Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 32 (32 total).

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Children with Special Health Needs, Work Group on Systems Development. 1990. The MCH block grant's systems development mandate and the state programs for children with special health needs. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Children with Special Health Needs, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the 1989 Title V maternal and child health services block grant mandate that state children with special health care needs programs should assume a leadership role in developing community-based systems of services for these children and their families. It discusses the leadership role, elements of service delivery systems, steps in developing a service delivery system, and assistance in systems development that the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau can provide to states.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Contact Phone: (301) 443-2350 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Social Security Act, Title V, State CSHCN programs, Systems development

National Center for Clinical Infant Programs. 1985. There ought to be a law?: Ensuring state-wide services for disabled and at-risk infants and toddlers. Washington, DC: National Center for Clinical Infant Programs, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report is a synthesis of a conference of representatives of states developing comprehensive service systems for disabled and at-risk children in the first three years of life. The conference was held to discuss legislative mandates for serving such children, systems for identifying such infants, and program evaluation. Topics covered in the report include choosing policy options, a discussion about policy planning, and avoiding pitfalls. Appendices accompanying this report include the conference's participants and a table showing the status of each state in childhood special education across 12 characteristics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, At risk children, At risk infants, Children with special health care needs, Comprehensive health care, Conferences, Policy development, Service delivery, State CSHCN programs, State legislation

Public Health Foundation. 1984-. Public health agencies 198_: Services for mothers and children. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report reviews a revised set of data on both maternal and child health and crippled children's services. Part one of the report describes the health services for women of childbearing age and children provided, arranged, and purchased by Maternal and Child Health Units (MCHUs). Services provided, arranged, and purchased for handicapped children through State Crippled Children's Agencies (SCCAs) are reviewed in part two. Appendix A describes the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation forms revision process and provides background on the data collection methodology. The extent to which MCHUs and SCCAs reported complete data on services provided through local health departments and other service providers is discussed in Appendix B. Appendix C contains supplemental tables from secondary data sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Public Health Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 218-4400 Fax: (202) 218-4409 E-mail: info@phf.org Web Site: http://www.phf.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Data analysis, Maternal health services, Reports, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Statistics

Medicus Systems Corporation. 1983. Status of interagency agreements between state maternal and child health and crippled children's services agencies and state Medicaid agencies, including Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment programs--Draft study of findings. Aleandria, VA: Medicus Systems Corporation, 86 pp. (Hiscock Collection; no. 152)

Annotation: This document reports results of a survey of several states on the state of interagency coordination, including interagency agreements and policy coordination, direct services agreements, provider recruitment, standards of care, efforts at collaboration and coordination, and related issues. The survey instrument was developed at the request of the Division of Maternal and Child Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: EPSDT, Interagency cooperation, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1982-83. Public health agencies 1982-83: Services for mothers and children. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report reviews a revised set of data on both maternal and child health and crippled children's services. Part one of the report describes the health services for women of childbearing age and children provided, arranged, and purchased by Maternal and Child Health Units (MCHUs). Services provided, arranged, and purchased for handicapped children through State Crippled Children's Agencies (SCCAs) are reviewed in part two. Appendix A describes the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation forms revision process and provides background on the data collection methodology. The extent to which MCHUs and SCCAs reported complete data on services provided through local health departments and other service providers is discussed in Appendix B. Appendix C contains supplemental tables from secondary data sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHA298 (1982).

Keywords: Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Data analysis, Maternal health services, Reports, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Statistics

Fleming JW, ed. 1980. Second national conference on nursing in crippled children's services (CCS)/supplemental security income for disabled children programs (SSIDC). Lexington, KY: University of Kentucky, College of Nursing, 117 pp.

Annotation: This the report of a conference on the challenges related to caring for children with special health needs. It presents issues related to the nursing care of children with disabilities. The role of the CCS-SSIDC and its programs and implementation guidelines are highlighted. It also discusses current trends and future priorities for the care of children with special health needs. Group recommendations and appendices are provided.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Federal programs, Nursing, State CSHCN programs, Supplemental Security Income

Iowa State Services for Crippled Children. 1979. MCH and CC Biregional Conference, Regions V and VII: Summary report. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, 24 pp.

Pratt MW, Felton HM. 1974. Final report: Health programs management information system (HPMIS) for MCH and CCS programs. [Washington, DC]: George Washington University, Operational and Demographic Analysis for Maternal and Child Health Project, ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This report traces the investigation of health program management information needs at the program, state, region, and federal levels and provides an analysis of problems related to development of a practical methodology for collecting and using the information. Information on seventeen state maternal and child health and crippled children's services programs is included. A comparison of needs between states is made, including the feasibility of developing one management information system to meet all state level requirements. The background, early trials, copies of questionnaires, manuals, a glossary of terms, documentation, and program profiles are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Health programs, Management information systems, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1964. Historical perspective on mental retardation during the decade 1954-1964: A compilation of articles in Children. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 314 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 426-1969)

Annotation: This volume includes articles on mental retardation, maternal and child health, and handicapped children's services reprinted from Children, the periodical of the Children's Bureau. The articles were originally published from 1954 to 1964. It is a publication of the U.S. Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, History, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental retardation

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1941. Services for crippled children under the Social Security Act, Title V, part 2—Development of program, 1936-39. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 95 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 258)

Annotation: This document describes the cooperative federal-state program for services for crippled children made possible by federal grants to the states under Title V, part 2 of the Social Security Act of 1935. It discusses the children receiving service; organization of state agencies; registration and admission procedures; conducting clinics; services in and outside of the hospital; aftercare;quality of care; numbers of children by sex,age, race, and diagnosis; services rendered; limitations of services; and advances to be sought. Statistics are provided throughout the publication. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Children with special health care needs, Federal legislation, Program development, Reports, Social Security, State CSHCN programs

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1940. Grants to states for maternal and child welfare under the Social Security Act of 1935 and the Social Security Act Amendments of 1939: Title V, parts 1, 2, and 3—Maternal and child-health services, services for crippled children, child-welfare services. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 25 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 253; Maternal and child welfare bulletin; no. 1 (revised))

Annotation: This publication includes the text of the Social Security Act relating to grants to states for maternal and child welfare, as amended in 1939. Commentary on the purpose of the Federal grants and requirements for state plans are provided for maternal and child health services, services for crippled children, and child welfare services. Charts listing the state agencies administering services under Title V, and the amount of federal funds awarded to each State in 1941 are also included. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child welfare, Federal grants, Reports, Social Security, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Welfare programs

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1940. Grants to states for maternal and child welfare under the Social Security Act Approved August 14, 1935: Title V, parts 1, 2, and 3—Maternal and child-health services, services for crippled children, child-welfare services. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 20 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); Maternal and child welfare bulletin; no. 1)

Annotation: This publication includes the text of the Social Security Act relating to grants to states for maternal and child welfare, as approved in 1935. Commentary on the purpose of the Federal grants and requirements for state plans are provided for maternal and child health services, services for crippled children, and child welfare services. Charts listing the funds by state are also included.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Social Security, Child welfare, Federal grants, Reports, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Welfare programs

« Previous Page    

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.