Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (1,680 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2020. Chartbook on healthcare for Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 42 pp., 79 slides. (National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report chartbooks)

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine. 2020. Using teledentistry to maintain services and contact with patients during the time of COVID-19 physical distancing. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 7 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about using teledentistry during the COVID‐19 pandemic. Topics include the impact of physical distancing, system considerations, components of a care system, workflow, and optimizing in-person visits. The guide also discusses the advantages of an “all-in-one” teledentistry system containing multiple components that are linked and integrated (e.g., registration, consent, schedule, messaging, live video).

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, Teledentistry, Telemedicine

National Rural Health Association. 2020. Compendium of rural oral health best practices. Kansas City, MO: National Rural Health Association, 26 pp.

Annotation: This compendium presents programs designed to improve access to high-quality oral health care in rural communities and shares best practices related to providing oral health services in these communities. The compendium is divided into topic areas: workforce development and training, care integration, telehealth, clinical, and policy and national models. Each topic area highlights specific programs and provides information on the program purpose, a program summary, and information on the program's efficacy and impact. zzz

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: mail@NRHArural.org Web Site: http://www.ruralhealthweb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Programs, Public policy, Rural population, Telemedicine, Training

Keating K, Murphey D, Daily S, Ryberg R, Laurore J. 2020. Maternal and child health inequities emerge even before birth. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, 52 pp. (State of babies yearbook 2020)

Annotation: This document summarizes evidence of serious disparities in infant and maternal outcomes related to race and presents strategies to ameliorate them, including existing policies and programs and promising practices states can pursue.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Infant health, Maternal health, Minority groups, Minority health, Model programs

Got Transition. 2020. Six core elements of health care transition [3.0]. Washington, DC: Got Transition, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource describes the basic components of a structured transition process and includes customizable sample tools for each core element and an implementation package for each type of practice. They are tailored to the type of practice facilitating the health care transition in these areas: (1) transitioning youth to an adult health care clinician, for use by pediatric, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians; (2) transitioning to an adult approach to health care without changing clinicians, for use by family medicine and med-peds clinicians; and (3) integrating young adults into adult health care, for use by internal medicine, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians. A summary chart describes the three sets of tools and six elements. The materials are available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Office of Behavioral Health Equity and Chau V. 2020. The opioid crisis and the Hispanic/Latino population: An urgent issue. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief addresses contextual issues related to opioid misuse and opioid use disorder in Hispanic/Latino communities, including national data, pain management, and sociocultural factors associated with accessing services, and strategies to address these problems.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SAMHSA PEP20-05-02-002.

Keywords: Access to health care, Hispanic Americans, Opiates, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Treatment

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2020. Talking to parents about the COVID-19 pandemic. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 2 pp.

Annotation: This handout provides information for families about dental treatment, appointments, emergencies and other topics related children’s oral health care during COVID-19. Topics include how COVID-19 has impacted pediatric dentists, what constitutes a dental emergency, whether a dental office has enough personal protective equipment to ensure the safety of patients and staff, when dentists’ offices will reopen and whether going to dental visits will be safe, what will be different about visiting the dentist, how to contact a dentist if the office is closed, how to keep a child’s teeth healthy at home, how to prepare children for visiting the dentist, and whether is it necessary to bring a child to the dentist for regular preventive visits. zzz

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Safety, Virus diseases

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2020. Preventive dental visits for children and adolescents are important!. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about benefits of and barriers to preventive dental visits for children and adolescents. It emphasizes the importance of these visits to reduce oral health problems and promote overall health throughout life. It discusses integration of oral health care into primary care, the cost savings that early intervention can confer, and disparities in oral health status and in access to oral health services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Early intervention, Income factors, Low income groups, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Racial factors, Service integration, Spanish language materials

Barbara Aved Associates. 2020. Painful realities: General anesthesia access in Sacramento GMC dental managed care. Sacramento, CA: Sacramento County Department of Health Services, Public Health Division, Oral Health Program, 71 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to determine the availability of general anesthesia (GA) for oral health care in Sacramento County, CA, particularly for individuals with special health care needs (SHCN). The report discusses the importance of GA for those with SHCN who may be unable to tolerate oral health care without it. Topics include process and data sources, background, findings, and recommendations.

Contact: Sacramento County Department of Health Services, Public Health Division, 7001-A East Parkway, Suite 600, Sacramento, CA 95823, Telephone: (916) 875-6259 Web Site: http://www.scph.com Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children with special health care needs, Adults with special health care needs, Access to health care, Oral health, State programs

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2020. Networks for oral health integration: Overview and project profiles. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net projects. The goal of the initiative is to improve access to and utilization of comprehensive, high-quality oral health care in community health centers for pregnant women, infants and children from birth to age 40 months, and children ages 6–11 at high risk for oral disease. The report includes a profile of each of the three projects: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, Rocky Mountain Network, and Transforming Oral Health for Families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, High risk groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration

Phipps KR, Ricks TL, Mork NP, Lozon TL. 2020. The oral health of 13-15 year old American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) dental clinic patients: A follow-up report to the 2013 survey. Rockville, MD: U.S. Indian Health Service, 7 pp. (Indian Health Service data brief)

