers, Spanish language materials

Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC)

Annotation: The Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC) reviews and grants formal recognition to education programs in lactation. LEAARC recognition is a formal, non-governmental, peer-review process of voluntary self evaluation. The website lists standards for accreditation and provides a list of approved courses.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Professional training, Standards: Accreditation

Lactation Education Resources

Annotation: Lactation Education Resources strives to raise the standard of practice of certified lactation consultants by offering quality training programs and innovative educational materials for those who desire to become certified lactation consultants and continuing education for those who are certified. This program provides information on both on-site and online training opportunities, incuding Web links to self-learning modules, power-point presentations, and counseling protocols. Clinical updates and parent handouts can be downloaded from the Web site.The program is a contuation of the National Capitol Lactation Center at Georgetown University, which was dissolved in 1997.

Keywords: Lactation specialists, Breastfeeding. Consultants, Continuing education, Parent materials, Professional training, Training materials

Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition

Annotation: Founded in May 1996, the Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition (MBC) arose out of a need for a statewide coalition to coordinate the efforts of many diverse breastfeeding advocacy groups in the Commonwealth. The MBC focuses on improving public health by making breastfeeding the norm through education, advocacy, and collaboration. Activities involve helping health care providers support and promote breastfeeding, prevent breastfeeding problems, and recognize them and solve them easily should they occur. All materials are evidence-based, free from commercial bias, and are available from the website at no cost.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Massachusetts, State initiatives

National Alliance for Breastfeeding Advocacy (NABA)

Annotation: The National Alliance for Breastfeeding Advocacy (NABA) is dedicated to the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding as an integral part of a vision of wellness for the United States of America. It was formed to be the advocate who endeavors to link and facilitate those involved in national maternal/child health into a cohesive network to this end. NABA's mission is to coordinate efforts by organizations, agencies, institutions, and individuals towards the development of strategic plans, policies, and goals for breastfeeding reform in the USA. NABA provides promotional materials, publications, and a newsletter. Its Web site includes a directory of breastfeeding resources by state and a list of formula recalls.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant nutrition

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.