Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Annotation: The 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, Children's Defense Fund, and The Children's Partnership, with primary funding from The California Endowment, was created to ensure that all of California's children obtain the health coverage they need to grow up strong and healthy.

Keywords: Health insurance, Access to health care, Child health

Annotation: 211 LA County provides access to a comprehensive range of human services to the people of Los Angeles County, California. It also provides access to the Taxonomy of Human Services, a classification system for indexing resources in information and referral databases that was developed by INFO LINE of Los Angeles, the predecessor to 211 LA County, and that is endorsed by the national association Alliance for Information and Referral Systems and United Way of America as the standard indexing system for the industry.

Keywords: California, Human services, Information systems, Local initiatives, Referrals

Annotation: 4Kira4Moms' mission is to fight for improved maternal outcomes through advocacy and coalition building, educate the public about the impact of maternal mortality in communities, provide peer support to victim’s families, and promote the idea that maternal mortality should be viewed, and discussed, as a human rights issue.

Annotation: 4p– (or Wolf Hirschhorn Syndrome) Support Group was founded in 1985 to help families affected by chromosome 4p deletion. Information is sent only to parents of affected children. Publications include a newsletter. The group sponsors biannual conferences and biannual regional gatherings.

Keywords: Chromosomal deletion, Chromosome 4, Parent groups

Annotation: The 4th Trimester Project's vision is that every woman receives the social, emotional, physical, and economic support she needs to successfully transition through the postpartum period and into her new identity and life as a mother. The 4th Trimester Project seeks to lift up women’s voices, ideas, and needs so mothers design the change they want to see. They are partnering with people from across the country to share the best information available to support postpartum health and wellness via their website, and to seek answers when knowledge gaps are identified.

Annotation: The 5p– Society is a parent support organization for families of children with 5p– Syndrome (also known as Cri-du-Chat and Cat Cry Syndrome). The society's mission is to encourage and facilitate communication among families having a child with 5p–Syndrome and to spread the awareness and education of the syndrome to these families and their service providers. The society works with leading genetics and medical researchers to further research efforts, and holds an annual national meeting. Publications are available to consumers. Publications include the 5p– Newsletter.

Keywords: Cri du chat syndrome, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups, Support groups, Medical research

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: A Better Balance promotes justice in the workplace, especially for women, caregivers and people with health needs of their own. They work across every level of government to pass and enforce policies that combat poverty, advance racial and gender equity, and protect workers' ability to care for themselves, their children and their loved ones. A Better Balance runs a free legal helpline, conducts extensive public education, and works in every corner of the country, and in Congress, to pass and enforce critical work-family policies that will change the nature and makeup of caregiving.

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Keywords: Arizona, Dental education, Dental schools, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: AARP, formerly the American Association of Retired Persons, serves people over age 50 by promoting their independence, purpose, and dignity through legislative advocacy, research, informative programs, and promoting community service. AARP has chapters in every state and over 2,500 local chapters. The association publishes AARP Magazine and the monthly AARP Bulletin. The AARP Web site provides online information, services and tools to help people 50+ get the most out of life. AARP's Web site offers information on a broad range of topics, including AARP's public policies, answers to financial planning questions, guidance on health and wellness, tips for coping with difficult life transitions, as well as opportunities to contact elected government officials, and participate in discussion groups and online courses. Publications on a variety of subjects such as health and fitness, financial and retirement planning, housing, and more are available free to both members and nonmembers. In addition to consumer education, AARP conducts and publishes research on aging issues and analyzes related national and state policies through its Public Policy Institute. AARP has a Research Information Center, which specializes in social gerontology, and an online database, AgeLine. AARP also produces "Prime Time Radio," a weekly interview program focusing on the interests of people 40 and over, and "Mature Focus Radio," which offers daily brief discussions on topics of interest to older people. Other broadcast activities include radio features in English and Spanish, educational documentaries and TV video news releases. AARP programs include: AARP Independent Living/Long-Term Care/End-of-Life Issue, AARP Driver Safety Program, Tax Aide, Senior Community Service Employment Program, and Volunteering. Some publications are also available in Spanish.

Keywords: Aging, Retirement

Annotation: The American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is a professional organization for educational leaders inAmerica and many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to quality public education for all children. AASA brings together administrators of school systems and educational service agencies, school district superintendents, placement officers, directors and administrators of education associations, heads of private schools, college deans and educational administration professors, and central, building, and service unit administrators. The association sponsors annual professional development through conferences. Publications include The Leader's Edge (delivered electronically) and The School Administrator, a monthly magazine

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, Education

Annotation: Abbott Laboratories is an American multinational medical devices and health care company. In 1964, it merged with Ross Laboratories, making Ross a wholly owned subsidiary of Abbott.

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Annotation: The Ability Society of Alberta is committed to enhancing the lives of persons with any type of disability by providing information, education, and access to advance technology. The Society provides innovative, appropriate, and needed technical aids to individuals with any type of disability, seniors, their families, and support systems. All equipment and resources at the Ability Society are available to test in house or borrow on a short-term basis. Services to consumers include reference information and referrals. The Society also sponsors training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Special health care needs