Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 21 through 40 (390 total).

Larsen B, Larsen W. n.d.. A rank order method for assessing the Children and Youth Program. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 15 pp. (Quantods series no.: 2-11 (12))

Larsen B. n.d.. Determinants of migration in low income areas. Minneapolis, MN: [School of Public Health, University of Minnesota], Systems Development Project, 10 pp. (Quantods series no.: 1-9 (6))

Annotation: This paper discusses potential motivations for itnernal migration. The results presented in this paper apply to a group of 20 low income areas, specifically to the geographical target areas associated with a sample of 20 Children and Youth program comprehensive health care services delivery projects. The analysis is based on data extracted from the Quarterly Summary Reports for this program. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Statistical analysis

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. n.d.. Maternal and Child Health Training Program announcement of grant availability: Pediatric Pulmonary Centers. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Peoples MD. n.d.. The role of maternity and infant care projects in reducing low weight births. Unpublished manuscript, 39 pp.

Annotation: This paper gives a historical overview of the Maternity and Infant Care (MIC) projects enabled through amendments to Title V of the Social Security Act in 1963. The paper presents available data on MIC project accomplishments, with particular emphasis on the relationship of the projects to the incidence of low birth weight. Topics include: the evolution of MIC projects; administration and financing; objectives of the projects; eligibility; coverage of women and infants at risk; quality of care; effects on the use of care and low birth weight; and cost. The difficulties in evaluating these projects is also discussed, including methodological problems and issues of interpretation. A list of references is provided. Tables with information on the projects and evaluations of these projects are provided at the end of the paper.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Title V information system glossary. Germantown, MD: HRSA Call Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This glossary explains terms used in the Title V Information System, an online service that electronically captures and makes available applications and reports submitted by U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions on state programs funded under Title V of the Social Security Act.

Contact: Title V Information System, HRSA Call Center, 12530 Parklawn Drive, Suite 350, Germantown, MD 20850, Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 998-7377 E-mail: CallCenter@HRSA.GOV Web Site: https://mchb.tvisdata.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 2020. Maternal and child health history. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource provides access to historical materials, special collections, and legislation and program data related to maternal and child health (MCH) and health services for pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, and families. The resource focuses on federal programs including activities of the U.S. Children's Bureau and MCH services under Title V of the Social Security Act. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Archives, Data, Federal MCH programs, History, MCH services

Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. 2020. MCH history: Title V @ 85--Beyond legislation, bold leaders, and bright legacies. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, multiple items.

Annotation: This web resource presents a collection of documents and other resources about the history of state programs that address Title V of the Social Security Act. It provides information on the legal framework and decade-by-decade milestones showing the federal response in supporting mothers, children, families, and communities; federal MCH leaders and their signature projects; and insights and resources then and now as seen through the lens of current population/conceptual domains that highlight the diversity and history of MCH initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

Public Health National Center for Innovations. 2020. 10 essential public health services: EPHS toolkit. Alexandria, VA: Public Health National Center for Innovations, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit was created to help practitioners, public health departments, academia, and others to update content and educational materials to reflect the revised 10 Essential Public Health Services. It includes downloadable graphics, a glossary, videos, comparisons to other frameworks, PowerPoint presentations, an environmental scan, task force and liaisons, downloadable social media tools, and other resources. A fact sheet is available in Spanish and Arabic, in addition to English.

Contact: Public Health National Center for Innovations, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Web Site: http://phnci.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Program descriptions, Adolescent health, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Foreign language materials, Health programs, Health services, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Program development, Program development, Public health, Spanish language materials, State MCH programs

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2017. HRSA oral health: Across the agency. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development. 2016. Division of MCH Workforce Development strategic plan progress: 2015 highlights. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document highlights progress made by the federal Division of Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Workforce Development toward achieving strategic goals in partnership with grantees, national partners, and the MCH field. Topics include financial investment in and expansion of MCH public health activities; the number and geographic reach of training, recruitment, and continuing education activities and the number of current and future MCH professionals trained; the number of technical assistance events provided by grantees and the number of collaborative activities between the division's programs and Title V/MCH-related agencies; innovation; the percentage of former trainees who demonstrate key outcomes; and what's ahead. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Federal programs, Financing, Grants, MCH programs, Public private partnerships, Strategic plans, Technical assistance, Training, Work force