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of 13–15-year-old American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) dental clinic patients, comparing results of the 2019–2020 survey with the 2013 survey. It presents a summary of what’s new in the report since the 2013 survey, and key findings in three areas: (1) oral health of AI/AN adolescents over the past two decades, (2) oral health disparities in AI/AN adolescents compared with U.S. adolescents overall, and (3) percentage of AI/AN adolescents who had a dental visit in the past year compared with U.S. adolescents overall. zzz

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Alaska Natives, Medicaid, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Surveys, Surveys, Trends

March of Dimes. 2020. Nowhere to go: Maternity care deserts across the U.S.. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report builds upon the 2018 report and continues to identify counties where a woman’s access to maternity health services may be limited or absent. It describes policy solutions and actions; gives summary data about maternity care deserts with a map showing each county in the U.S. and its level of access to maternity care; characteristics of maternity care deserts; information about and maps of hospitals, birth centers, providers, midwives and doulas; health insurance coverage; perinatal regionalization and risk-appropriate levels of care; and the covid-19 pandemic and access to maternity care.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, State surveys, Statistics

McManus M, Schmidt A, White P. 2020. Medicaid contract language to expand the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care. Washington, DC: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health and Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document describes contract language options states can use to provide for the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care, in the areas of definitions, member services and education, provider networks, covered services, care coordination, and quality and evaluation. Appendices list actual 2018/2019 contract language on the same topics from selected states. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: info@thenationalalliance.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Health Equity. 2020. Health equity report 2019-2020: Special feature on housing and health inequalities. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 194 pp.

Annotation: The report is a comprehensive analysis of HRSA program efforts in reducing health disparities and promoting health equity for various populations at the national, state, and local levels. It is produced biennially, and this edition includes a special feature on housing and health inequalities in the United States, and shows the impact of housing status and housing conditions on population health and health equity. It also covers social determinants of health; housing, life expectancy and mortality; maternal and child health; primary health care access and quality; organ and blood stem cell donation and transplantation; Ryan White HIV-AIDS program; health workforce; rural-urban health disparities; and civil rights and HRSA's housing and health equity initiatives.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Housing, Minority health

National Indian Health Board, Tribal Oral Health Initiative. [2019]. Dental therapy start up guide for tribal leaders. Washington, DC: National Indian Health Board, 88 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses oral health issues in tribal communities and offers potential solutions to these communities’ oral health challenges. Topics include how Alaska has used dental therapists (instead of dentists) to provide needed oral health services, how tribes can evaluate the potential of using dental therapists to meet their oral health needs, complying with state statutes and regulations, implementing tribal licensing, developing the workforce, building financial stability, and integrating dental therapists into a tribe’s oral health team. Stories from individuals and a tribe are included.

Contact: National Indian Health Board, 926 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20003, Telephone: (202) 507-4070 Fax: (202) 507-4071 E-mail: sbohlen@nihb.org Web Site: http://www.nihb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, Alaska natives, American Indians, Federal legislation, Oral health, State programs

North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative. [2019]. 2019-2024 strategic plan: A roadmap for oral health equity & access in NC. Cary, NC: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document offers strategies for developing an effective oral health system in North Carolina and identifies three strategic priorities: advance systemic change, influence policy, and increase organizational effectiveness. For each priority, goals, sub-goals, and targeted actions are presented. A strategic planning overview and a timeline are included.

Contact: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, Foundation for Health Leadership & Innovation, Cary, NC Telephone: 919-589-7524 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthnc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, North Carolina, Oral health, Public policy, State initiatives, Strategic plans

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2019. Medicaid's role for women. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 9 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This report discusses the role of Medicaid for women and presents information describing the current state of the Medicaid program as it affects women. Topics include who is eligible for coverage, a profile of women enrolled in Medicaid, reproductive health, chronic conditions and disabilities, aging and long-term care, and access to care. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Health care financing, Medicaid, Statistics, Women's health

Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check-up on oral health: A call to action. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the lifespan, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health. 2019. Adolescent health: Think, Act, Grow–2019 playbook. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document presents an action-oriented framework for ensuring adolescent health and development and improving adolescent health outcomes. The document outlines roles for health care professionals; public health professionals; out-of-school and community based program professionals; education professionals; faith-based community professionals; social service professionals; parents, grandparents, families, and caregivers; and adolescents. Topics include creating positive connections with supportive people; safe and secure places to live, learn, and play; access to high-quality, adolescent-friendly health care including oral health care; opportunities for adolescents to engage as learners, leaders, team members, and workers; and coordinated adolescent- and family-centered services, as needed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: oah.gov@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Health promotion, Program improvement, Protective factors, Quality assurance, Risk factors, Role

Michigan Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check up on oral health: Age one dental services—Michigan county profile 2019. Lansing, MI: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about age 1 dental services in Michigan. The document includes background about the importance of good oral health in early childhood and offers statistics, by county, on infants and children under age 2 who participate in Medicaid who had at least one dental visit in 2017. Factors contributing to low access are presented. Information about Michigan Perinatal Oral Health Guidelines and a dental periodicity chart are included.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Young children

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.