Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (174 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative. 2015. Brush, Book, Bed: A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics—Implementation guide. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 23 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to help pediatricians and other health professionals improve the implementation of oral health services in the medical home through the Brush, Book, Bed program by linking oral health information to messages about reading to children and setting a regular bedtime. The program is aimed at parents of infants and children ages 6 months to 6 years. Topics include workflow, training and resources, talking points, supplies and tips, dental referral, and coding for oral health services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: oralhealth@aap.org Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Infants, Literacy, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pediatric care, Reading, Safety, School age children, Service integration, Sleep, Young children

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2014, 2015. What does a safe sleep environment look like? Reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death [upd.]. Bethesda, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 2 pp. (Safe to Sleep® )

Annotation: This handout provides information on crib-safety guidelines and other strategies to reduce the risk of SIDS and other sleep-related causes of infant death. The handout is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-5759, 12-5759(S).

Keywords: Injury prevention, Parent education, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, infant death

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2014. Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death: Questions and answers for health care providers. Bethesda, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 32 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for health professionals provides answers to common questions about sudden infant death syndrome and other sleep-related causes of infant death. The booklet, part of the Safe to Sleep® campaign, also includes references to scientific articles that describe the evidence on which the answers are based.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 14-7202.

Keywords: Infant mortality, Infants, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Sleep position

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Back to Sleep Campaign. 2014. Safe sleep for your baby: Reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) (upd. ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 12 pp. (Safe to Sleep® )

Annotation: This brochure provides answers to common questions about sudden infant death syndrome and encourages parents and other caregivers to share the messages with everyone who cares for their infant or for any infant under age 1. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. It has also been adapted for outreach to African Americans and American Indians and Alaska Natives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-5355 (African Americans), 12-7040 (English), 12-7040(S) (Spanish), 12-7462 (American Indians/Alaska Natives).

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Cultural factors, Infant death, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Horky SC, Lorenzo SB, Wagner MH. 2014. Sleep in babies, kids, teens, and pregnant women: Family resource brief (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find sleep centers and specialists and websites about sleep and sleep problems in babies, kids, teens, and pregnant women. A separate section lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Families, Infants, Pregnant women, Sleep, Sleep disorders, Young children

Connecticut Office of the Child Advocate, and Connecticut Child Fatality Review Panel. 2014. Alert: Unsafe sleep related deaths are the leading cause of preventable deaths of infants in Connecticut. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 8 pp.

Annotation: This public health alert outlines infant fatalities and unsafe sleep conditions in Connecticut and provides recommendations for prevention. Contents include risk factors associated with infant fatality including sudden unexplained or undetermined infant death, case examples, and a definition of an unsafe sleep-related infant fatality. Additional content includes information on how often infants die from unsafe sleeping conditions; the most common unsafe sleep environments in fatality cases; infant fatalities over time and trends; and the Connecticut Department of Children and Families' role in infant death prevention and policy development. The alert includes recommendations for policymakers, in-home service providers, child care providers, pediatricians, and hospitals, and safe sleep guidelines for parents.

Contact: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 999 Asylum Avenue, 1st Floor, Hartford, CT 06105, Telephone: (860) 566-2106 Secondary Telephone: (800) 994-0939 Fax: (860) 566-2251 E-mail: oca@ct.gov Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/oca Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death review, Connecticut, Infant death, Infant mortality, Policy development, Protective factors, Public awareness materials, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs, Trends

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Safe infant sleep. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), the recommended safe sleep practices to reduce the risk of SIDS and other sleep-related infant deaths, and strategies for state and territorial health agencies to reduce the rates of SIDS and other sleep-related infant deaths. Topics include laws and regulations, Cribs for Kids, safe sleep campaigns, WIC messaging, and public health recommendations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education, Environmental influences, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Legislation, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Regulations, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Safe sleep roundtable report. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations from a meeting held on January 24, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia, to identify priorities around safe infant sleep and develop an action plan to address those priorities. Contents include background on safe sleep; a summary of best practices; and recommendations and next steps for federal partners, state health departments, community organizations, and others. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Infant death, Infants, Meetings, Model programs, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Program improvement, SIDS: Injury prevention, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

National Association for the Education of Young Children. 2014. Program administrator's guide to evaluating safe sleep and SIDS reduction practices: Criterion 5.A.12. Washington, DC: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document is designed to help administrators of programs serving infants under age 12 months to focus program improvement efforts on safe sleep and SIDS risk reduction practices. Contents include instructions for administrators; a definition of SIDS and other infant deaths; linking research on SIDS to child care accreditation criteria; and reflective questions and optional related activities on observable safe sleep practices, ongoing monitoring plan, and collaboration with families. Myths and facts, tips on infant sleep hygiene, and related resources are included.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Collaboration, Family professional relations, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Research, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Sleep position

Gittelman M, Denny S, Southworth H, Arnold MW. 2014. Ohio AAPs comprehensive approach to addressing Ohio's infant safe sleep. American Academy of Pediatrics, Ohio Chapter, 21 pp.

