Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (127 total).

Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation. 2012. Impact on children's oral health in Illinois: An interim report 2004–2010. Oak Brook, IL: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on outputs of the Illinois Children’s Health Foundation (ILCHF) grantmaking to increase access to oral health services for children in Illinois. Topics include the distribution of oral health funding, who received funding, coverage area of ILCHF funding in children’s oral health, initial outputs of ILCHF funding, data elements collected, scope of services offered, community-level change, lessons learned, and goals for children’s health funding. A call to action is included. The appendices contain summaries of key milestones and environmental influences for the period 2000–2011.

Contact: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 1200 Jorie Boulevard, Suite 301, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Telephone: (630) 571-2555 Secondary Telephone: (630) 571-2556 Web Site: http://www.ilchf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Financing, Foundations, Grants, Illinois, Oral health, Outreach, Public health education, Public health infrastructure, Reimbursement, Special health care needs, State surveys, Work force

Pew Center on the States, Home Visiting Campaign. 2012. Strengthening professional development in home visiting programs. Washington, DC: Pew Center on the States, (The case for home visiting video series)

Annotation: This archived webinar highlights strategies for building comprehensive, statewide professional development systems for the home visiting workforce. Panelists discuss statewide professional development systems in Illinois and Virginia and how these systems play a critical role in supporting home visiting programs’ desired outcomes for families and children. The webinar also includes remarks on professional development systems from Terry Adirim, Director of the Office of Special Health Affairs in the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: pcs-feedback@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Illinois, Audiovisual materials, Case studies, Home visiting, Resources for professionals, State initiatives, Virginia, Work force

Speilberger J, Gitlow E, Winje C, Harden A, Banman A, Dadisman K. 2012. Building a system of support for evidence-based home visiting programs in Illinois: Findings from year 2 of the Strong Foundations evaluation. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 121 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluation of home visiting programs in Illinois that are part of Strong Foundations—a program that supports the implementation, scaling up, and sustainability of evidence-based home-visiting programs for the prevention of child maltreatment. The report presents perspectives on the state system from key informants at state and local program levels and discusses local programs with a focus on five main topics: characteristics of communities and programs, staff training and supervision, program quality and fidelity, programs' ability to meet families' needs, and the availability of and linkages to other community services and resources.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child maltreatment, Communities, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Local programs, Low income groups, Prevention, Program evaluation, State programs, Training

Speilberger J, Dadisman K, Dugas D. 2012. Early findings from the Illinois Project LAUNCH evaluation: Year 2 report. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 96 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the second year of implementation of Illinois Project Launch (IPL) in communities on Chicago's west side. IPL is part of a national LAUNCH initiatives seeking to promote the wellness of infants and young children from birth through age 8 using a public health approach focused on improving systems that serve infants, young children, and their families. The report describes IPL structure and systems-building activities; implementation of selected IPL activities, prevention and promotion programs, and work-force-development activities; and an overview of key findings, lessons learned, and recommendations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Communities, Community programs, Families, Family support services, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, Initiatives, Low income groups, National programs, Prevention, Program evaluation, Public health, Service delivery systems, State programs, Young children

Dworsky A, Wojnaroski M. 2012. An evaluation of the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services new birth assessment. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the evaluation of a policy implemented by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) in March 2011 that calls for the completion of a "new birth assessment" every time a DCFS adolescent becomes a parent, whether by giving birth or by fathering a child. In addition to providing background and context, the report discusses the new birth assessment, study purpose and methods, specialty worker and supervisor interviews, young parent interviews, analysis of data from agency records, and implications for research and practice.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Evaluation, Illinois, Interviews, Research, State programs

Illinois Department of Public Health, Perinatal Advisory Committee. 2012. Preterm birth in Illinois: Understanding the problem, forging a solution—House Joint Resolution 111. Chicago, IL: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of preterm birth and its consequences in the state of Illinois and provides recommendations on proven strategies that could move Illinois towards the reduction of premature births. The report describes the extent and costs of preterm births; identifies the medical and social risk factors associated with preterm birth; and provides recommendations for evidence-based medical and public health strategies, as well as state system and policy changes. The report was prepared by the Perinatal Advisory Committee, Illinois Department of Public Health in response to Illinois General Assembly House Joint Resolution 111, which stipulated that the Committee submit findings and recommendations on reducing preterm births in the state.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: ilmaternal@ilmaternal.org Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Illinois, Perinatal care, Preterm birth, Risk reduction, State initiatives, State legislation

Campaign to Save our Mothers and Babies. 2012. Infant mortality summit, 2012. Chicago, IL: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition,

Annotation: This website contains handouts and presentations from the Infant and Maternal Mortality Summit held on September 21, 2012, in Illinois. Topics include programs and policies addressing health disparities in maternal and infant health in Illinois, visions for the future, 2012 legislative updates, and relaxation and de-stressing exercises.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: ilmaternal@ilmaternal.org Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Illinois, , Infant health, Maternal health, State initiatives

Illinois Department of Human Services. 2012. The reduction of infant mortality in Illinois: The Family Case Management Program and Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children—2011 annual report. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Human Services, 21 pp.

