Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (498 total).

Bauerly BC. 2019. Policy frameworks supporting school-based dental sealant programs and their application in Minnesota. St. Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 13 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This brief identifies laws and policies that could encourage consideration, adoption, and implementation of state-level school-based dental sealant programs. The brief highlights the state of the laws and policies in Minnesota. Topics include considerations for forming partnerships between schools and oral health professionals, overcoming policy barriers, and statewide coordination.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Legislation, Minnesota, Oral health, Public policy, School health programs, State programs

Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2018 (ca.). Maryland Mighty Tooth: School dental sealant program—Guidelines and operations manual: 2018-2019. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 36 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides information about the Maryland Mighty Tooth School Dental Sealant Program. It presents general program information and administrative protocols and discusses the following topics: operating effective community programs; tooth-surface selection, materials, and sealant application techniques; assessment and data collection; health-education curricula; and training. Sample letters and forms are included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://phpa.dhmh.maryland.gov/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Guidelines, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Maternal, Child, and Family Health. 2018. School-Based Dental Sealant Program Manual . [Columbus, OH]: Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 47 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides professional recommendations and states’ expectations for school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) under the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include local program operations, regulatory compliance, compliance with ODH policies, SBSP eligibility, sample program forms, clinical materials and methods, retention checks, Medicaid billing and collection, reimbursement guidelines, health professional enrollment, filing claims, performance benchmarks and performance standards, reporting, ODH program reviews, and compliance with other ODH requirements. The appendices contain sample forms, records, letters, and other practice-related materials.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Guideline adherence, Manuals, Ohio, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, School based clinics, State programs

Barzel R, Holt K, Kolo S, Siegal M, eds. 2018. School-based dental sealant programs (2nd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to provide school-based dental sealant program (SBSP) staff with an understanding of the history, operations, and principles of SBSPs funded by the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include guidelines for infection control and information about tooth selection and assessment for sealants; the sealant-application process; and SBSP operations, with an emphasis on requirements that apply to programs funded by ODH. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2018. Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile Administration Manual. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 35 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Vidrine S, Hamrick A. 2018. School-based sealant programs: An innovative approach to improve children's oral health. Raleigh, NC: NC Child, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief explores the impact of dental caries on children’s health and academic success and how North Carolina can take steps to improve children’s oral health and academic outcomes through the use of school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). Topics include the impact of dental caries on children’s health and well-being, evidence-based solutions, SBSPs, and the impact of SBSPs on children’s oral health outcomes.

Contact: NC Child, 3101 Poplarwood Court, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27604, Telephone: (919) 834-6623 Web Site: http://www.ncchild.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, North Carolina, Oral health, School age children, School health programs, State programs

Pew Charitable Trusts. 2018. When regulations block access to oral health care, children at risk suffer: The school dental sealant program dilemma. Philadelphia, PA: Pew Charitable Trusts, 12 (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief describes state-based regulations or policies (e.g., related to dental practice acts, oral exams, employment requirements, procedures allowed under general supervision, Medicaid) that limit or prevent dental hygienists from applying dental sealants to children’s teeth at school or that create a financial burden for school-based dental sealant programs. The brief also discusses responses from a questionnaire for state dental directors.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: info@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Dental sealants, Oral health, Prevention programs, Public policy, School health services

Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2018. Oral health screening survey of third grade schoolchildren in Ohio, 2017-18. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 11 pp.

Annotation: This data brief reports results of an oral health screening survey of children in third grade conducted by the Ohio Department of Health during school year 2017–2018. The brief presents overall findings and discusses disparities in oral health; access to oral health care; impact on access to oral health care and insurance status on oral health status; percentage of children with a history of tooth decay, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in Ohio vs. in the nation as a whole; and survey results compared with Healthy People 2020 objectives. The significance of the findings is also discussed. Statistical data is provided, and a description of study methods is included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-4180 Fax: (614) 564-2421 E-mail: BCHS@odh.ohio.gov Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health insurance, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance

Alliance for a Healthier Generation, Healthy Schools Campaign. [2017?]. Framework for action: Addressing nutrition and physical activity through ESSA implementation. Chicago, IL: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, Healthy Schools Campaign, 12 pp.

Annotation: This resource is a supplement to “State ESSA Plans to Support Student Health and Wellness: A Framework for Action.” This supplement provides more detailed recommendations for supporting nutrition and physical activity during the school day through the Every Student Succeeds Act implementation.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Child health, Physical activity, School age children, School health programs, Students

Pudelski S. 2017, 2018. Cutting Medicaid: A prescription to hurt the neediest kids. Alexandria, VA: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 11 pp. (addendum 4 pp.).

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of school leaders about how service delivery and student health would be impacted by a decline in Medicaid reimbursement. The report outlines the survey questions and findings, highlights how students with disabilities and students with low incomes will be impacted by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant, describes how communities will be economically affected by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant for school districts, details the potential of districts to lose critical mental health supports for students that are reimbursable by Medicaid, and notes how district efforts to expand Medicaid coverage to students and their families will be undermined by a block grant or per-capita cap.

Contact: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 1615 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 578-0700 Fax: (703)-841-1543 E-mail: info@aasa.org Web Site: http://www.aasa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Policy development, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Service delivery, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration and U.S. Administration on Children and Families. 2017. The Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program: Partnering with parents to help children succeed. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children

Mann R, Mays A. 2017. State ESSA plans to support student health and wellness: A framework for action (3rd ed.). Chicago, IL: Healthy Schools Campaign, 29 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on developing state plans for implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) in ways that support student health and wellness. Topics include engaging stakeholders in a way that ensures an effective ESSA state plan is developed and implemented; implementing a state accountability system and creating a school report card that supports the health and learning connection; integrating health and wellness into standards, assessments, and a well-rounded education; integrating student learning through staff wellness and professional development; supporting the transition from early childhood programs to elementary school; transferring funding to strengthen ESSA health and wellness programming; the Student Support and Academic Enrichment grant; and looking ahead. For each topic, the document outlines why it's important, what the law says, action steps, and resources. An overview of ESSA is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Accountability, Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, Federal initiatives, Financing, Grants, Learning, Needs Assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, School age children, School health programs, Schools, Service integration, Standards, Statewide planning, Students, Transitions

Sealant Work Group. 2017. Report of the Sealant Work Group: Recommendations & products. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Schubel J. 2017. Medicaid helps schools help children. Washington, DC: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines the role of Medicaid in funding critical health-related services for students with disabilities. Topics include providing reimbursement for health care services that are necessary for students with disabilities to succeed in school and ensuring schools' compliance with Individuals with Disabilities Education Act requirements, helping students to stay healthy and succeed academically, and connecting students to coverage. The brief also describes the long-term benefits of Medicaid for eligible children and the potential impact of spending reductions on students, local communities, and state budgets. The appendix contains a table on state and federal Medicaid spending in schools.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: center@cbpp.org Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Reimbursement, Role, School health services, Schools, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

George C, Rojek M, Luetkemeier M. 2017. Influencing the dental workforce in Illinois: A case study of the Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation Pipeline Project. Oak Brook, IL: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of the Illinois Children’s Healthcare Foundation Pipeline Project—a multi-year initiative funding two Illinois public dental schools, with the goals of increasing the number of dentists who provide oral health care to all children and who work in underserved communities. The report focuses on how well the project met its goals and also outlines implications for future efforts. Topics include findings, the program’s influence on students, students’ learning experience, extramural sites’ experience, implementation, and sustainability.

Contact: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 1200 Jorie Boulevard, Suite 301, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Telephone: (630) 571-2555 Secondary Telephone: (630) 571-2556 Web Site: http://www.ilchf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental schools, Illinois, Low income groups, Oral health, Personnel, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. Best practice approach: School-based dental sealant programs. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 17 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report discusses school-based dental sealant programs, assesses the strength of evidence for the effectiveness of these programs, and uses practice examples to illustrate successful and innovative implementation of the programs. The report provides guidelines and recommendations, research evidence, best practice criteria, and state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Model programs, Oral health, Research, School health programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. School dental sealant programs white paper. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information about tooth decay prevalence and Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors recommendations related to school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). The effectiveness of sealants for preventing tooth decay is discussed, along with considerations for SBSPs, including sealant material selection and staffing considerations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Oral heath, School health programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. Best practice approach: Improving children's oral health through the whole school, whole community, whole child (WSCC) model. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 27 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report discusses the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child (WSCC) model, assesses the strength of evidence for the effectiveness of this model, and uses practice examples to illustrate successful and innovative implementation of the model. The report pro- vides guidelines and recommendations, support for the WSCC model, research evidence, best practice criteria, and state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Model programs, Oral health, Research, School health programs, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. Guidance on how to analyze data from a school-based oral health survey. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a framework for how to appropriately analyze data from a statewide school-based oral health survey with a complex sampling design. The report discusses steps to take to prepare for data analysis, statistical packages and program code to use, other things to consider and be aware of, and where to get additional help.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral heath, School health programs

Gutierrez H, Hampton K, Hecht A, Patel A. [2016]. Parents making waves: A toolkit for promoting drinking water in schools. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco and California Food Policy Advocates, and Enigami Ventures, 40 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents improve access to drinking water at school. Contents include a tip sheet, a sample school-wellness policy and letter to a school administrator, tools for conducting a drinking water inventory and observing students drinking water, and an action plan checklist. Topics include how to fund a school water program, ensuring that school water is safe, understanding tap water sources, and promoting water intake in schools.

Contact: California Food Policy Advocates, 436 14th Street, Suite 1220, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 433-1122 Fax: (510) 433-1131 Web Site: http://cfpa.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Community action, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Parents, Policy development, Program development, Program planning, School health programs, Spanish language materials, Water

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.