Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (25 total).

Atlantic Coast Child Welfare Implementation Center, Regions III and IV

Annotation: The Atlantic Coast Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with states and tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region III, Region IV, Regional programs, Technical assistance

DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP)

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Heartland Regional Genetics and Newborn Screening Collaborative

Annotation: The Heartland Regional Genetics and Newborn Screening Collaborative -- formerly the Great Plains Regional Network -- encompasses the eight states of Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and South Dakota, all working together to promote access to quality clinical genetic services, genetic testing, and public health programs for the citizens of the states within the Heartland collaborative. The collaborative works to improve access to expanded newborn screening, professional and public genetics literacy, equitable access to genetics evaluation, counseling and testing services, and cooperation between neighboring states within the region. The collaborative aims to facilitate and promote collaboration, assessment, planning, program development and evaluation, education, research and public policy activities related to these issues. The web site is designed to facilitate communication within the collaborative and to inform the collaborative of regional genetics resources, projects and events. The collaborative is one of seven Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Collaborative Groups (RCs) designated by the Genetics Services Branch, Bureau of Maternal and Child Health, Health Resources and Services Administration in 2004.

Keywords: Genetics, Genetic services, Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Regional genetics network, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Public health, Federal programs

Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation

Annotation: The Inland Northwest SIDS Foundation offers public education on safe sleep practices for infants, bringing awareness to SIDS and other Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and providing grief support to those who have experienced the loss of an infant. The Foundation provides educational materials on SIDS, safe sleep, and grief support; professional training for child care centers, classrooms; and hospitals; monthly safe sleep classes for parents, caregivers, and medical providers; and grief support meetings for those who have experienced a loss.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Idaho, Prevention, Regional programs, SIDS

Metropolitan Washington Public Health Association (MWPHA)

Annotation: The Metropolitan Washington Public Health Association (MWPHA) is a regional affiliate of the American Public Health Association. It works to improve the health of the Metropolitan Washington, D.C., area.

Keywords: Public health, Health promotion, Regional programs

Midwest Child Welfare Implementation Center

Annotation: The Midwest Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with States and Tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families. This center serves Regions V and VII.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region V, Region VII, Regional programs, Technical assistance

Mountains and Plains Child Welfare Implementation Center

Annotation: The Mountains and Plains Child Welfare Implementation Center is one of five regional training and technical assistance (TTA) centers funded by the Children's Bureau to partner with States and Tribes to execute projects that will focus on the implementation of strategies that their child welfare systems have identified to improve the quality and effectiveness of child welfare services for children, youth, and families. This center serves Regions VI and VIII.

Keywords: Training, Child welfare, Region VI, Region VIII, Regional programs, Technical assistance

National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers

Annotation: The National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers (NCTRC) is an affiliation of the 14 Telehealth Resource Centers funded individually through cooperative agreements from the Health Resources & Services Administration, Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. The goal of the NCTRC is to increase the consistency, efficiency, and impact of federally funded telehealth technical assistance services. This was made possible by 14 Telehealth Resource Centers and administered through grant #G22RH30365 from the Office for the Advancement of Telehealth, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Policy development, Regional programs, Resources for professionals, Technical assistance, Telehealth, Underserved communities

National Coordinating Center for the Regional Genetic and Newborn Screening Service Collaboratives

Annotation: The National Coordinating Center for the Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Service Collaboratives (NCC) -- which was established along with seven Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Collaborative Groups (RCs) in 2004 -- is part of the federal initiative to improve the health of children and their families by promoting the translation of genetic medicine into public health and health care services. The NCC provides infrastructure, coordination, technical assistance, and resources to the various RCs. The coordinating center also facilitates local projects and uses communities identified through the RCs to pilot test materials for policymakers, health professionals and families. Technical assistance is provided to the RCs in the areas of telemedicine, legal issues, and the assessment of state and federal legislation that may affect the delivery of genetic and newborn screening services. NCC's webcasts on topics such as financing of newborn screening and genetic services and the use of telegenetics to increase access to services are archived at www.mchcom.com. Other online resources include a page for parents and families; resources for professionals; links to glossaries and reference services; newsletters, reports, and other publications; and advocacy and support group information. The NCC is formed as a partnership with the Genetic Services Branch of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (HRSA) through a cooperative agreement with the American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG). The NCC is organized around a central office and an Advisory Committee which includes the seven RCs and representatives of national organizations that serve as resources to the NCC and the RCs.

