Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (1,747 total).

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity. 2022. Oral health equality project reports. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources related to the project, including a community-engagement survey available in English and in Spanish, an oral health status and knowledge survey, a discussion guide for facilitators to use with communities to learn about children’s oral health needs in the Worcester and Holyoke communities, and oral health profiles for Worcester and Holyoke. A data sheet that provides information about efforts to improve access to oral health care for black and Hispanic children ages 10–14 in these Massachusetts communities is also available.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Community programs, Health equity, Hispanic Americans, Massachusetts, Oral health

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2022. CMS framework for health equity 2022-2032. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 39 pp.

Annotation: This framework describes the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS’s) plan to incorporate health equity and efforts to address health disparities as a foundational element across all its work. The framework discusses five priority areas: expand the collection, reporting, and analysis of standardized data; assess causes of disparities within CMS programs and address inequalities in policies and operations to close gaps; build capacity of health care organizations and the workforce to reduce health and health care disparities; advance language access, health literacy, and the provision of culturally tailored services; and increase accessibility to health care services and coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health equity, Health literacy, Policy, Statistical data

Community Catalyst. 2022. Improving access to dental care beyond reimbursement rates. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents a range of strategies for improving access to oral health care. It provides recommendations for how to focus efforts to address the problem of poor access to care, the limits of reimbursement rates on improving access to care, and strategies for improving access. Strategies offered include expanding coverage; broadening the oral health workforce; and adopting solutions that deliver care in communities while removing long-standing structural hurdles.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health services, Health care delivery, Oral health, Reimbursement

Community Catalyst. 2022. Guide to oral health data sources. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information on oral health data and sources that advocates may find helpful in describing access to care barriers, problems, and disparities and that may help make the case for policy solutions that address these issues. Topics include oral health access and outcomes, oral health professionals, Medicaid, and special populations (children, pregnant women, older adults, and adults with low incomes).

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Health care disparities, Low income groups, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Statistical data

Community Catalyst. 2022. Communities care about oral health. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief offers information about community members’ attitudes in several states about oral health. It discusses how important it is to community members to get a dental check-up, compared with a medical check-up; how important it is to parents that their child has good oral health; and how institutional and structural factors limit community members’ access to clear information about oral health. Also discussed are community members’ understanding of the importance of oral health to overall health and how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted their attitudes about getting oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Attitudes, COVID-19, Communities, Disease transmission, Health information, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Underserved communities, Virus diseases

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2022. Civic engagement and civic infrastructure to advance health equity: Proceedings of a workshop. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 98 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings are from a workshop convened by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's roundtable on Population Health Improvement. The workshop explored the link between measures of civic engagement and quantitative and qualitative measure of health equity and the roles that civic infrastructure, narrative, and media play in shaping civic engagement. The document provides additional readings and resources.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health policy, Health status disparities, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2022. Rural children's health and health care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 3 pp. (NSCH data brief)

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2019–2020 about the health, including oral health, of children living in rural areas, as well as use of health care. Topics include receipt of preventive medical and oral health visits; adverse childhood experiences; and weight, physical activity, and food insecurity.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Rural population, Statistical data, Surveys

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2022. Policy on social determinants of children's oral health and health disparities (rev. ed.). Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the influence of factors including access to care, oral disease, behaviors, and oral health inequalities on children’s oral health. Methods and background are presented, and recommendations for oral health professionals and policymakers are offered. The report also includes a policy statement.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: zzz, Access to health care, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy, Tooth decay, Tooth diseases

Executives for Health Innovation. 2022. Maternal health disparities: Challenges, trends, and the way forward. Washington, DC: Executives for Health Innovation, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report explores the maternal health crisis in the United States and offers real-world examples and solutions designed to eliminate disparities in maternal health and reduce maternal mortality rates. The areas of focus include: dynamics in maternal care that lead to disparities; policies that facilitate change; utilizing technology to increase health equity; and recommendations for the future.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: info@ehidc.org Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Telehealth, Telemedecine