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2016. Discretionary grant performance measures. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

U.S. Administration for Children and Families and U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Demonstrating improvement in the maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting program: A report to Congress. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Administration for Children and Families; [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: dwillis@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Schmit S, Walker C, Herzfeldt-Kamprath R. 2015. An investment in our future: How federal home visiting funding provides critical support for parents and children. Washington, DC: Center for American Progress; Center for Law and Social Policy, 34 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to identify how states are using Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) funds to advance state home visiting systems. Contents include background and methodology. Topics include early successes of MIECHV, innovation, and challenges.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Federal initiatives, Financing, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State MCH programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development. 2015. MCHB graduate education programs support Title V block grant transformation: Collaboration to advance shared goals. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, 8 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's graduate education training programs. Topics include programs' areas of expertise and efforts to collaborate with state Title V programs to address regional, state, and local maternal and child health needs and priorities through technical assistance, consultation, continuing education and training, and work force and leadership development. Examples of collaborative activities are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Collaboration, Continuing education, Developmental disabilities, Federal programs, Graduate education, Leadership, MCH training programs, Multidisciplinary approach, Nutrition, Technical assistance, Work force

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of MCH Workforce Development. [2014]. Division of MCH Workforce Development: 2012–2020 strategic plan. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, 8 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan includes goals, strategies, activities and performance measures to support efforts of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Division of MCH Workforce Development to assure that all children, youth, and families will live and thrive in healthy communities served by a quality workforce that helps assure their health and well-being.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Strategic plans, Training, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Work force

Sebelius K. 2014. HHS Secretary's efforts to improve children's health care quality in Medicaid and CHIP. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services], 54 pp. (Report to Congress)

Annotation: This report provides information on the status of the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Service's (DHHS's) efforts to improve the quality of care provided to children eligible for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Topics include DHHS's efforts to improve the quality of care as well as the direction and stability of the health care coverage provided to children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP, the status of voluntary reporting by states utilizing the initial core quality measurement set, a summary of findings from public comment and stakeholder reviews, and the secretary's recommendations for improving the quality of care for children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Low income groups, Medicaid

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, MCH Training Program. 2014. 2012-2020 national goals. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, MCH Training Program, 2 items.

Annotation: This website presents the vision, goals, and core values of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's training program. Contents also include a nationally-focused multiyear strategic plan and fact sheet to guide entities invested in the MCH workforce. Topics include strategies, activities, and performance measures to support MCH workforce development; diversity and health equity; interdisciplinary and interprofessional training and practice; and science, innovation, and quality improvement.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Federal MCH programs, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional training: Cultural diversity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Strategic plans, Work force

Crosse M. 2014. Federal autism activities: Funding and coordination efforts. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 12 pp.

Annotation: This statement updates the November 2013 report published by the U.S. Government Accountabilty Office on federal autism activities. Topics include the extent to which federal agencies fund potentially duplicative autism research and the extent to which the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee and agencies coordinate and monitor federal autism activities. The report presents an analysis of agencies' data and documents, and interviews with federal agency officials. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-613T.

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Government financing, MCH research, Policy analysis, Program coordination

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation and Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Neonatal abstinence syndrome: Strategies for states and health plans. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources, from a webinar held on July 16, 2014, highlight strategies for preventing and treating neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS). Contents include a recording of the speaker's presentations (1 hour, 27 min., 23 sec.), the webinar agenda and speaker biographies, and related materials. Topics include recent trends in opioid abuse and NAS, with an overview of federally-led prevention efforts; the impact of rising NAS rates across the states, including implications for Medicaid and examples of state-level action; a health plan-led initiative to improve care coordination and social support for pregnant women in treatment for addiction; and the latest in NAS treatment, and an assessment of where public and private investments would be most beneficial.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Analgesic drugs, Collaboration, Drug addiction, Drug effects, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Model programs, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Newborns, Opiates, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Substance abuse treatment

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2014. Implementing our strategic plan: Activities and accomplishments in fiscal year 2013. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on many of the key actions taken and accomplishments realized during fiscal year (FY) 2013 as the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) worked toward achieving its strategic plan goals, including actions related to the implementation of the Affordable Care Act. The report also includes key achievements related to the agency’s operations that support attainment of HRSA’s goals.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Strategic plans, U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration

« Previous Page     Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.