Annotation: This annual report provides information about the Family and Case Management Program and WIC Program in Illinois for FY 2011. The programs strive to reduce infant mortality while also providing other services. Topics include program descriptions, financing, service delivery systems, caseload, performance, outcomes, and racial disparities in infant mortality.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Families, Family support programs, Final reports, Programs, Financing, Health care systems, High risk groups, Illinois, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Parent support programs, Prevention, Racial factors, Service delivery systems, State programs, Women's health

Hanlon C, Rosenthal J. 2011. Improving care coordination and service linkages to support healthy child development: Early lessons and recommendations from a five-state consortium. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes selected activities and interventions in the five states (Arkansas, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that are part of the Assuring Better Child Health and Development (ABCD III) learning collaborative. Through ABCD III, the states are developing and testing models that can improve coordination of early childhood services in their states and provide models for others. The report includes a description of each state's project, discusses key early lessons, and provides early recommendations.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Intervention, Arkansas, Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, High risk groups, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Service delivery systems, Services coordination, State programs, Young children

Forry N, Anderson R, Banghart P, Zaslow M, Kreader JL, Christler A. 2011. Linking home-based child care and state-funded preschool: The Community Connections Preschool Program (Illinois Action for Children)—Evaluation phase 1-implementation study. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report evaluates the implementation stage of the Community Connections preschool program developed by the Illinois Action for Children (IAFC) to help prepare children in home-based child care for later success in school and in life. The report describes the methodology used in the evaluation of the Community Connections model (which aims to make state preschool programs available to families whose children are cared for in home settings) and presents the findings of Phase 1 of the evaluation based on interviews, observation, and other evaluative components. The report includes a discussion of the respondents' perceptions of benefits and targeted effects of the program and an analysis of respondents’ descriptions of the key activities of the Community Connections model. The report concludes with recommendations to IAFC for strengthening the Community Connections model and its implementation. Appendices include interview protocol and materials used to record observations.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Illinois, Models, Preschool children, Program evaluation, Public education, State programs

Illinois Department of Human Services, University of Illinois at Chicago Division of Specialized Care for Children. [2010]. Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant FFY'11 needs assessment. [Springfield, IL]: Illinois Department of Human Services, 164 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Illinois state needs assessment for inclusion into the 2011 Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application. It frames priorities and performance measures from a health systems perspective in seeking to improve the health of women, children, and families in the state. Report sections include a description of the process for conducting the needs assessment, strengths and needs of the MCH population groups and desired outcomes, MCH program capacity, and Illinois MCH priorities. A summary is provided as well as extensive appendices detailing workgroup and expert panel membership, meeting agenda and notes, a community forum guide and report, MCH databook and summary document, analyses and performance measure scoring.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Illinois, Needs assessment, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State surveys

Qureshi MF. 2010. Catalog of preconception health initiatives in Region V states. [Chicago, IL]: University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 131 pp.

Annotation: This directory catalogs programs in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin that provide direct health care services, enabling services, population-based services, and infrastructure-building services related to preconception and interconception care. The aim of the document is to display the variety of initiatives that have been taken to improve the health of women of reproductive age and their families. An index of national resources including research-based articles, educational materials, funding sources, and health policy-related materials is also included.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Health services, Illinois, Indiana, Initiatives, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Preconception, Programs, Reproductive health, Women's health, and Wisconsin

Edwards J, Duchon L, Ellis E, Davis C, Kellenberg R, Bitterman J, Hess C, Weiss A. 2010. Maximizing enrollment for kids: Results from a diagnostic assessment of enrollment and retention in eight states. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings from a diagnostic assessment of the enrollment and retention systems of eight states that participate in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundations Maximizing Enrollment for Kids Program, a national program aimed to help states increase enrollment and retention of eligible children in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program and to promote promising practices among states. The eight states are Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The paper is organized by the four main areas of states' work and presents strengths, challenges, and opportunities in each area: (1) process improvement and paperwork reduction; (2) data analysis and integration; (3) leadership and agency capacity, coordination, and culture; and (4) consumer, community partner, and stakeholder engagement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Eligibility, Enrollment, Illinois, Louisiana, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Medicaid, New York, Retention, State programs, Uninsured persons, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2010. Using schools and data matching to enroll kids in Medicaid and CHIP. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2 pp. (Optimizing Medicaid enrollment: Spotlight on technology)

Annotation: This brief examines efforts by the Chicago Public School System (CPS) to use multiple strategies to comply with the recently enacted health reform law that requires implementation of a coordinated system for determining eligibility for Medicaid and subsidized coverage in the new health insurance exchanges. Strategies examined include data matching with the school lunch program, marketing, and local organizing to target children for outreach and enrollment in public health insurance and other benefits.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data linkage, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance programs, Illinois, Legislation, Low income groups, Marketing, Medicaid, Outreach, Schools, Service coordination