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2022. Supporting dental therapy through Title VII training programs: A meaningful strategy for implementing equitable oral health care--19th annual report to the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and the Congress of the United States. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a government strategy for supporting dental therapy, which is practiced by members of an oral health team providing a defined set of procedures under the supervision of a dentist. Topics include recommendations, the importance of oral health, dentist shortage and maldistribution, the impact of oral health disparities, financial costs and system burden, the emerging dental therapy profession, quality of care, financial benefits, and exemplary programs.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, Arizona Oral Health Coalition, and Arizona Children's Action Alliance. 2022. Room to grow: An analysis of dental and health care claims in Medicaid-enrolled children in Arizona. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Arkansas Center for Health Improvement. 2022. Utilization of dental care among Arkansas children and adults. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Steward M, Howe G, Patel S. 2022. Advancing oral health equity for Medicaid populations. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 15 pp. (Brief)

Annotation: This brief describes barriers to addressing oral health equity and outlines recommendations for overcoming these issues within four key areas: (1) coverage and access, (2) workforce-capacity building, (3) partner-ships, and (4) payment. In particular, the brief highlights specific opportunities for partnering with community-based stakeholders (e.g., community-based organizations) as part of efforts to reduce oral health disparities and advance oral health equity for individuals enrolled in Medicaid.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Financing, Health equity, Medicaid, Oral health

Atkeson A. 2022. Improving access to oral health care for tribal populations in Oklahoma. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Oklahoma and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Oklahoma Medicaid’s addition of a dental benefit, its plans to transition to managed care, and its tribal consultation policy.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oklahoma, Oral health, State information

Roth E, Atkeson A. 2022. Improving access to oral health care for tribal populations in Arizona = Engaging tribal populations to improve oral health care access in Arizona. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Arizona and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Arizona Medicaid’s tribal consultation policy and community engagement with oral health in the state.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oral health, State information

Public Counsel. 2022. Examining racial and ethnic inequities among children served under California's developmental services system: Where things currently stand . Los Angeles, CA: Public Counsel , 43 pp.

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Minnesota Department of Health, Oral Health Program. [2021]. Minnesota state oral health plan 2020-2030: Building collaboration for collective action. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines goals and strategies for advancing oral health equity, increasing access to oral health care, preventing oral disease, and improving oral health in Minnesota. It included five key focus areas: oral health infrastructure; access to oral health care; health systems integration; disability, special health care needs, and inclusion; and data. Oral health disparities in Minnesota, work and achievements since Minnesota’s first state oral health plan, best practices, and future directions are also discussed.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Health care systems, Health equity, Minnesota, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Special health care needs, State planning

White PH, Greenberg A. 2021 (ca.). Telehealth toolkit for a joint visit with pediatric and adult health care clinicians and transferring young adults. Washington, DC: Got Transition, 6 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit offers pediatric and adult medical professionals sample content that can be used to facilitate transfer to adult care, as well as a sample resource for the transferring young adult that explains the telehealth visit. The two tip sheets are designed to be used as a general guide for the agenda of the joint telehealth visit, and both can be customized to the practice and young adult and family situation. Additional resources include a practice script example and a link to Got Transition's Six Core Elements of Health Care Transition.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2021. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 246 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: macpac@macpac.gov Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2021. Best practice approach: Oral health care of people with special health care needs. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors; Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 15 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report offers information about the oral health of people with special health care needs (SHCN). It presents background information, including information on considerations for oral health care delivery, promising initiatives, the workforce, sites of care, financing of care, establishing comprehensive care, and data. Strategic calls to action for improving the oral health care of people with SHCN are also included. The report offers guidelines and recommendations, research evidence, and state practice examples illustrating strategies and interventions for people with SHCN. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Guidelines, Model programs, Oral health, Research

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.