Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (544 total).

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2018. Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile Administration Manual. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 35 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for all Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information. Information about infection control and safe delivery of oral health care outside the dental office is included in appendices.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Maryland Dental Action Coalition. 2018. Maryland oral health plan 2018–2023. Columbia, MD: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 35 pp.

Annotation: This plan is a guide for improving the oral health of all Marylanders. The plan focuses on access to oral health care, oral disease and injury prevention, and oral health literacy and education. A discussion of the implementation of the plan, oral health status in Maryland, and accomplishments in 2011–2017 are included. An overview of the Maryland Dental Action Committee is provided.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: info@mdac.us Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Disease prevention, Education, Health literacy, Injury prevention, Oral health

Vidrine S, Hamrick A. 2018. School-based sealant programs: An innovative approach to improve children's oral health. Raleigh, NC: NC Child, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief explores the impact of dental caries on children’s health and academic success and how North Carolina can take steps to improve children’s oral health and academic outcomes through the use of school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). Topics include the impact of dental caries on children’s health and well-being, evidence-based solutions, SBSPs, and the impact of SBSPs on children’s oral health outcomes.

Contact: NC Child, 3101 Poplarwood Court, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27604, Telephone: (919) 834-6623 Web Site: http://www.ncchild.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, North Carolina, Oral health, School age children, School health programs, State programs

2018 Physical Activity Guidelines Advisory Committee. 2018. 2018 Physical Activity Guidelines Advisory Committee scientific report. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2018. Bright Futures tool and resource kit (2nd ed.). Itasca, IL: Amercan Academy of Pediatrics,

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Virginia Department of Health, Division of Dental Health. 2017. Bright Smiles for Babies: Virginia Oral Health Partnership for Children. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Dental Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds. 2017. Bright Futures: Guidelines for health supervision of infants, children, and adolescents–Pocket guide (4th ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 123 pp.

Annotation: This pocket guide summarizes recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $16.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

South Carolina Oral Health Coalition. 2017. Oral health care for pregnant women. [Columbia, SC]: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 30 pp.

Annotation: This document presents clinical practice guidelines for the oral health care of pregnant women in South Carolina. The document contains data on infant mortality and preterm birth, oral health care and counseling utilization. It includes recommendations for health professionals and for oral health professionals, referral forms for oral health care, and dentists' reports for prenatal care professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: info@dhec.sc.gov Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Forms, Guidelines, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, South Carolina, State programs

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health. 2017. Fluoride varnish training manual for Massachusetts health care professionals. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help health professionals implement fluoride-varnish applications for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. Contents include office-based and online training options; steps for establishing and using fluoride varnish in the office; a template for documenting the oral examination, procedure and post-procedure, and risk factors for dental caries; facts on fluoride-varnish application; coding, reimbursement, and claim submission; and information for caregivers about fluoride varnish.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2017. CDC DentalCheck: Infection prevention & control checklist application. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health service delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Sealant Work Group. 2017. Report of the Sealant Work Group: Recommendations & products. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Office of the U.S. Surgeon General, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Office on Smoking and Health. 2017. Know the Risks: E-cigarettes & young people. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides information about the risks electronic cigarette (e-cigarette) use poses to youth and young adults, as well as resources for expanding and sharing knowledge about e-cigarettes and their impact on young people. Contents include the Surgeon General's report on the use of e-cigarettes by youth and young adults and information about the role of parents, health care professionals, and others in preventing harm and reducing young people's exposure to e-cigarettes. Resources include a fact sheet focusing on trends and heath risks, a quiz, a parent tip sheet, a health care provider conversation card, and responses to frequently asked questions. The fact sheet, tip sheet, and conversation card are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse effects, Beliefs, Communication, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Marketing, Public awareness campaign materials, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco, Trends, Young adults

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health. 2017. Keeping your mouth healthy is important for your baby to have a healthy mouth. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 3 items.

Annotation: These resources for pregnant women focus on the importance of a healthy mouth both before and during pregnancy. Contents include a sharable image, an infographic, and a video. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: fluoride@aap.org Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program. 2017. Oral health during pregnancy/Baby's first dental visit. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This bookmark for pregnant women provides information about nutrition and oral health during pregnancy and infancy. The bookmark offers tips on oral hygiene, nutrition, and dental visits during pregnancy on one side and during infancy on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Disease prevention, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services

Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program. 2017. Smile for good health. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information about the importance of oral health for overall health for infants, children, and adolescents. Contents include tips on preventing tooth decay, such as cleaning an infant’s gums and teeth after feeding; the age 1 dental visit; toothbrushing and flossing; fluoride; and dental sealants. Tips on offering water to children, wearing mouth guards, and avoiding tobacco are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Infants, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2017. Protect your baby's smile & health before and after birth. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

O'Neil M, Sweetland J, Fond M. 2017. Unlocking the door to new thinking: Frames for advancing oral health reform. Washington, DC: FrameWorks Institute, 28 pp. (FrameWorks message memo)

Annotation: This document outlines findings from research on how Americans think about oral health and explains these findings’ implications for communication, outreach, and advocacy. Topics include implications of attitudes toward oral health for advancing an informed public conversation and communications tools and techniques.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: info@FrameWorksInstitute.org Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Communication, Community action, Disease prevention, Health care reform, Health disparities, Health promotion, Mass media, Oral health, Outreach, Public policy, Service integration, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Systems development, Teamwork

Integrated Clinical and Social Systems for the Prevention and Management of Obesity Innovation Collaborative, Provider Training and Education Workgroup. 2017. Provider competencies for the prevention and management of obesity. Washington, DC: Bipartisan Policy Center, 9 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines competencies for health professionals engaged in obesity prevention and management. Contents include general concepts related to core obesity knowledge, interprofessional obesity care, and patient interactions related to obesity that can be integrated into existing curricula or used as a model for chronic disease curricula.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: bipartisaninfo@bipartisanpolicy.org Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Competence, Competency-based education, Curriculum development, Disease management, Models, Nutrition, Obesity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

American College of Rheumatology, Lupus Foundation of America. 2017. Be Fierce. Take Control™. Atlanta, GA: American College of Rheumatology; Washington, DC: Lupus Foundation of America, multiple items.

Annotation: This public health campaign website was launched with the goal of educating and empowering young African American and Latino women (including those ages 15-18), who are most at-risk for developing lupus, to be aware of it signs and symptoms. The campaign uses the web, social media, digital advertising, and audience engagement to reach young women and educate them about the signs and symptoms of lupus. The campaign website also provides tools and resources such as the Lupus Foundation of America’s “Could it Be Lupus?” interactive questionnaire so those with possible symptoms can learn how to take that next step and talk to their health care provider.

Contact: Lupus Foundation of America, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 349-1155 Secondary Telephone: (800) 558-0121 Fax: (202) 349-1156 Web Site: http://www.lupus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, African Americans, Autoimmune diseases, Early intervention programs, Empowerment, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Lupus erythematosus, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Self care, Women's health

Children's Dental Health Project. [2016]. Talking points on ending cavities for oral health advocates. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides talking points on ways to eliminate dental caries in children. Topics include the consequences of poor oral health on children and their families; costs for families and states; the role of primary care health professionals and other health professionals in providing oral health care; and the need for affordable, comprehensive dental coverage.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Oral health

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.