Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (1,514 total).

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2020. Coronavirus disease and oral health: Information for parents about visiting the dental office. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 p.

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about taking their child to the dentist during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of getting oral health care for children. It also lists changes that dental offices may have made to lower the risk of spreading COVID-19 to patients and parents. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

Surdu S, Langelier M, Dhar S, Stufflebeam M with Keough L. 2019. Consumer survey of barriers to and facilitators of access to oral health services. Albany, NY: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, 75 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a survey conducted to evaluate factors that consumers identify as impacting their access to oral health services and to explore differences in utilization of oral health services by demographically distinct population groups. The report presents findings from the literature review and results of the study. Results are divided into the following categories: characteristics of survey respondents, perceived need for oral health services, utilization of oral health services among those indicating a need for such services, access to oral health services among those indicating a need for such services, and factors influencing utilization of oral health services among those indicating a need for such services.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care utilization, Oral health, Access to health care, Research, Surveys

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2019. Healthy smiles for mom and baby: Implementation guide. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes an approach to increasing pregnant women’s and infants’ utilization of oral health services by implementing two models for obtaining oral health care: (1) maintaining a closed referral system and (2) integrating preventive oral health services into Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) services. The guide also highlights educational activities for health professionals and social services professionals who provide care to pregnant women and parents with infants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: , Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC program

Bauerly BC, McLain L. 2019. Collaborative practice as a strategy for increasing access to oral health care in Minnesota. St Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 15 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on collaborative practice models as a strategy to increase access to oral health care for underserved communities in Minnesota. Part I outlines work force data from the Minnesota Department of Health. Part II describes how collaborative practice models can improve access to care, highlights key legal features of each of these models, and addresses barriers. Part III discusses Medicaid reimbursement policy and why raising reimbursement rates is critical to improving oral health care access. Although the brief focuses on Minnesota, much of the information may have national relevance.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Utah Department of Health, Office of Health Disparities. 2019. Survey of oral health professionals and students who volunteered at the UDOH Office of Health Disparities' Dental Day Clinics. Utah Department of Health, Office of Health Disparities, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a survey of volunteers working at the Utah Department of Health, Office of Health Disparities (OHD) dental day clinics, where patients receive care at no charge. The purpose of the survey was to measure the effectiveness of OHD’s strategies. The report provides background, describes the National Partnership for Action to End Health Disparities framework used to guide efforts related to the dental day clinics, and presents key findings.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Office of Health Disparities, Cannon Health Building , 288 North 1460 West , Salt Lake City, UT 84106, Web Site: https://health.utah.gov/disparities/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, State programs, Surveillance, Dental clinics, Utah

Freed M, Neuman T, Jacobson G. 2019. Drilling down on dental coverage and costs for Medicare beneficiaries. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 25 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief reviews the state of oral health for older adults on Medicare. It describes the health and economic consequences of foregoing oral health care, sources of dental coverage, out-of-pocket costs of oral health care, and use of oral health services. Data and methods are discussed.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicare, Older adults, Oral health, Statistical data

DentaQuest. 2019. Reversible decay: Oral health is a public health problem we can solve. Boston, MA: DentaQuest, 13 pp. (Research report)

Annotation: This report provides information about a study conducted to learn about perspectives on oral health care in the United States. The study included five groups of stakeholders: patients, dentists, physicians, employers, and Medicaid dental administrators. The report discusses Americans’ satisfaction with the oral health care system, barriers to accessing oral health care, the relationship between access to oral health care and overall health, collaborative solutions, and the importance of prevention. Also discussed are the potential of expanded public health benefits to reduce barriers to accessing oral health care, benefits models, and value-based care initiatives.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Research

Martin M, Silver M, Okada B, Michelson K, Steed S. 2019. An analysis of Utah's emergency department non-traumatic dental visits 2007-2017. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to assess the rate of oral-health-related emergency department (ED) visits to all Utah hospitals between 2007 and 2017, as well as monetary charges associated with those visits. The report presents study methods, including data and analysis, and key findings in the following areas: (1) who goes to the ED for non-traumatic oral health visits and (2) challenges with insurance coverage and access to oral health care in Utah. Data are presented in tables and figures.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 142002, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2002, Telephone: (801) 273-2995 Web Site: http://health.utah.gov/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency room data, Oral health, Utah: State programs

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2019. Getting to know me: Information for your dental office while you are pregnant. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 p.

Annotation: This form is designed as a tool for pregnant women to provide information to help dental office staff understand and meet their needs. The form includes information about prenatal care received, what the woman does to take care of her mouth and teeth, and what questions she has about taking care of her mouth and teeth. It also includes information about problems experienced during pregnancy and whether the woman smokes, vapes, or drinks alcohol. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: , Forms, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Treatment

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2019. Teledentistry: How technology can facilitate access to care. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 5 pp. (White paper)

Annotation: This paper presents information about how technology can facilitate access to oral health care. Barriers to access are described, including lack of insurance coverage, transportation difficulties, low income, and an insufficient number of dentists who participate in Medicaid. The paper provides a definition of teledentistry, and its role in filling these gaps is discussed. Challenges associated with the use of teledentistry are described, and methods are presented.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Rural population, Teledentistry, Oral health

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.2 smoking in the household evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 139 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Neufeld L, Gero A, Harris H; redesigned by Shipp S. [2018?]. Final report 2017/2018 school year: Adolescent oral health csmpaign. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, Bureau of Maternal and Child Health, 14 pp.

