Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (552 total).

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. n.d.. Health tips for families series. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 13 items.

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Community Health Center of Franklin County. n.d.. Silver diamine fluoride: A new treatment for cavities. Turners Falls, MA: Community Health Center of Franklin County, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about silver diamine fluoride and how it is used to arrest dental caries in children and adults. The brochure explains what silver diamine fluoride is; provides detailed steps for applying it; and discusses indications for use, benefits, risks, drawbacks, and contraindications.

Contact: Community Health Center of Franklin County, 338 Montague City Road, Turners Falls, MA 10376, Web Site: http://www.chcfc.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral heath, Fluoride, Tooth decay, Prevention, Treatment, Low income groups

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids. n.d.. Pregnancy and opioids: What families need to know about opioid misuse and treatment during pregnancy. New York, NY: Partnershp for Drug-Free Kids, 20 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information for a pregnant woman’s family about opioid misuse and treatment during pregnancy. The guide explains what an opioid use disorder is and discusses the importance of comprehensive prenatal care and treatment for pregnant women with the disorder, delivery, newborn health, breastfeeding, social supports, and what to expect in the weeks and months after delivery.

Contact: Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, 352 Park Avenue South, 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (855) 378-4373 Secondary Telephone: (212) 922-1560 Fax: (212) 922-1570 E-mail: webmail@drugfree.org Web Site: http://www.drugfree.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Narcotics, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Substance abuse treatment

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. n.d.. Oral health for children and adolescents: How can you help?. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp. (Ideas for parents)

Annotation: This handout for parents explains why oral health is important and how to help prevent dental caries and other oral health problems. It presents a series of questions about school health services, including oral health services, that can help parents support their child’s school’s efforts to address oral health. Other questions presented cover oral health education, bullying prevention, how teachers reward students (i.e., with food or nonfood items), and whether students have access to free and clean drinking water. The handout explains how to find answers to the questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Maryland Department of Health. n.d.. Tips for good oral health during pregnancy/Tips for good oral health during infancy. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: These tip sheets for pregnant women and parents of infants provide information about how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy and in infancy. The pregnancy tip sheet discusses practicing good oral hygiene, eating healthy foods, getting oral health care, and practicing other healthy behaviors. The safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy and coverage through Maryland Medicaid are also discussed. The infant tip sheet discusses providing good oral hygiene for infants. The pregnancy tip sheet and the infant tip sheet are on one double-sided document, with information about pregnancy on one side and information about infants on the other. The tip sheets are available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health. 2020-. [Healthy teeth across generations: Tip sheets for all ages]. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This series includes four handouts: (1) Keeping Baby Teeth Healthy, (2) Protecting Young People’s Teeth, (3) Protecting Your Teeth for a Lifetime, and (4) Protect Your Teeth Later in Life. Each tip sheet provides information about how to keep the mouth and teeth healthy during different life stages (e.g., pregnancy, infancy, childhood, adolescence, later years) as well as for a lifetime. The handouts are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: fluoride@aap.org Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Infant health, Older adults, Consumer education materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Georgia Department of Public Health. 2020. Oral health tips. Atlanta, GA: Georgia Department of Public Health, 6 parts.

Annotation: This series of videos offer information about oral health during pregnancy and during infancy. Pregnancy-related topics include visiting the dentist, the importance of brushing with fluoridated toothpaste twice a day and flossing once a day, the relationship between a pregnant woman’s oral health and her future child’s oral health, and oral health problems that can occur during pregnancy. Infancy-related topics include the importance of caring for an infant’s mouth and how to take care of an infant’s teeth and gums.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention

National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep. 2020. Safe sleep in child-care settings: Recommendations for reducing the risk of sudden infant death. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 10 pp.

Annotation: This handout and FAQ sheet is for non-parental caregivers in child-care settings. It covers definitions of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and sudden unexpected infant death (SUID); creating a safe sleep environment, promoting the safe to sleep message, and raising awareness and changing practices. A list of additional resources is included. An accompanying infographic illustrates six ways to put babies safely to sleep.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits and Practice Institute, Center for Dental Benefits, Coding and Quality. 2020. COVID-19 coding and billing interim guidance: Virtual visits. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits and Practice Institute, Center for Dental Benefits, Coding and Quality, 18 pp.

Annotation: This guide is intended to help dental offices navigate issues related to coding and billing for virtual appointments during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses coding for a variety of services, provides sample coding scenarios, and offers answers to frequently asked questions. HIPAA and telecommunication technology are also addressed. A checklist of considerations for practices in providing virtual services during the COVID-19 pandemic is included, along with sample language for informed consent forms for virtual services, tips for performing virtual evaluations, and billing policies by payer.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (800) 621-8099 Secondary Telephone: 312-440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanlsh language materials, Virus diseases

McMillen Health. 2020. Toothbrushing and COVID-19. Fort Wayne, IN: McMillen Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about caring for young children’s mouths and teeth at home during the COVID-19 pandemic, when they may not be brushing at school owing to safety concerns. The fact sheet includes information about the importance of brushing at home; the importance of baby teeth; and things parents can do to keep children healthy, such as giving milk and water between meals only and visiting the dentist twice a year. The fact sheet is written in English and in Spanish.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Virus diseases, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanish language materials

Center on Media and Child Health. 2020. Family digital wellness guide: What parents need to know about media and their child. Boston, MA: Center on Media and Child Health, 38 pp.