Annotation: This presentation describes efforts by the Ohio chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics to reduce post-neonatal deaths, focusing on pediatrician education about safe sleep, a statewide program, an hospitalist program, and child abuse and maltreatment. It compares these initiatives to its successful bike helmet initiative. Safe sleep marketing and an action plan are described.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Ohio, Prevention programs, SIDS, Sleep, Social media, State programs, Sudden infant death

Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. 2014. WSCJTC safe infant sleep roll call training. Burien, WA: Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, 1 video (11 min., 54 sec.).

Annotation: This video for law enforcement professionals provides an introduction to the Cops-N-Cribs program. Topics include the basics of safe infant sleep practices and their relationship to sudden infant death prevention. The video also describes a crib distribution program to help parents and other caregivers provide a safe sleep environment for infants.

Contact: Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, 19010 1st Avenue South, Burien, WA 98148, Telephone: (206) 835-7300 Secondary Telephone: (206) 439-2895 Web Site: https://fortress.wa.gov/cjtc/www Available from the website.

Keywords: Criminal justice system, Infant death, Injury prevention, Safety programs, Sleep position, Training, Unintentional injuries

Middlemiss W, Kendall-Tackett K, eds. 2014. The science of mother-infant sleep: Current findings on bedsharing, breastfeeding, sleep training, and normal infant sleep. Amarillo, TX: Praeclarus Press, LLC, 224 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of recent articles that address the topics of bedsharing, breastfeeding, sleep training, and normal infant sleep. Section I covers bedsharing, breastfeeding and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); Section II covers the impact of sleep training and cry-it-out techniques; and Section III explores working with parents around sleep issues.

Contact: Praeclarus Press, 2304 Sweetgum Lane, Amarillo, TX 79124, Telephone: (806) 367-9950 Web Site: Http:www.praeclaruspress.com Document Number: ISBN 9781939807045.

Keywords: Infant care, Research, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sudden infant death

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2014. Brush, book, bed: How to structure your child's nighttime routine. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource describes a program that encourages parents to have a predictable nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush his or her teeth, reading a favorite book or two, and getting the child to bed at a regular time. Additional information and resources on oral health, early literacy, and healthy sleep for infants, toddlers, and school-age children are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Literacy, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Reading, Safety, School age children, Sleep, Young children

Wiessinger D, West D, Smith LJ, Pitman T. 2014. Sweet sleep: Nighttime and naptime strategies for the breastfeeding family. New York, NY: Ballantine Books, 484 pp.

Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida. (2013). Safe infant sleep: Sleep right, sleep tight. Tallahassee, FL: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida,

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from a campaign to educate new and expectant parents and others in Florida about safe infant sleep. Contents include a video for Healthy Start and Healthy Families home visitors, hospitals, birthing centers, doctors’ offices, and others; a 30-second public service announcement (PSA) for television and radio broadcast; a print ad; and four handouts to address specific parent-identified barriers to practicing safe sleep. The PSA and handouts are available in English, Spanish, and Creole.

Contact: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida, 111 North Gadsden Street, Suite 200, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1507, Telephone: (850) 921-4494 Fax: (850) 921-9070 Web Site: http://www.ounce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Campaigns, Florida, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Safe Kids Upstate. (2013). The Upstate Cribs for Kids Program. Greenville, SC: Safe Kids Upstate,

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: cfryer@ghs.org Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

Ohio Department of Health. (2013). Preventing infant mortality. [Columbus, OH]: Ohio Department of Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet focuses on efforts to prevent infant mortality in Ohio. It provides information about the Ohio Department of Health's (ODH's) safe sleep campaign, its progesterone prematurity project, its prenatal smoking-cessation initiative, and its decision to add severe combined immune deficiency and critical congenital heart disease to its list of newborn screening items. ODH's project to reduce elective deliveries before 39 weeks' gestation, its institute for equity in birth outcomes, and its support for select communities to participate in an initiative to improve black infant mortality and prematurity rates are also discussed.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Infant death, Infant mortality, Neonatal screening, Ohio, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention services, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Network of Infant/Toddlers Research, U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation. (2013). Sleeping safe?. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and others who care for infants provides advice for improving baby's sleep environment and reducing the risks associated with sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include healthy pregnancy; safe sleep surfaces; room sharing; placing baby on his/her back for sleep every time; prevent smoking, alcohol, and drug use near baby; and to breastfeed and later, a pacifier.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: csninfo@edc.org Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child safety, Infant care, Infant death, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Moving beyond Back to Sleep to Safe to Sleep. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 video (90 min.).

Annotation: This webinar discusses the science driving the renamed national “Safe to Sleep” Campaign, what resources are available focused on safe infant sleep, and how to promote this broader public health message not only to parents of infants, but non-parental caregivers, and traditional and non-traditional outreach partners.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, National programs, Outreach, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position, Statistical data, Suffocation, Trends

Change for Our Children. 2013. Baby essentials online. Christchurch, New Zealand: Change for Our Children,

Annotation: This toolkit contains information for parents, healthcare providers, and communities to provide for well-being and safety of infants. It is an interactive slide presentation with audio offering a short quiz and information about Sudden Unexpected Infant Death and how to reduce the risk of accidental death during sleep.

Contact: Change for Our Children, P.O. Box 36406, Christchurch, NZ 8146, Telephone: (03) 379-6686 Fax: (03) 353-9269 E-mail: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz/contact/enquiry_form Web Site: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Infant health, Injury prevention, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.