Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This issue brief discusses how state Title V programs, Medicaid agencies, and Medicaid managed care organizations can work collaboratively to strengthen supports for children and youth with special health care needs. The brief enumerates the essential steps in the Medicaid managed care procurement process and provides strategies and considerations for collaboration between Title V and managed care programs.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health insurance, Medicaid, State programs, Title V programs, Youth with special health care needs

Annotation: This fact sheet explores Medicaid policy options for states to meet the needs of children and youth with special health care eneds (CYSHCN) during the COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE) and discusses how future rollbacks of PHE modifications may affect CYSHCN populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Medicaid, Policy development, State health insurance programs, Virus diseases, Youth, s health insurance program

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on actions Medicaid agencies can pursue with provider organizations or through their managed care programs to promote health equity and improve outcomes. It highlights state interventions and collaborations that demonstrate promise in reducing disparities and health inequities in birth-related policies. Programs in Virginia, North Carolina, and Colorado are highlighted.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Policy, State health insurance programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief assesses the current coverage landscape for pregnant and postpartum women and shows how a postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension could benefit uninsured new mothers. The brief 1) provides an overview of existing publicly subsidized coverage options for pregnancy and the postpartum period, including covered benefits and cost-sharing requirements; 2) reviews recent state and federal legislative proposals to extend postpartum coverage options and examines how such reforms could expand the coverage landscape for new mothers; and 3) estimates how many postpartum individuals would likely benefit from a 12-month postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension, based on analysis of 2016–18 American Community Survey (ACS) data using the Urban Institute Health Policy Center’s Medicaid/CHIP Eligibility Simulation Model.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Insurance, Medicaid, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: In this informal Q&A coffee chat format, AMCHP policy experts discuss key developments in national health policy following the administrative transition, with particular focus on potential changes to the Affordable Care Act and Medicaid. A significant portion of the discussion centers on efforts to extend postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to one year through the American Rescue Plan's state option, which would require state plan amendments for implementation. The experts also address critical issues of racial inequities in maternal and child healthcare delivery and examine the implications of the Anti-Racism in Public Health Act, offering insights into the future landscape of maternal health policy from 2021 onward.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Health policies, Social policies, Medicaid, Maternal health, Children', s health, Health insurance programs, Race

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This report provides information on steps Connecticut has taken to promote oral health equity in the state, including by ensuring that the majority of its residents have access to community fluoridated water, offering dental benefits to children and adults through the HUSKY health insurance program, and providing oral health care in schools. Information is included on the status of oral health in Connecticut as well as on oral health among children, children and adolescents with special health care needs, children and adolescents from families with low incomes, adolescents, adults, pregnant women, and older adults. A discussion of Connecticut’s oral health infrastructure is also provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Health insurance, Low income groups, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, School health, State programs

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief describes payment strategies and state model programs aimed at improving postpartum care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Included are state examples of fee-for-service programs and alternate payment models linked to quality metrics.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Health insurance, Medicaid, Models, State initiatives, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: parents and pregnant women about the importance of fluoride for keeping teeth healthy. The brochure includes links to resources that can help parents and pregnant women learn more about fluoride, how to get dental coverage in Maryland, and how to find a dentist for a child. Information about Maryland’s Medicaid Dental Program is included. The poster emphasizes that drinking fluoridated water helps prevent tooth decay in children. The brochure and the poster are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Fluoride, Health insurance, Maryland, Oral health, Parents, Posters, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This report describes efforts to measure and address Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) "crowd-out," when families who apply for public CHIP benefits have access to private health insurance. For the report, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) asked 42 states that have separate CHIP programs to report on two separate crowd-out indicators: (1) the percent of individuals who are enrolled in CHIP that have access to private health insurance and (2) the percent of CHIP applicants who cannot be enrolled because they have private health insurance. Included is a description of procedures that CMS and states use to address crowd-out, together with statistics on income eligibility, enrollment in public vs. private insurance, and other relevant data extracted from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children', Data, Eligibility, Enrollment expansion, Federal programs, National surveys, State Health insurance programs, s Health insurance Program

Annotation: This brief examines how Medicaid can help schools better serve children and families and how schools can help students get the health care they need. It offers four recommendations to state and school district officials seeking closer linkages between health and education: (1) Ensure every eligible student has health coverage; (20 Help schools support and prioritize the comprehensive health needs of students as a pivotal factor in their ability to learn; (3). Increase access to school-based or school-linked preventive health care; and (4) Help schools serve as resource “hubs” for families and caregivers especially in underserved or remote areas.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Families, Medicaid, Outreach, School age children, School health programs, School linked programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• 2018 Update

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet identifies key challenges related to oral health care access and utilization for adults with low incomes, including pregnant women, and outlines states’ coverage of dental benefits for adults who participate in Medicaid. It also suggests opportunities for states to increase oral health care coverage and access for this population. The fact sheet includes an overview of Medicaid adult dental benefits.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• Most Recent Version
• Link

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This bulletin discusses the importance of state Medicaid programs and Children’s Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) properly implementing dental periodicity schedules to ensure children’s access to dental coverage. Topics include background on tooth decay in children, dental coverage for children enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, proper implementation of dental periodicity schedules, and state action to ensure dental periodicity and fee schedule alignment and flexibility.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, State Children', State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document presents information from a survey conducted by Families USA of 14 states that cover emergency-only oral health services. Selected topics include what can be learned from states that offer emergency-only coverage, how responding states’ dental benefits differ, states in which managed-care plans provide adults with extra offerings, costs to states of paying for emergency department visits when appropriate oral health services are not available, the limited availability of alternative oral health care resources for adults, and the inadequacy of emergency-only dental care for individuals with serious medical conditions.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency medical services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, State programs, Surveys

Annotation: This report discusses the oral health status of a sample of children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan. It provides an overview of the importance of oral health for children and of dental benefits for children in the state who are Medicaid recipients. Key findings about children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan are presented.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental insurance, Head Start, Low income groups, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This data brief reports results of an oral health screening survey of children in third grade conducted by the Ohio Department of Health during school year 2017–2018. The brief presents overall findings and discusses disparities in oral health; access to oral health care; impact on access to oral health care and insurance status on oral health status; percentage of children with a history of tooth decay, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in Ohio vs. in the nation as a whole; and survey results compared with Healthy People 2020 objectives. The significance of the findings is also discussed. Statistical data is provided, and a description of study methods is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health insurance, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance