Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (252 total).

Middlemiss W, Kendall-Tackett K, eds. 2014. The science of mother-infant sleep: Current findings on bedsharing, breastfeeding, sleep training, and normal infant sleep. Amarillo, TX: Praeclarus Press, LLC, 224 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of recent articles that address the topics of bedsharing, breastfeeding, sleep training, and normal infant sleep. Section I covers bedsharing, breastfeeding and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); Section II covers the impact of sleep training and cry-it-out techniques; and Section III explores working with parents around sleep issues.

Contact: Praeclarus Press, 2304 Sweetgum Lane, Amarillo, TX 79124, Telephone: (806) 367-9950 Web Site: Http:www.praeclaruspress.com Document Number: ISBN 9781939807045.

Keywords: Infant care, Research, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sudden infant death

Wiessinger D, West D, Smith LJ, Pitman T. 2014. Sweet sleep: Nighttime and naptime strategies for the breastfeeding family. New York, NY: Ballantine Books, 484 pp.

Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida. (2013). Safe infant sleep: Sleep right, sleep tight. Tallahassee, FL: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida,

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from a campaign to educate new and expectant parents and others in Florida about safe infant sleep. Contents include a video for Healthy Start and Healthy Families home visitors, hospitals, birthing centers, doctors’ offices, and others; a 30-second public service announcement (PSA) for television and radio broadcast; a print ad; and four handouts to address specific parent-identified barriers to practicing safe sleep. The PSA and handouts are available in English, Spanish, and Creole.

Contact: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida, 111 North Gadsden Street, Suite 200, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1507, Telephone: (850) 921-4494 Fax: (850) 921-9070 Web Site: http://www.ounce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Campaigns, Florida, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Safe Kids Upstate. (2013). The Upstate Cribs for Kids Program. Greenville, SC: Safe Kids Upstate,

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: cfryer@ghs.org Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Network of Infant/Toddlers Research, U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation. (2013). Sleeping safe?. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and others who care for infants provides advice for improving baby's sleep environment and reducing the risks associated with sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include healthy pregnancy; safe sleep surfaces; room sharing; placing baby on his/her back for sleep every time; prevent smoking, alcohol, and drug use near baby; and to breastfeed and later, a pacifier.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: csninfo@edc.org Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child safety, Infant care, Infant death, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Moving beyond Back to Sleep to Safe to Sleep. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 video (90 min.).

Annotation: This webinar discusses the science driving the renamed national “Safe to Sleep” Campaign, what resources are available focused on safe infant sleep, and how to promote this broader public health message not only to parents of infants, but non-parental caregivers, and traditional and non-traditional outreach partners.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, National programs, Outreach, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position, Statistical data, Suffocation, Trends

Change for Our Children. 2013. Baby essentials online. Christchurch, New Zealand: Change for Our Children,

Annotation: This toolkit contains information for parents, healthcare providers, and communities to provide for well-being and safety of infants. It is an interactive slide presentation with audio offering a short quiz and information about Sudden Unexpected Infant Death and how to reduce the risk of accidental death during sleep.

Contact: Change for Our Children, P.O. Box 36406, Christchurch, NZ 8146, Telephone: (03) 379-6686 Fax: (03) 353-9269 E-mail: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz/contact/enquiry_form Web Site: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Infant health, Injury prevention, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position

National SUID/SIDS Resource Center . 2013. Training toolkit. Washington, DC: National SUID/SIDS Resource Center ,

Annotation: This toolkit provides training curricula, programs, and resources to support training to help families, health professionals, child care providers, and others learn about sudden infant death risk reduction, bereavement services, and culturally competent services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Resources for professionals, SIDS, Safety, Training

National SUID/SIDS Resource Center . 2013. Statistics. Washington, DC: National SUID/SIDS Resource Center ,

Annotation: This website provides statistics on infant mortality and sudden infant death, including sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), and disparities among different racial and ethnic groups, and international statistics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: SIDS, Statistics

Philadelphia Child Death Review Teams. 2013. Child death review report 2009-2010. [Philadelphia, PA]: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Medical Examiner's Office, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report describes and discusses child deaths that occurred in Philadelphia in 2009 and 2010 and that were reviewed by the Philadelphia Child Death Review Team. The report provides background and an overview of child deaths reviewed during the period and discusses infant deaths, natural deaths, unintentional injury deaths, and intentional injury deaths.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 1401 JFK Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Telephone: (215) 686-45200 Fax: (215) 686-5212 Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Cause of death, Child neglect, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Infant death, Intentional injuries, Poisoning, SIDS, Unintentional injuries

Moon R, ed. 2013. Sleep: What every parent needs to know (2nd ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 219 pp.