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2010. Improving the quality of care and coordination of services for young children: ABCD, CHIPRA and beyond!. [Portland, ME]: National Academy for State Health Policy,

Annotation: This archived webinar from December 6, 2010 highlights how Illinois, Oregon, South Carolina, and Vermont are using ABCD III (Assuring Better Child Health and Development) and/or CHIPRA quality grants to build on and align current efforts, such as medical home initiatives, health information technology or exchange, performance measurement, and health reform, to transform the delivery of care to children covered by Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children's health insurance program, Illinois, Medicaid, Medical home, Multimedia, Oregon, South Carolina, State programs, Vermont

Dworsky A, DeCoursey J. 2009. Pregnant and parenting foster youth: Their needs, their experiences. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall, 43 pp.

Annotation: This monograph analyzes administrative data from an organization serving pregnant and parenting foster youth in the Chicago metropolitan area and surrounding counties. It quantitatively describes the characteristics of the pregnant and parenting foster youth problem in the Chicago area: placement histories, pregnancies and outcomes, receipt of prenatal care, education, and children of foster youth. Qualitative descriptions derived from interviews with organization leaders describe challenges in engaging youth with services, pregnancy prevention, services for pregnant foster youth, services for parenting foster youth and their children, placement-related concerns, education, and preparing foster youth for exiting care. Implications for policy and practice conclude the report.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Foster care, Foster children, Illinois, Pregnant adolescents, Statistics, Youth services

Onufer CN. 2009. Illinois Medical Home Project: Final report. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Illinois Chapter, 22 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Illinois Medical Home Project during the period July 1, 2004, through March 31, 2009. The project supports the development of community-based medical homes for children and youth with special health care needs. The report discusses the project purpose; goals and objectives; methodology; evaluation; results, outcomes, and lessons learned; publications and products; dissemination and utilization of results; and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Adolescent with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Communication, Communities, Final reports, Illinois, Medical home, Primary care, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Sopko KM. 2009. Early childhood mental health services: Four state case studies. Alexandria, VA: National Association of State Directors of Special Education, 23 pp. (inForum in depth policy analysis)

Annotation: This document describes state models for addressing each of four components that contribute to an effective early childhood mental health service system: (1) consultation, (2) work force preparation and professional development, (3) partnership, and (4) financing. The document provides background, discusses methodology, and provides findings for the four state models: Connecticut (consulation), Michigan (preparation/professional development), Ohio (partnerships), and Illinois (financing).

Contact: National Association of State Directors of Special Education, , 225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 420, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 519-3800 Fax: (703) 519-3808 Web Site: http://www.nasdse.org Available from the website after registration.

Keywords: Collaboration, Connecticut, Consultation, Financing, Illinois, Mental health services, Michigan, Ohio, Professional education, Service delivery systems, State programs, Young children

Arc of Illinois, Family to Family Health and Education Center. 2008. Family manual: Transition to employment and adult services for youth with developmental disabilities in Illinois. (Rev ed.). Homewood, IL: Family to Family Health and Educatin Center, The ARC of Illinois, 58 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to assist families of young adults with developmental disabilities with the transition from the school system and services for children to the world of work and adult services. Topics include special education and transition planning; children's waiver for developmental disabilities; straight talk on the PUNS (Illinois waiting list); the world of adult services and supports; adult waiver for developmental disabilities; health insurance and employment; services, supports, options, and trends; and who can help with advocacy for children and adults with developmental disabilities.

Contact: Arc of Illinois, Family to Family Health Information Center, 20901 LaGrange Road, Suite 209, Frantfort, IL 60423, Telephone: (815) 464-8247 Secondary Telephone: (866) 931-1110 Fax: (815) 464-5292 E-mail: info@thearcofil.org Web Site: http://familyvoicesillinois.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Employment, Families, Health insurance, Illinois, School to work transition, Services, Transition planning, Trends, Young adults, Young adults

Kaye N, Rosenthal J. 2008. Improving the delivery of health care that supports young children's healthy mental development: Update on accomplishments and lessons from a five-state consortium. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 58 pp.

Annotation: This report examines five states' experiences related to the delivery of services that support young children's social and emotional development. These five states (California, Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, and Utah) participated in the second Assuring Better Child Health and Development Consortium, which provided the states with an opportunity to develop and test strategies for improving the delivery of developmental services to young children at risk for or with social or emotional developmental delays, especially those in need of preventive or early intervention services. The report examines the states' experiences from three perspectives: (1) by the numbers (i.e., measuring system performance), (2) by objective, and (3) by a summary of lessons learned. An executive summary and a conclusion are included. The report includes two appendices: profiles of state projects and a summary of selected evaluation results by state. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures. Endnotes are included, as well.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Emotional development, Health services delivery, High risk children, Illinois, Iowa, Mental health, Minnesota, Prevention, Social skills, State programs, Utah, Young children

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.