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Utah Department of Health's Oral Health Program's Adolescent Oral Health Campaign during the 2017–2018 school year. The goal of the campaign was to educate Utah middle school and high school students about oral health and to encourage positive oral health behaviors and increase utilization of oral health services. Topics include goals and objectives, methods, results, and limitations. Tables and charts with statistical data are included.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Cannon Health Building , 288 North 1460 West , Salt Lake City, UT , Telephone: (801) 538-6111 Fax: (801) 538-6306 Web Site: http://health.utah.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health care utilization, Health promotion, Oral health, Public awareness campaigns, State programs, Utah

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2018. HHS strategic plan and Secretary's strategic initiatives: Strategic plan FY 2018–2022. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, multiple items.

Annotation: This strategic plan provides priorities, accomplishments, and next steps that are tracked and updated frequently, reinforcing the strategic plan’s function as a living, vital document that serves a genuine management purpose. The plan addresses 5 strategic goals: (1) reform, strengthen, and modernize the nation's healthcare system; (2) protect the health of Americans where they live, learn, work, and play; (3) strengthen the economic and social well-being of Americans across the lifespan; (4) foster sound, sustained advances in the sciences; and (5) promote effective and efficient management and stewardship.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Strategic plans, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2018. Medicaid adult dental benefits: An overview [upd.]. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet identifies key challenges related to oral health care access and utilization for adults with low incomes, including pregnant women, and outlines states’ coverage of dental benefits for adults who participate in Medicaid. It also suggests opportunities for states to increase oral health care coverage and access for this population. The fact sheet includes an overview of Medicaid adult dental benefits.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health insurance, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care. 2018. Health center program fact sheet: America's primary care safety net working to address oral health. Rockville, MD: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes how health centers increase access to oral health care in the communities they serve. Contents include information about oral health services provided and the number of visits and patients served. Topics include activities to increase access to oral health care for underserved populations, modernize the safety net infrastructure and delivery system, improve oral health outcomes, and promote an innovative organizational culture. Links to resources for general information and technical assistance for health centers are also included.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (301) 480-4098 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bphc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Oral health, Organizational change, Primary care, Public health infrastructure, Service delivery systems, Technical assistance, Underserved communities

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2018. Addressing tobacco in dental settings: A resource for dental professionals. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document for oral health professionals focuses on screening and counseling for tobacco use and exposure during dental visits. The document explains why addressing tobacco use and exposure is important and provides guidelines for how to screen and provide counseling in 1–3 minutes using the “5As” protocol: ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange. Tobacco and oral health facts are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Counseling, Health screening, Oral health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Maryland Department of Health. 2018. Oral health in Maryland. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This infographic provides statistical information about the percentage of pregnant women with oral health problems who visit a dentist. It includes statements about the importance and safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy and about public insurance coverage for oral health care during pregnancy in Maryland. A website address with more information is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Statistical data

Maryland Department of Health. 2018. Oral health and pregnancy. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women and families provides information about the importance of good oral health habits during pregnancy for women and their infant. It provides information about oral health coverage for women in Maryland, the safety of receiving oral health care while pregnant, and oral conditions that can occur during pregnancy. Tips about how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy are provided, and myths and facts about oral health during pregnancy are presented. The resource is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Connecticut Department of Public Health. 2018. Oral health improvement plan for Connecticut 2019-2024. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 22 pp.

Annotation: This plan was developed to guide state and community programs in their efforts to improve the oral health of all Connecticut residents. It consists of four focus areas: prevention, access to and utilization of oral health care, integration of oral health services and general health services, and data collection and analysis. The plan outlines 16 objectives under the four focus areas, offers suggested strategies, and lists potential partners. The state of oral health in Connecticut is also addressed.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Community programs, Connecticut, Data analysis, Data collection, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, State programs

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2018. Clinical guidance for treating pregnant and parenting women with opioid use disorder and their infants. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 159 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides guidance for the optimal management of pregnant and parenting women with opioid use disorder (OUD) and their infants, based on recommendations of experts as of 2017. The guide is designed to help health professionals and women determine the most clinically appropriate action for a particular circumstance. In addition to offering background information, the guide includes fact sheets divided into the following sections: prenatal care, infant care, and maternal postnatal care. Each fact sheet includes a clinical scenario, clinical action steps, supporting evidence and clinical considerations, and links to and descriptions of online resources on the topic.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: (SMA) 18-5054. .

Keywords: Narcotics, Parents, Guidelines, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Prenatal addiction, Substance dependence, Substance use disorders, Treatment

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.