Annotation: This guide gives an overview of children's stages of development and and gives science-based guidance on how each one relates to the media they use. Chapters cover infants and toddlers, preschoolers, school age children, tweens, and teens. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Center on Media and Child Health, Boston Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-2000 Fax: (617)730-0004 E-mail: cmch@childrens.harvard.edu Web Site: http://www.cmch.tv Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Infant development, Infants, Interactive media, Spanish language materials, Technology, Toddlers, Young children

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2020. Coronavirus disease and oral health: Information for parents about promoting good oral health at home. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 p.

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about promoting good oral health at home during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of and provides tips for serving healthy foods and drinks and promoting good oral hygiene habits to keep children’s mouths healthy during the pandemic and always. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials., Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2020. Coronavirus disease and oral health: Information for parents about visiting the dental office. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 p.

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about taking their child to the dentist during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of getting oral health care for children. It also lists changes that dental offices may have made to lower the risk of spreading COVID-19 to patients and parents. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagolog, and Vietnamese. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2020. Catch-up to get ahead toolkit. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides messages and graphics to help spread awareness about catching up on childhood immunizations during the novel coronavirus, or COVID-19, pandemic during National Immunization Awareness Month in August. These materials are for the general public.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunization, Media campaigns

Delta Dental of Michigan. 2019. Rethink your drink, choose water. Okemos, MI: Delta Dental Foundation, 2 items.

Annotation: This document provides information about sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and tips on healthy alternatives. Topics include the potential impact of SSB consumption on oral health; the amount of sugar in different beverages; and recommended daily limits on sugar for infants, children, adolescents, and adults. Tips for reducing SSB consumption, including juice consumption, and choosing water are inclduded.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Fluid intake, Health behavior, Infants, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Sugar, Water

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2019. Advice about eating fish: For women who are or might become pregnant, breastfeeding mothers, and young children. [Silver Spring, MD]: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chart is designed to help pregnant women and parents choose which fish to eat, and how often to eat them, based on their mercury levels. Contents include best choices (lowest levels of mercury), good choices, and choices to avoid (highest mercury levels) and the number of servings per day. A description of serving sizes for adults and young children (ages 4 to 7) is included.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Environmental exposures, Environmental pollution, Nutrition, Parents, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2019. Oral health guide for families. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 40 pp.

Annotation: This guide for pregnant women and families provides information about oral health for women during and after pregnancy as well as for infants and young children. Topics include oral diseases,keeping teeth healthy, healthy eating for two, the safety of oral health care for pregnant women, the importance of primary teeth, the causes of tooth decay and how to prevent it, caring for an infant’s mouth, and the first dental visit. The guide is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Young children

University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability; University of New Mexico College of Nursing. 2019. Setting oral health goals for the family. Albuquerque, NM: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability; University of New Mexico College of Nursing, 40 pp.

Annotation: This flipbook for health educators provides information to share with families about improving oral health. The flipbook is divided into three sections: (1) oral health for the family, (2) oral health for infants and young children, and (3) oral health for older children and adults. A worksheet and frequently asked questions focused on helping families make changes to improve their oral health are included in the flipbook and are also available as a stand-alone document. Also included is guidance for the educator about how to present the material in the flipbook to families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability, 2300 Menaul Boulevard, NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107, Telephone: (505) 272-3000 Fax: (505) 272-5280 Web Site: http://cdd.unm.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Families, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability; University of New Mexico College of Nursing. 2019. Healthy care for the mouth of expectant mothers and babies. Albuquerque, NM: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability; University of New Mexico College of Nursing, 39 pp.

Annotation: This flipbook for health educators provides information to share with pregnant women and new parents about improving oral health during pregnancy and infancy. The flipbook is divided into two sections: (1) healthy mouths for pregnant women and (2) healthy mouths for infants. Each section includes tips for keeping the mouth healthy, information about what causes oral health problems, and tips for preventing them. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability, 2300 Menaul Boulevard, NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107, Telephone: (505) 272-3000 Fax: (505) 272-5280 Web Site: http://cdd.unm.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women

University of Maryland School of Public Health's Horowitz Center for Health Literacy. 2019. Brushing toddlers' teeth. College Park, MD: University of Maryland School of Public Health Herschel S. Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, 1 video (2:18 minutes).

Annotation: This video focuses on the importance of brushing toddlers’ teeth. The video shows a health professional demonstrating to a mother techniques for brushing toddlers’ teeth. Different positions for brushing are demonstrated, and guidance for how often to brush and how much fluoridated toothpaste to use are discussed. What to do if a child cries during brushing is also addressed.

Contact: University of Maryland School of Public Health, Herschel S. Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, Dean's Office, SPH Building, Room 2367, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, Telephone: (301) 405-2356 E-mail: HealthLiteracy@umd.edu Web Site: https://sph.umd.edu/center/hchl Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Oral health, Videotapes, Young children

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.