Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (2,647 total).

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. [2020]. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 13: 13.1: Percent of women who had a preventive dental visit during pregnancy; 13.2: Percent of children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17, who had a preventive dental visit in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women: Adolescent health, Prevention, Title V programs

DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement. (2020). Self-care after your teledentistry appointment. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information on how to practice self-care after an in-office or teledentistry appointment. Topics include practicing healthy habits, decreasing risk for tooth decay, tooth sensitivity, tooth pain, bleeding gums, and jaw or muscle tightness and/or pain. For each topic, a list of tips is included.

Contact: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: http://www.dentaquestpartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pain management, Prevention, Telemedicine

Holt K, Barzel R, eds. 2020. Oral health services for children and adolescents with special health care needs: A resource guide (4th. ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 21 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides information for health professionals to assist them in planning, developing, and implementing efforts to ensure that children and adolescents with special health care needs receive optimal oral health care. The guide describes materials, including brochures, fact sheets, guides, manuals, and reports. It also lists federal agencies, resource centers, and national professional associations that may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Resource materials, Oral health, Children with special health care needs

Barzel R, Holt K. 2020. Fluoride varnish and silver diamine fluoride: A resource guide. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an annotated list of resources on the use and application of fluoride varnish and silver diamine fluoride, including materials on data and surveillance, professional education and training, and public education. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2020. Share the love in February; It's National Children's Dental Health Month. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 video (58 sec.).

Annotation: This video provides information about the importance of good oral health for young children and how to promote oral health for this population. Topics including providing oral health education, using fluoridated toothpaste and helping children brush their teeth in the classroom, advising parents to brush a child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste in the morning and before bed, talking to parents about food choices that promote oral health, and advising parents to seek care for their child from a dentist or dental hygienist.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Head Start, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Holt K, Kolo S, Louie R. 2020. Title V national performance measure 13 (oral health): Strategies for success. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 18 pp.

Annotation: This resource provides detailed information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on oral health (NPM 13) and oral-health-related state performance measures. It provides sample strategies for addressing NPM 13.1 (preventive dental visit for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visit for children and adolescents, ages 1–17). The resource also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs); possible data sources for ESMs; and a selection of resources, including best practice reports, curricula, guides, and risk assessments, and contacts for more assistance.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Evidence, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Title V programs

Iowa Department of Public Health. 2020. Improving the oral health of Iowans: I-Smile dental home initiative. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, 2 p.

Annotation: This document provides information about the I-Smile Dental Home Initiative, the goal of which is to help children in Iowa have good oral health beginning at an early age. The document describes what I-Smile coordinators do and discusses the availability of preventive oral health services to children enrolled in Medicaid in Iowa and the increase in the percentage of this population that has received preventive services since the establishment of I-Smile. The state of children’s oral health in Iowa is also discussed.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Young children

Le C, Burroughs M. 2020. Improving pregnancy-related oral health coverage would bolster maternal health, reduce health care costs. Washington, DC: Families USA, 3 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health to women’s and children’s overall health and discusses the benefits of making comprehensive oral health coverage a guaranteed part of pregnancy-related Medicaid coverage. Other topics include the importance of oral health coverage to mothers’ and children’s well-being, the contribution of oral health disparities to disparities in maternal health outcomes, and variations in pregnancy-related oral health coverage by state.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Women's health

Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program. 2020. Oral health care during pregnancy: Practice guidance for Texas prenatal and dental providers. Austin, TX: Texas Department of State Health Services, 23 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on oral health care during pregnancy for prenatal care health professionals and oral health professionals in Texas. Topics include myths vs. facts, guidance for health professionals, oral conditions during pregnancy, and oral health pharmacological considerations for pregnant women. It also includes resources for pregnant women and parents about good oral health during pregnancy and during infancy, available in English and in Spanish, as well as a dental referral form for pregnant women. The document was adapted from Oral Health Care During Pregnancy: A National Consensus Statement and Oral Health Care During Pregnancy: Practice Guidance from Maryland’s Prenatal and Dental Providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program, P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1818, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Telephone: (512) 776-2008 Fax: (512) 776-7256 E-mail: dental@dshs.state.tx.us Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/dental/default.shtm Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Resource materials, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Texas

Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program. 2020. Oral health checklist for prenatal providers. Austin, TX: Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This checklist is geared for prenatal care health professionals and oral health professionals. The checklist offers tips for discussing oral health with pregnant women during prenatal visits and dental visits, counseling them about oral health, and providing them with a referral to a dentist or to prenatal resources. For oral health professionals, the checklist also includes guidance about providing care for pregnant women.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program, P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1818, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Telephone: (512) 776-2008 Fax: (512) 776-7256 E-mail: dental@dshs.state.tx.us Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/dental/default.shtm Available from the website.

