Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (715 total).

W. K. Kellogg Foundation. 2020. Dental therapy toolkit: A resource prepared for advocates and partners. Battle Creek, MI: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, 22 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit includes a fact sheet on dental therapy, a timeline showing how dental therapy has evolved in the United States, and a map showing where dental therapists are working or authorized and where legislation is being considered. A graphic on expanding the oral health care team and one-pagers about the importance and cost-effectiveness of dental therapy are included. The toolkit also includes several spotlights on dental therapists. Many of the topics are presented as stand-alone documents.

Contact: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Legislation, Access to health care, Cost effectiveness, Dental care, Health care delivery, Oral health

Children's Partnership, and California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine. 2020. The early childhood oral health assessment in the Inland Empire: From pilot to health care systems integration. [Los Angeles, CA]: Children's Partnership, 13 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the Early Childhood Oral Health Assessment (ECOHA) mobile app designed for community health workers (CHWs) to use in addressing oral health needs of young children, particularly those from minority groups and from families with low incomes. The brief outlines how ECOHA has been used; identifies lessons learned and best practices related to its use; and provides recommendations for integrating these into health, oral health, and social support systems. It also addresses how CHWs have continued to support children’s oral health throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: frontdoor@childrenspartnership.org Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health services, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Minority groups, Oral health, Virus diseases, Young children

Children's Partnership, and California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine with First 5 Riverside, and First 5 San Bernardino. 2020. The virtual dental home in the Inland Empire: Building best practices into the oral health care delivery system for children. [Los Angeles, CA]: Children's Partnership, 17 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines implementation of the VDH in the Inland Empire (Riverside and San Bernardino counties), identifies lessons learned and best practices, and provides recommendations for sustaining the VDH and integrating best practices into the oral-health-care-delivery system. It also considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on VDH implementation.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: frontdoor@childrenspartnership.org Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , California, Community health services, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, State programs, Virus diseases

Ward MM, Fox K, Merchant K, Burgess A, Ullrich F, Pearson K, Shaler G, Shea C, North S, Mena C. 2020. Process of identifying measures and data elements for the HRSA School-Based Telehealth Network Grant Program. Iowa City, IA: Rural Telehealth Research Center, 7 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief defines a set of measures for evaluating grants awarded under the School-Based Telehealth Network Grant Program, administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP) Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. Grants were targeted to rural, frontier, and underserved communities providing telehealth services for school children, with a particular focus on five clinical areas: asthma, behavioral health, diabetes, health weight, and oral health. The goal of the project was to identify a common set of measures that could be collected from each of the grantees for a cross-grantee assessment of school-based telehealth services, utilization, process, and outcomes.

Contact: Rural Telehealth Research Center, N200 CPHB, 145 N. Riverside Drive, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 384-3830 Web Site: https://ruraltelehealth.org/

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Rural health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2020. Teledentistry: Providing access to care during the COVID-19 crisis. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 6 pp. (Communication brief)

Annotation: This brief provides information about teledentistry, how it has gained traction as a method for enabling access to oral health care during the COVID-19 pandemic, and how it can continue to be used once the pandemic has abated. It explains the different teledentistry modalities: synchronous, asynchronous, remote patient monitoring, and mobile health. And it discusses persistent barriers to accessing oral health care and what states can do. The connection between oral health and certain chronic health conditions is also addressed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Telehealth, Virus diseases

U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau. [2019]. Integration of oral health and primary care technical assistance toolkit. Rockville, MD: U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau, 34 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit focuses on improving the oral health of people with HIV by integrating oral health care into primary care. It provides background information about the oral health status of those with HIV. It offers an overview of the components of integration and oral-health-care-delivery models. Each component, including best practices, is discussed, and links to relevant resources are included. The toolkit also addresses how to build and sustain oral-health-care delivery over time.

Contact: U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 09SWHO3, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1993 Web Site: http://hab.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: HIV, Health care delivery, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™. 2019. Bright Futures™ preventive services quality improvement measures (upd. ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™, 2 pp. (Bright Futures implementation tip sheet)

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: BrightFutures@aap.org Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Glassman P. 2019. Improving oral health using telehealth-connected teams and the virtual dental home system of care: Program and policy considerations. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the potential of telehealth, combined with new preventive and behavior support science, delivery systems, payment incentives, and policy environments, to improve oral health. It reviews changes taking place in the general health and oral health care systems as well as national recommendations that have been proposed in response to these changes. The report also describes the legal and regulatory environment needed to create and use telehealth-connected teams, equipment and software requirements, and considerations for incorporating telehealth into dental practices and community-based oral health care systems. In addition, it describes the concept of disruptive innovation and the future role that telehealth may play in the delivery or oral health services.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, Telemedicine, Prevention

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and Pacific Island Health Officers Association . 2019. Current status and strategies to improve oral health program infrastructure and capacity in the US affiliated Pacific Islands: A needs assessment and technical assistance project--Executive summary. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 5 pp.