Annotation: This book covers the importance of sleep to growth and development and addresses proper sleep and the challenges parents face in getting their children to sleep. Topics include ages, stages, and phases for all ages of children; bedtime routines and rituals; dealing with fears, nightmares, night terrors, sleep apnea; allergies and asthma; headaches, leg pains, seizures, abdominal or gastrointestinal issues, in addition to developmental disabilities or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorders. Sleep safety and risk factors for sudden infant death are also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $16.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Infants, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep apnea syndromes, Sleep disorders, Sleep position, Sleep stages

Early Head Stat National Resource Center. 2013. Crib regulations: What you need to know. Washington, DC: Office of Head Start, (Federal leaders' series)

Annotation: This webinar, held on August 7, 2012, provides information about the Consumer Product Safety Commission crib regulations. Topics include how the regulations affect Early Head Start, Migrant and Seasonal Head Start, and child care programs; key messages; and highlights of state models of crib replacement programs.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Communication, Federal initiatives, Head Start, Model programs, Multimedia, Regulations, SIDS: Infant equipment, State programs

California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, Sudden Infant Death (SIDS) Program. 2013. Guidance for local health jurisdictions and communities addressing infant safe sleep environments. [Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, Sudden Infant Death (SIDS) Program, 5 pp.

Annotation: This guidance for California health practitioners, parents, and all who care for infants in the state, outlines and endorses the 2011 American Academy of Pediatrics' expanded recommendations for a safe sleep environment for infants. It provides further discussion on the common practice of bed-sharing between adults and infants, discusses the risks, provides an overview of current studies, and recommends room-sharing with baby in a bassinet or portable crib to avoid any risk of dangerous bed-sharing.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Infant death, Infant mortality, Prevention, Risk assessment, SIDS, Sleep position, State initiatives

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Safe sleep activities from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and Durable Infant Nursery Product regulations. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 video (60 min.).

Annotation: This webinar summarizes the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission's safe sleep campaign and outreach activities including efforts to reach minority groups. The discussion focuses on standards, regulation, and communication resources. Topics include sleep position, crib safety, and other health and safety risks associated with infant sleep environments. Efforts to encourage breastfeeding within a safe sleep environment are also discussed. Audio and slides are available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Minority groups, Multimedia, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, SIDS: Product safety, Sleep position

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Healthy Native Babies Project. 2013. Healthy Native Babies Project facilitator's packet. Rockville, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Healthy Native Babies Project, 11 items.

Annotation: This packet is designed to educate people who interact and work with parents and caregivers about sudden unexpected infant death, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), other sleep-related causes of infant death, SIDS risks, and ways to reduce the risk of SIDS in their communities. Contents include 1- and 2-day training guides and presentations; pretest, post-test, and answer key; a safe sleep messages flipchart; and a sample certificate of completion.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: American Indians, Infant death, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Risk management, SIDS, Sleep position, Training materials

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Healthy Native Babies Project. 2013. Healthy Native Babies Project safe sleep messages activity. [Rockville, MD]: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 33 pp.

Annotation: This flipchart present questions and answers for leading a discussion on reducing the risk of SIDS in Native American populations. Topics include the infant's safe sleep environment, sleep position, sleep location, sleep surface, sleep area, sleep temperature, the importance of breastfeeding, the problem of smoking and alcohol during pregnancy and after the baby is born, pacifier use, monitors or other equipment, the importance of tummy time, and spreading the word for all who may care for infants.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Child safety, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Lowrimore L. 2013. Books for children on dealing with death. Washington, DC: National SUID/SIDS Resource Center,

Annotation: This bibliography lists books intended to help parents or caregivers navigate children's questions that are likely to come up after the death of a younger sibling from sudden infant death. The list includes picture books, books for older children, and activity books that help children express emotions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bereavement, Bibliographies, Children's literature, Funerals, Grief, Infant death, Materials for children, SIDS

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Sudden unexpected infant death case registry. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This website collects comprehensive data to characterize sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) cases and to determine which sleep environment factors contribute to SUID. The site shows a map of SUID Case Registry (SUID-CR) state grantees, explains the purpose of the SUID-CR Pilot Program, describes activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in collaboration with the National Center for Child Death Review, and outlines quality-improvement goals and case-registry successes and progress.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death review, Prevention, Programs, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Statistical data, Sudden infant death

Lullaby Trust. 2013. When a baby dies suddenly and unexpectedly. London, England: Lullaby Trust, 31 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for parents offers a helpline number for residents in the United Kingdom and describes what happens after a baby has died, the post-mortem exam, registering the baby's death, funeral arrangements, memorials, inquests, child death review, financial assistance, grieving, mothers who are on their own, if a twin dies, returning to work, life after the baby's death, helping siblings, grandparents and other family members, if someone else's baby dies in your care, finding and giving support, and having another baby.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: office@lullabytrust.org.uk Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website; contact for muiltple copy cost information.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child death review, Families, Infant death, Public awareness materials, SIDS

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2013. Safe sleep for your grandbaby: Reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death. Rockville, MD: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brochure explains ways that grandparents can help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome and other sleep-related causes of infant death.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 13-4978, 13-4978(S).

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Risk factors, SIDS: Grandparents, Sleep position

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.