Keywords: Checklists, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement. 2020. Fast-track to teledentistry: Removing barriers to care while maximizing overall health. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 19 pp. (White paper)

Annotation: This paper provides information on the benefits of teledentistry and how to make it more accessible. It discusses the impact of not receiving oral health care, new uses of and approaches to teledentistry, potential savings for states from increasing the use of teledentistry, and the promise of teledentistry. What states can do to make it easier for health systems, hospitals, and safety net clinics to adopt teledentistry initiatives is also discussed, including expanding the workforce, updating reimbursement policies, enhancing legal clarity, and making it easier for health professionals to share patient information.

Contact: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: http://www.dentaquestpartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Initiatives, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Teledentistry

Poelman T. 2020. Nationwide survey of teledentistry regulations. [Cambridge, MA: Thomas Poelman], 63 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about teledentistry regulations throughout the United States. The guide discusses the importance of teledentistry and explains how to interpret the information presented. For each state, the guide includes a teledentistry checklist that includes teledentistry regulations in several categories, allowed oral health procedures, and other requirements. Where appropriate, additional notes are included.

Keywords: Dentistry, Medicaid, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation, Telemedicine

Georgia Department of Public Health. 2020. Oral health tips. Atlanta, GA: Georgia Department of Public Health, 6 parts.

Annotation: This series of videos offer information about oral health during pregnancy and during infancy. Pregnancy-related topics include visiting the dentist during pregnancy, the importance of brushing with fluoride toothpaste and flossing every day, the relationship between a pregnant woman’s oral health and her future child’s oral health, and oral health problems that can occur during pregnancy. Infancy-related topics include the importance of caring for an infant’s mouth and how to take care of an infant’s teeth and gums.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention

American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits and Practice Institute, Center for Dental Benefits, Coding and Quality. 2020. COVID-19 coding and billing interim guidance: Virtual visits. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits and Practice Institute, Center for Dental Benefits, Coding and Quality, 18 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about caring for young children’s mouths and teeth at home during the time of COVID-19, when they may not be brushing at school owing to safety concerns. The fact sheet includes information about the importance of brushing at home; the importance of baby teeth; and things parents can do to keep children healthy, such as giving milk and water only between meals and visiting the dentist twice a year. The fact sheet is written in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (800) 621-8099 Secondary Telephone: 312-440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanlsh language materials, Virus diseases

California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine. 2020. Using teledentistry to maintain services and contact with patients during the time of COVID-19 physical distancing. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 7 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about using teledentistry during the time of COVID‐19 physical distancing. Topics include the impact of physical distancing, system considerations, components of a care system for the era of COVID-19, workflow, and optimizing in-person visits. The guide also discusses the advantages of an “all-in-one” teledentistry system containing multiple components that are linked and integrated (e.g., registration, consent, schedule, messaging, live video).

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, Teledentistry, Telemedicine

American Dental Association. 2020. Interim mask and face shield guidelines. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 1 p.

Annotation: These guidelines for oral professionals provide information about using masks and face shields while treating patients during the time of COVID-19. Information about risk of infection is provided, and a discussion of three mask types—N95, N95 equivalent, and surgical--is included. An illustration of each type of mask is included.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Virus diseases

Porembski P, Cuny E, Eklund K. 2020. What about flossing and brushing? Are there recommendations on how to do that more safely?. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association and Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention, 1 video (1 min.)

Annotation: This video provides information on how to brush and floss teeth safely during the time of COVID-19. Recommendations include not sharing toothbrushes or floss containers and routinely changing toothbrushes. Resource for additional information are provided.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Virus diseases

American Dental Hygienists' Association. 2020. ADHA interim guidance on returning to work. Chicago, IL: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidelines for dental hygienists on returning to work during the time of COVID-19. Information is provided about COVID-19 testing before opening a dental office, work environment, patient preparation, special considerations for providing dental hygiene care, personal protective equipment (PPE), donning and doffing PPE, and disinfection. For each section, Center for Disease Control and Prevention guidance is included in shaded boxes. A COVID-19 patient screening questionnaire and a dental hygienist readiness to return to work questionnaire are included.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: http://www.adha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, Division of Viral Diseases. 2020. Framework for healthcare systems providing non-COVID-19 clinical care during the COVID-19 pandemic. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 file.

Annotation: The purpose of this document is to provide health care systems with information about delivering non-COVID-19-related health care during the time of COVID-19. The document provides background information and key considerations for health care delivery, with links to additional information. A table that lays out a framework for delivering health care by potential for patient harm and degree of community transmission, including examples, is provided.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, Division of Viral Diseases. 2020. Guidance for dental settings: Interim infection prevention and control guidance for dental settings during the COVID-19 response. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 file.

Annotation: This document provides interim infection prevention and control guidance for oral health settings during the time of COVID-19. Topics include background, patient management, facility considerations, equipment considerations, administrative control and work practices, engineering controls, hygiene, universal source controls, using personal protective equipment, sterilizing and disinfection, considerations for additional precautions or strategies for treating patients with confirmed or suspected COVID-19, considerations for use of test-based strategies to inform patient care, monitoring and managing staff, and education and training.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.