Annotation: This executive summary focuses on a project conducted to amass information about oral health program infrastructure and capacity, strengths, gaps, and needs in the U.S.-affiliated Pacific islands. The summary discusses approaches and methods and presents selected findings in the following areas: oral health needs, public oral-health-care-delivery sites, funding for oral health programs and services, workforce, policy mandates, and partnerships and collaboration. The summary also identifies opportunities and next steps.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Acess to health care, Financing, Health care delivery, Oral health, Pacific Islands, Program developments

Arizona Department of Health Services. 2019. Arizona 2019-2022 oral health action plan. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, 30 pp.

Annotation: This oral health action plan provides guidance for improving the oral health of all Arizonans. The plan introduces the problem and provides information about oral health disparities among children, pregnant women, adults, older adults, and people with special health care needs. Also discussed are oral health equity; oral health care systems; and steps to achieving better oral health in Arizona.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: piowebmaster@azdhs.gov Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Service delivery systems, Special heath care needs, State programs

National Migrant and Seasonal Head Start Collaboration Office. 2018. Effective partnerships guide: Improving oral health for migrant and seasonal Head Start children and their families. [Washington, DC]: Office of Head Start, National Migrant and Seasonal Head Start Collaboration Office, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Adminstration's Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning ahead.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care. 2018. Health center program fact sheet: America's primary care safety net working to address oral health. Rockville, MD: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes how health centers increase access to oral health care in the communities they serve. Contents include information about oral health services provided and the number of visits and patients served. Topics include activities to increase access to oral health care for underserved populations, modernize the safety net infrastructure and delivery system, improve oral health outcomes, and promote an innovative organizational culture. Links to resources for general information and technical assistance for health centers are also included.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (301) 480-4098 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bphc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Oral health, Organizational change, Primary care, Public health infrastructure, Service delivery systems, Technical assistance, Underserved communities

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2018. Bright Futures: An essential resource for advancing the Title V national performance measures. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Harper K; Ne'eman A. 2018. A state multi-sector framework for supporting children and youth with special health care needs. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 24 pp.

Annotation: This framework describes desired systems performance outcomes for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) in the domains of health services; family support and social services; education and employment services; and law enforcement and juvenile justice contact. The document provides a table listing services used by CYSHCN and their families by domain; a description of how the literature was reviewed; a list of statutes, policies and existing documents relating to the outcomes; a list of state, federal and other actors who support CYSHCN and their families; and available datasets and state policy compendia. The audience for the framework is parents, state lawmakers, and other stakeholders.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health care systems, Policies, Service delivery systems, State programs, Youth with special health care needs

Chazin S, Bond M. 2018. Report on progress towards the 2018 milestones. Boston, MA: Oral Health Progress and Equity Network, 61 pp.

Annotation: This report presents Oral Health Progress and Equity Network (OPEN)—a network working toward framing oral health as health and focusing on oral health across the lifespan—2018 milestones set to serve as indicators of progress toward fulfillment of its 2020 targets. The report discusses the importance of each target to achieving oral health and overall health across the lifespan and describes progress toward each milestone. The report also includes an introduction to OPEN, discusses methodology, and presents findings of the 2018 milestone assessment in the following areas: children, schools, Medicare, Medicaid, measurement, person-centered care, and public perception.

Contact: Oral Health Progress and Equity Network, Web Site: http://www.oralhealth.network Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Health services delivery, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy

Children's Dental Health Project. 2018. Oral health during pregnancy: Oral health's unanswered questions. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brief outlines challenges that the oral health community has encountered in ensuring that pregnant women have good oral health and offers starting points for overcoming these challenges. The brief provides background on the importance of oral health during pregnancy, presents four overarching unanswered questions related to pregnant women’s oral health, discusses hurdles to getting care and the need for change, and offers a call to action.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery systems

Pudelski S. 2017, 2018. Cutting Medicaid: A prescription to hurt the neediest kids. Alexandria, VA: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 11 pp. (addendum 4 pp.).

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of school leaders about how service delivery and student health would be impacted by a decline in Medicaid reimbursement. The report outlines the survey questions and findings, highlights how students with disabilities and students with low incomes will be impacted by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant, describes how communities will be economically affected by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant for school districts, details the potential of districts to lose critical mental health supports for students that are reimbursable by Medicaid, and notes how district efforts to expand Medicaid coverage to students and their families will be undermined by a block grant or per-capita cap.

Contact: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 1615 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 578-0700 Fax: (703)-841-1543 E-mail: info@aasa.org Web Site: http://www.aasa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Policy development, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Service delivery, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2017. HRSA oral health: Across the agency. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2017. CDC DentalCheck: Infection prevention & control checklist application. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health service delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Fischer D. 2017. Results of the WDA member perinatal oral health survey. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 2 pp.

Annotation: This article describes a project to increase the use of oral health care for pregnant women and infants in Wisconsin by integrating oral health care into the state’s health-care-delivery system. The article also presents findings from a survey of dentists about their current practice, knowledge, and interest in continuing education related to oral health care during pregnancy. Topics include dentists’ opinions about the barriers that pregnant women face and strategies to increase their use of oral health services. Information about how findings will be implemented is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Continuing education, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, State surveys, Statewide planning, Systems development, Training

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.