Keywords: Genetics, Resource centers, Federal programs, Genetic services, Genetics education, National MCH resource center, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Public health, Regional genetics networks

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Greater Midwest Region (NN/LM GMR)

Annotation: The Greater Midwest Regional Medical Library serves Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. The NN/LM GMR provides training classes and demonstrations on information technology, health information on the world wide web, and the National Library of Medicine's databases. The staff exhibits at a number of state and national meetings and holds training sessions at professional meetings.

Keywords: Libraries, Goverment programs, Midwest region, Region III, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Midcontinental Region (NN/LM MR)

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine - Midcontinental Region (NN/LM-MR) serves Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Utah, and Wyoming. NN/LM-MR strives to promote health information services and access to all health care providers and consumers. The organization offers referrals, publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Midcontential region, Region IV, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region (NN/LM MAR)

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, is the Regional Medical Library for Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The NN/LM MAR provides training classes and demonstrations on information technology, health information on the world wide web, and the National Library of Medicine's databases. The staff exhibits at a number of state and national meetings and holds training sessions at professional meetings.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Middle Atlantic region, Region I, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region (NN/LM NER)

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region, is the Regional Medical Library for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. It sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, New England, Region VIII, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region (NN/LM PNR)

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region (NNLM PNR), is the Regional Medical Library for Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. NNLM PNR provides referrals, sponsors workshops, and publishes a newsletter. The University of Washington also serves as the Outreach Evaluation Resource Center (OERC) and as the Web Services Technology Operations Center (Web-STOC).

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Northwestern United States, Pacific Northwest region, Region VI, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region (NN/LM PSRML)

Annotation: The library serves as the headquarters for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region and is the Regional Medical Library for Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the U.S. Territories in the Pacific Basin. The library provides referrals, for health professionals and consumers, to libraries in the region that provide access to the biomedical literature. The librarypublishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars for health professionals, health sciences librarians, and consumer health information service providers. Subscription to a professional list service is also available.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Listservs, Pacific Southwest region, Region VII, Regional programs

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region (NN/LM SCR)

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region (NN/LM SCR) encompasses Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. The regional medical library serving the region is the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library. NN/LM SCR provides reference information and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars. Publications include "Network News", an electronic newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Region V, Regional programs, South central region

National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region (NN/LM SE/A )

Annotation: The National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Southeastern/Atlantic Region at the Health Sciences and Human Services Library, University of Maryland, Baltimore is the Regional Medical Library for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The NN/LM SE/A provides training classes and demonstrations on information technology, health information on the world wide web, and the National Library of Medicine's databases. The staff exhibits at a number of state and national meetings and holds training sessions at professional meetings. Consumers may call the office for information referrals. SEA Currents is the SE/A newsletter.

Keywords: Libraries, Government programs, Region II, Regional programs, Southeastern region, Atlantic region, Southern United States

Native American Professional Parent Resources, Albuquerque Area Dental Support Center

Annotation: The Native American Professional Parent Resources' Albuquerque Area Dental Support Center provides training, technical assistance, and other support to dental clinics in the Albuquerque area of the Indian Health Service, which includes all of New Mexico, as well as southern Colorado and El Paso, Texas. Through continuing education opportunities, the development and distribution of culturally relevant materials, and other activities, the Dental Support Center works to improve the oral health status of American Indians/Alaska Natives.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Dental clinics, Oral health, Regional programs, Technical assistance, Training

New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC )

Annotation: The New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC) works to promote and improve the health and social well-being of those with inherited conditions through collaborations among public health professionals, private health professionals, educators, consumers and advocates in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. The primary goal of the NEGC is to assure that individuals with genetic disorders and their families have access to quality care and appropriate genetic expertise and information in the context of a medical home that provides accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally effective care. NEGC provides online educational materials, a regional resource directory, and links to other genetics centers. The NEGC is a partnership between the Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, the New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice, and the University of New Hampshire Institute on Disability. The collaborative is supported by a cooperative agreement with the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch.

Keywords: Genetics, Consortia, Genetic services, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut., Federal programs, Public health , Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Genetic counseling, Regional genetics networks

New York-Mid-Atlantic Consortium for Genetic and Newborn Screening Services (NYMAC )

Annotation: The New York-Mid-Atlantic Consortium for Genetic and Newborn Screening Services (NYMAC) was established in September 2004 as one of seven regional collaboratives in the country funded by the Genetic Services Branch in the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)'s Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The charge of this group is to develop a regional approach to address the maldistribution of genetic resources in the New York-Mid-Atlantic region, which includes Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. The Wadsworth Center, New York State Department of Health is the lead institution for this project.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Federal programs, Genetic services, Genetics, Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia., Public health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.